We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mohonk WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My daughter and I spent three days at the beautiful Mohone Mountain Resort earlier this May. The service was excellent, especially in the dining room where any request was taken care of within seconds. The food was very good, with an excellent variety and many healthy choices. Everything was labled, so you could see what was gluten free, vegan, etc. We had a table for two at every meal that was by a window with a great view.
Our room was lovely and had a blacony with rocking chairs. Each floor has many private-type and comfy seating areas along with very interesting photos and objects of interest.
The grounds are spectacular. Many miles of hiking trails, a beautiful lake (with free usage of paddleboats, kyaks and rowboats).
The indoor pool was very nice (heated to 84 degrees) as was the exercise studio where I took a Zumba and stretch/tone class (also included in the price).
Afternoon tea and cookies was a nice added addition and was very relaxing.
We went to an evening entertainment one night - a local writer reading his amusing published works on marriage and kids. Fun!
Though the stay was pricey ($509 per night plus gratuity and taxes) - it was certainly worth it! We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own balcony with rocking chairs. Since it is a long building, ask for a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roe1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been coming to Mohonk for the last 5 years with our family. Our choices were to buy a second home in the mountains or on the beach or to come here.

Our family has been able to grow here. Our youngest was 18 months the first time we came here. The kid's club and babysitting options were fantastic. It gave us the flexibility to hike/spa/golf and have him cared for. Our second child was always iffy about hiking and it gave her a choice of kids club or hiking with us over the last 5 years. This year, our whole crew (family of 5) hiked, golfed, spa'd, swam in the lake and in the indoor swimming pool, played tennis, caught newts, practiced piano, fished, rowed boats, fed the fish, enjoyed the campout and the lobster bake, etc. and we still haven't been able to get to the biking part of the resort yet.

Not once did I have to worry about cooking and feeding my family, cleaning the the grill, taking out the garbage, a burst pipe, the gutters or dealing with maintenance people, and/or deciding if I wanted to invite another family so the children had friends to entertain them.

The electronics come out one time in the day, after showers and before dinner and that was it. We had great conversations and learned more about our children than we could have if I had to work at cleaning/cooking all the time or had to manage staff to help me with it. It was marvelous that my husband and I were able to watch our children interact with each other and with other children at the lake.

We made the right decision.

This place is not about the newest carpet or the biggest bathroom. We have all that in that in the NYC. For us, this place is about our family.

We thank you Mohonk for recognizing and underlining the importance of ephemeral quality family time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjcnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MohonkMountainHouse, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear mjcnnyc,

Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback. We're delighted that you and your family have come to think of our House as your House! It is wonderful to hear about the time shared together that you've all enjoyed on our mountaintop over the years.

We look forward to welcoming you for years to come!

Sincerely,
Katie Martello

Assistant Director of Marketing
Mohonk Mountain House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Over two decades of annual visits in summer at Mohonk, first without kids and later with them, we enjoy the expansive grounds and timeless spell. Despite the very high fees, the loving trust, serene beauty and natural calm found here, Mohonk will transform you. Kids Club in summer will delight the kids under the age of 13. Staying at the four cabins or in the main house, the life at Mohonk is hiking, horseback riding, tennis, swimming, canoeing on the lake, reading on the lake dockside. No TVs in the rooms, no tipping, nothing too electronic in this Victorian time machine. The chic spa installation isn't thoroughly incongruous but somehow fits in. If you hike to Sky Top you made a wise pilgrimage and if you meet an old friend in the colossal dining room, it has to be kismet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here recently, for a long weekend. Very beautiful place. Great hiking.
Very very expensive (but you know that upfront). Mediocre food (included). Rooms need big upgrade - dated and tired. No TV.
I had heard much about this resort over the years ,but what we came away with, was, that yes we would hike there again, but probably not bother to stay at the Hotel itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VDWFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I knew this would be the perfect weekend when we pulled into the gait house greeted by a smiling, welcoming person. She welcomed us back and wished me a happy birthday. This warm theme was repeated again and again by most staff we met. We booked this hotel for my birthday celebration and to enjoy the birding activities planned.

We stayed in a beautiful king room with a balcony facing the lake on the third floor in the newer section of the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. As an extra special touch we were presented with a birthday card, gift and at desert the kitchen team wrote "Happy Birthday" in chocolate on our plates. It is small thoughtful touches like this that made the weekend magical.

It is so quiet I heard a leaf falling from a tree and touching the ground. As others have noted yes, you can hear noise in adjoining rooms and hallways. But please remember if you can hear others in adjoining rooms they can hear you. Normal volume conversations and human activity could not be heard. TV's are available for rental but I believe this should be discouraged due to the acoustics and besides there are so many activities offered.

The Activities scheduled is available each evening for the following day. All structured activities are listed. Most events are inclusive in room rate, if not it is clearly indicated. We especially enjoyed our morning Bird walks with our new friends Scott and Sharon.

Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style in a large sunny, lively dining room with magnificent mountain views. Dinner can be a more formal affair; we had a choice of the casual main dining room which is a buffet, dress is casual or the sit down three course dinner in a smaller dining room. A jacket, for men is required no jeans or sneakers and no children under seven; this policy was enforced. The food was served efficiently and was fresh, inventive and delicious. As early morning birders we truly appreciated our morning coffee and tea prior to an early morning bird walk. Upon our return we enjoyed a bountiful breakfast. A special THANK YOU to Bobby Morgan for making sure the early morning birders were well cared for at 6AM He went out of his way to provide us with fresh warm pastries.

Spa services are extensive and not included in the room rate, but the pool is. It is warm and inviting. Be sure to put your head under the water and enjoy the piped in music!

We have stayed at Mohonk Mountain House five times and with each visit the experience improved to the point of perfection. I have seen a major improvement in customer service in all departments, especially the kitchen and dining staff and all around customer service.

I look forward to my next visit and recommend the Mohonk Mountain House for those who want a relaxing casual yet elegant vacation. If you do not understand this concept, perhaps this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: If you require a quiet room make this known when you make your reservation and again upon check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Been going here for 30 years and never disappointed. Every season has it's speical treats. Wonderful activities for all ages. Hiking activities for everyone. Wonderful gardens and nature walks. The indoor spa pool is supberb but for a pleasant treat swim across the large outdoor lake.
Food is five star. Families make long lasting memories here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake. In the winter request one with a wood burning fireplace. The g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I went here for our anniversary weekend and everything was top notch except for our room. You will notice that I gave the hotel 4 stars and that is because although the rooms are in need of upgrading and the bathroom is extremely small we do need to remember that we are staying in a historic house not a top of the line hotel. We did the spa (excellent), fishing, tea and cookies of course, and toured the facility and took amazing pictures. For the price we paid we probably would not stay again but have gone back for day trips to the spa

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK4EVRNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
333 reviews
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
924 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: £283 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York
Mohonk Mountain House New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing