We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Keeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Would definitely come here again. Romantic getaway with pleasant staff, a really cool clambake/lobster bake and nice hiking trails. S.O loved the fireplace in the room along with the fresh clean linen, step-up bed and view of the mountain and lake from our balcony. Be warned: there are no TVs in the rooms, but who would want to watch fantasy when you can experience reality? Only one complaint: the bathroom was small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FluckneeshaEwebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently stayed at Mohonk Mountain House and was there for work. I heard the amazing stories and Mohonk definitely lived up to the stories. Although, I think I might have gotten the shaft with my room since other colleagues said they had fireplaces in their rooms, which I did not. There are no tv's in the rooms, which I found to be okay with. It was nice to go back to the cozy room, patio door open with country fresh air blowing in. My only complain is that the door to the patio slams so you can hear slamming non-stop from other rooms. Maybe the hotel should tighten the doors?!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycgirl0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are 28 with a 2 year old child. We love to have fun and be adventurous but also needed a relaxing break from a hectic schedule. This place offered it all. All inclusive food and activities (except for drinks/espresso's.. which we learned the hard way $400.00 later) The spa is additional as well (25.00 per person per day)

The 'kids club' took our daughter for 3 hours both days.. pony rides, dress up, park, feeding the fish, dance party.. she loved it. It gave us the time to go on a rock climbing adventure and grab a relaxing drink and take in the view. We picked her up and went on a gorgeous boat ride (they offer baby life jackets as well) The green house and barn are very interesting. We volunteer on a farm so we appreciate holistic living and land preservation. You will not be disappointed.

That night they had a campfire with kids songs for the first hour and acoustical guitar till close. They offer smores and all included entertainment. The following night we got a babysitter and she came to our room, got our daughter ready for bed and took her for a walk through the garden and got her to sleep while we enjoyed a peaceful evening and dinner.

Room Tip: If you are having a hard time deciding.. CHOOSE a Balcony Room OVER an extra bed or fire place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniellaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

For the first time ever, I did not call ahead about feeding my two daughters with celiac... and I had no problems. We were shocked how easy it was to eat! We ordered gf pancakes (order ahead) for breakfast, got a gf menu for dinner, every meal had gf dessert (even if it wasn't on the menu, they called down to the bake shop, and the girls had lava cake or chocolate decadence) and all dishes on the buffet were labelled, with some to many being gluten free. My daughter loved the gf bread basket! Unbelievably easy, amazingly good. The staff was kind and helpful, and eating was easy. What a delight!

Room Tip: Rooms with the numbers in the 20s are on the spa side, so if you are in the 220s you are on the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethand3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautiful grounds, incredibly well maintained, food better than expected, wait servers friendly and eager to please, large bed room with old but spotless bath. Hiking trail offers routes at varying difficulties with plenty of scenic rest areas/photo spots (definitely take a camera - the views are amazing). But the resort is BIG - be prepared for bumper cars waiting for valet parking when arriving, inaccurate information on reservations, and similar mistakes.

Room Tip: construction noise on lake side started at 8am on Monday morning -- GOOD MORNING, GUESTS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlythebest10017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We return again and again to Mohonk and it just gets better but it's been a while since my last visit and I see delightful additions that don't interfere with tradition. This time I especially enjoyed my evening cocktail on the Sunset porch. As ever, our room was quiet and comfortable, the spa a welcome sanity restoring retreat, the tennis courts and staff MARVELOUS, and the gardens and hiking soul inspiring. EVERY member of staff is helpful and warm. I don't know how they do it, but they do it right at this family friendly, couples friendly, sporty friendly, RELAXATION friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancster070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My Husband & I stayed at Mohonk Mountain House from May 16-18, 2014. The day we arrived it was raining outside, we arrived at the hotel around 2 pm and our room was ready. We reserved a Lakeside room. The reservation agent on the phone told me there was Wifi and mentioned that they do not have TVs in the room, I laughed and said my husband may not be happy because it was during NBA playoffs. He included a TV in our room but I am sure we would have been fine without it. The room was a Queen bed, nicely decorated and bright. It was a bit of a walk from the lobby to our "wing" of the hotel but it was worth it. The Balcony had 2 rocking chairs and was quite spacious and overlooked the gorgeous lake. Since it was raining outside on Friday we decided to go straight to the indoor pool in the Atrium. The pool and pool area are heated so it is nice and warm in there even when it is chilly outside. On Friday night we went down to the buffet dining room and had our dinner. We were pleasantly surprised to see all the ingredients of each dish listed below the name of the dish. This helps so you know exactly what you are eating. After dinner there was a lecture going on with a bird expert, We stayed for a few minutes and then went back to our room. We visited on "bird watching" weekend so the next day after our enormous and delicious breakfast, we went on a hike one of the tour guides. He took us on a trail of one side of the mountain and explained to us what the different trees and rocks were. We stopped along the way to admire the view. After the hike which was about an hour, we played outdoor tennis as the weather was beautiful then. We then went to have lunch and then went on a long bird watching hike. We never realized how serious bird watchers were until we came on the hike. We saw some pretty birds but not as many as one would expect on a "bird watching" hike. Nevertheless, we learned a thing or two about birds. After that hike we were so tired, we came back to the room and rested and got ready for dinner. That second night's dinner took place in the "fancier" dining room and was waiter service. The food was also delicious there and was plenty of choices for dinner. After dinner we went to the main area lounge where there was a 60's band playing and they were fantastic- "The Greyhounds". We stayed to listen to the entire show. The next day, we called and asked for a late checkout and they gave until 1. We ate breakfast and went on a hike on our own to the lighthouse. This was the most scenic hike we have ever been on. The view of the Mohonk Mountain House from there looks like you are in Europe somewhere. It was very easy to navigate and we we stopped very often to take pictures. After that hike we decided to take out a pedal boat on the lake for a bit, it was nice and relaxing. We then went to have the scrumptious brunch in the main dining hall. After the brunch we checked out and set out to go home. Also must mention that the reservation agent had asked if this was a special occasion and I told him that we were celebrating our 20 year anniversary and the hotel left a Mohonk House Photo Frame and card for us in the room congratulating us. We would definitely go back even though it was pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
333 reviews
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: £284 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York
Mohonk Mountain House New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing