We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Family Vacation”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Mohonk is a beautiful setting for anyone who loves the great outdoors. The resort is very old but kept up extremely well. It is so fun to walk around and see the antiques in use. The rooms we had were clean and spacious. We were in the recently renovated section. There are various styles, such as Victorian décor. Our had 2 additional chairs and a desk. We were on the 3rd floor and had no issues however, my sister-in-law was near the ice machine and that was a bit noisy. I also loved that there are little seating areas all around that you can go to play games or visit. There is a ton of activities to do, some are included and some for a price. For example, you can play disc golf. It was an additional $10, but that was just to buy the disc. If we had brought our own, no charge. (you keep them after your are done) My kids loved the paddle boarding, (no additional charge) and there are kayaks, row boats, and paddle boats. Lovely pool, the spa was nice and there are all sorts of hiking trails for all levels of expertise. WE also took a nice horse back ride. (additional fee) There is evening entertainment of some kind, usually a movie and in the summer they hold a Festival of the Arts with different people/groups in each evening. There is a daily tour of the Mountain House which was very interesting and if you are more interested in the history, the barn is FULL of items used in prior days. The history is pretty amazing. I haven't listed all there is to do, suffice it to say, we were busy.
We loved the food, the buffet was very nice, my only thought was the food could be hotter. The formal dinners were great. Great service, great food! We liked the food at the Granary, an outdoor barbeque lunch down by the lake as well. They have afternoon cookies and tea on the porch and cocktail hour out there as well. All in all, we had a great time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Avoid the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klmnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    506
    203
    133
    85
See reviews for
555
802
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have been a day visitor to Mohonk on a number of occasions but this was our first overnight stay.

Firstly, Mohonk is as stunning in real life as in the photographs. It is almost surreal. It sits in the "Gunks", a mountain range that is south of the Catskills and, in my opinion, more beautiful than it's neighbor. The Mohonk Preserve and Minniwaska State Park have excellent hiking and mountain biking, always with an opportunity to cool off in a lake or river.

The resort is not cheap, and your fee does not include many of the amenities (drinks, bikes etc). The house and grounds are extremely well kept. The main house is over 145 years old and must cost a small fortune to maintain to this standard. The smell of polished hits you as you enter the house. The rooms are excellent and seem to have recently updated bathrooms. Unfortunately they are susceptible to noise from the corridors.

Below are my tips to have a lovely stay.

- Avoid rooms with a lot of foot traffic outside, eg near the dining room. I was in room 104, and had to move due to it's location. Make sure your room is not near the dining rooms, games room or on the direct approach to the spa/pool.
- Bring drinks. while they serve alcohol at dinner (for a price), there is no bar. In addition, if your kid wants Apple Juice etc the only place to buy this is from the gift shop. All rooms have balconies so it a nice ritual to have a drink before dinner and take in the view.
- they have their rules. This isn't a Four Seasons. The service level is excellent but you need to play within their boundaries.
- Don't sign up for the evening buffet. From what I could tell ordering from the menu looked better. The lunch time buffet was good. They offer a barque almost daily which you can sign up for at the Granary. It makes a nice change but the food isn't very good.
- Swim the lake. For a couple of hours a day you are allowed to swim the width of the lake. It is less crowded in the morning swim.
- Send your kids to the kids club. I told my daughter that she should try it on our first morning. She loved it. The counsellors are young and can really relate to the kids. My daughter ended up insisting on going to all the sessions and crying all the home because she was going to miss her new friends.
- Beware the row boats. It seemed like a good idea at the time but there is a real skill to rowing and I am sadly lacking.
- Check out the spa. It is very good. The pool is lovely too.
- join the escorted Mountain Tour. I did it solo and got lost!
- if you are in the region, check out other things mid-Hudson has to offer. The historic houses of Hyde Park, New Paltz, Woodstock, Culinary Institute of America etc.

Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the dining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CushyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay Cove, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I went here for a weekend trip and it was great. Tons of hiking, fishing, canoeing and plenty of other things!! Nice getaway to relax from all the city and suburb life. Not a bad ride up from Long Island (Nassau County area), and beautiful scenery on the drive up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The grounds could not have been more beautiful: the lake, the hills, the woods, the meadows, the gardens. Was there in the late fall, with beautiful autumn foliage still lingering. Nicely updated rooms in the stately old building. Wide hallways still a little creaky (in a good way), adorned with b&w photos of earlier times. Tea time was casual; buffet breakfast generous; dinner decent. Spa was lovely; great outdoor hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A trip through a bygone era with modern day amenities is what we enjoyed on our weekend getaway. We stayed in one of the classic rooms facing the lake and enjoyed sipping wine on our little balcony before dinner. The food was exceptional as was the service. My favorite was the crab cake. We kayaked, hiked and relaxed by the lake with a book. I was impressed with the gardens and the green house. I wish we had booked a longer stay. We will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: The victorian rooms have fireplaces. The rooms facing the lake have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Central_NJMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I visited Mohonk as part of a corporate retreat, so didn't get to partake in most of the selling points of the site. The drive up was beautiful and the site is beautifully maintained. The country style rooms were adorable (and from what I hear much brighter than some of the other styles). As part of the retreat, we had dinner/lunch at the buffet most frequently, great selection, good food and service. Their staff was great in organizing scavenger hunts, bonfires, bars for the group. All in all, a nice place to get your staff together where they can't run off!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is such a classic beautiful place. It captures of the element of an era that knew how to vacation in the mountains of The Hudson Valley. Service is top notch and a great place to explore with the family. If you get a chance, stay here, you will love it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
107 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
12.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York
Mohonk Mountain House New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing