We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mohonk Mountain House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(New Paltz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Motel(Kerhonkson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Continental Motel(Kerhonkson)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,145)
Filter reviews
2,145 results
Traveller rating
1,123
553
232
143
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
553
232
143
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice skatingrocking chairsvictorian roomovernight gueststhree meals a daykids clubhiking trailsspa treatmentsindoor poolworking fireplacebuffet stylesmiley familyvisited mohonklemon squeezecarriage loungepaddle boatsrock scramble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 2,145 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We'd heard good things about the dining experiences, the cost of which was included in the insane room price, and so we anticipated three fine meals during our stay. We should have packed sandwiches. The thing we recall the most, though we've tried hard to forget, is the fries, which were so grease soaked they could have been wrung out and the oil reused. The steak was cooked too long, the veggies too little (some were squishy and some nearly raw, so on the average I guess they were perfect...) All in all, the three meals were of the sort one could get at Shoney's on a bad day there. On a brighter note, the mattress was fantastic and the view very nice. No complaints about the room. Also, it's interesting to note the number of chairs, some very puffy and comfy, throughout the entire building. No matter where one goes, there is no lack of a place to sit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Guest Relations Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Nan83,

We’re delighted that you enjoyed so much of your Mohonk experience—the views, your room, and the public areas of our resort. We are sorry to hear that your dining experience with us did not meet your expectations. With our extensive menus, our chefs make every effort to use only the freshest ingredients, sourced locally as seasonally available, to prepare creative dishes our guests will enjoy. Please know that we continually strive to offer something for everyone, including vegetarian and vegan menu options, and welcome requests for those with special dietary needs.

Please contact me at bmoran@mohonk.com so that we can follow-up with you personally.

Sincerely,
Brian Moran

Guest Relations Manager
Mohonk Mountain House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

On a perfect summer day, my wife went running on the trails, the kids took out bikes for a 12 mile round-trip on bridle paths, to watch the cliff climbers. This gave me the morning to play 9 holes on the mountain golf course. The afternoon was family time at the signature lake, napping for the parents and boating swimming and fishing for the kids. All is well in paradise.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ChasFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding, and it was perfection from start to finish. The room was very comfortable, wonderful mountain views, the food was awesome, and no request was too big nor too small for them to handle. The carriage ride, which is an extra cost, is worth every penny spent - spectacular views of the grounds and surrounding lakes, mountain tops and wooded areas, with interesting commentary provided to entertain the customers. And though a bit expensive, it does include 3 meals per day, plus the afternoon tea, and most resort activities in the price, so it isn't as expensive as you may think at first for the overall value and beauty of the surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 558 is awesome, by the way for lake views, and is a bit larger, but room 403 is very nice as well, though smaller, with those wonderful mountain views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickG20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I do not like resorts, but have always heard such wonderful things about Mohonk. And it lived up to its hype. Nestled in the Shawangunks, the surroundings are both wild and tamed. The hotel is legitimately antique, but has been kept up beautifully. We were in the oldest section (built in the 1890s) but our room had been recently and carefully renovated. The staff to guest ratio is practically 1:1, and everyone seems genuinely pleased to be working there and anxious to help you in any way they can. The resort offers events throughout the day -- boating, tennis, guided hikes, afternoon tea, evening campfires, just to name a few -- but also gives you almost complete freedom to explore the expansive grounds. The Labyrinth rock scramble is remarkable for being so unsupervised and challenging. The food is the only thing keeping my rating from a 5 -- it's not bad, it's just okay. Kind of what you expect from a kitchen trying to serve 800+ guests three meals a day buffet-style. (Kind of what I imagine you get on a cruise ship.)

Room Tip: Room 229 -- beautiful view. Small, but well-appointed and very clean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KiwilineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight recently. It's a beautiful resort with a classic feel. We cannot wait to go back. We stayed in a "country" style room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was recently renovated. It was clean and comfortable, a little cozy, but adequately sized. The porch was spacious with furniture for relaxing. Refrigerator or TV are not standard but available upon request. The staff were extremely friendly. This included everyone, from the front desk to the wait staff to housekeeping. The grounds were well managed and clean. It is family resort with a lot of activities for family members of all ages. With that said, don't expect to find multiple bars around the resort. There is only one, the Carriage Lounge. It is a bit small and is located in a part of the building without windows. Abe is a fantastic bartender who really knows his wines. All in all, a great place to relax and enjoy the great outdoors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank reigle215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews