We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mohonk Mountain House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(New Paltz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Motel(Kerhonkson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Continental Motel(Kerhonkson)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,143)
Filter reviews
2,143 results
Traveller rating
1,123
552
232
143
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
552
232
143
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice skatingrocking chairsvictorian roomovernight gueststhree meals a daykids clubhiking trailsspa treatmentsindoor poolworking fireplacebuffet stylesmiley familyvisited mohonklemon squeezecarriage loungepaddle boatsrock scramble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 2,143 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had fantastic weather at Mohonk for our Columbus Day getaway from New York City. Charming accommodations, great hiking, beautiful lake, and tons of activities. One of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hardest part here is the overall rating. The area, the views, the walks, the wildlife are a five. The stay at the hotel a three so I compromised on four. First the hotel. Room was nice and clean but un-spectacular. Downstairs is crowded and noisy. The dining room is big and crowded with people, many of whom are not staying there. Food was indifferent, service OK tho they are busy so how much can they do. I figured this for a nice romantic getaway and we did indeed make love and I enjoyed it thoroughly as always but once you leave the room the mood disappears. I would not complain about the price. After all you know that in advance. Once outside the building it's great. Nice gardens, a swimming area, great views. Nice just sitting there. Great trails and, once away from the noise of the building, deer in abundance. I mean families of them standing by the side of the path munching on greenery and they do not immediately run away. Two alternatives if you don't want to stay at the hotel. First, you can pay a $20 a person day fee. I wouldn't tho. If you are a hiker you can walk. Head out of New Paltz on 299, turn right on 44/55 and stop at the visitors center and get a map. Then walk out the Under Cliffs Road then onto Laurel Ridge Road and soon you're there. You just walk about like you are a guest. But the walk there might be the highlight. Great nature walk. Want to see deer, they'll practically give you an autograph. Bring water and food. Bathrooms at the visitor center at at Mohonk House.

3  Thank Louetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Mohonk is our go to family resort for long weekends. We love it every time. The setting is spectacular. The hotel is situated on a lovely lake at the foot of the Catskills. It has breathtaking views on all sides. The rooms are a bit dated but they are large and easily accommodate two adults and two children. The rates are expensive but they include all meals and most activities as well as gratuities. The staff and service are exceptional. We always feel as if we were staying with friends. There is so much to do on the property that we often don't get to everything in a three day weekend. Our kids LOVE the kids club which affords the chance to go hiking or play tennis part of the day. The food is mostly buffet style and about what you would expect from an all inclusive family resort. But meal time is easy and uncomplicated with plenty of choices for adults and children. This remains the standard by which we judge all other family resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LillyParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is your classic "experience" that you will be talking about for years. Put it on your bucket list then go there and get it off your bucket list. The gardens, lake activities, mountain views, food, valet service and friendly staff are just the beginning of a true positive experience. Learn some of the history to add to your trip.

Room Tip: Even the rooms with a partial view of the lake are fantastic! We had a new refurbished bathroom which was GREAT!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank beemanWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have 2 children ages 1 and 3. We stayed in a 2nd floor room with 2 bedrooms. It was beautiful. Rooms are a lot like the Gideon Putnam a Hotel rooms in Saratoga- older but stately. The price was about $800 with all taxes, grats, etc.

The all inclusiveness was wonderful for our young family. There was no waiting in line at restaurants, driving aimlessly around to find kid appropriate things to do. None of that. We hiked, played putt putt golf, toured the gardens, watched the sunset from our rocking chairs on the porch, paddled around the lake in boats, swam in the heated pool and at the adorable sandy beach. My 3 year old rode a horse!!!! We attended a cook out at The Granary and ate so well at the buffets. We found the service impeccable, as it should be. Polite, enthusiastic and accommodating.

I cannot say enough good things. This was our best vacation ever! Ever. It was just so easy. Everything was at our feet and so we had ample time to do everything instead if wasting time planning, deciding, driving, and waiting.

My 3 year old attended kids club one day 9-12 and loved it. She pained a rock and made a bracelet and boated around the lake. Perfect.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thechattycaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews