We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love coming here”

Schlesinger's Steak House
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in New Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always love coming here”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

One of my favorites when I'm back in town visiting family. I like the atmosphere and all the food is delicious. Had the stuffed sole on my last visit with sweet potato fries and I'm still thinking about how good it was. Service is always good and while not an inexpensive meal, it feels like you are getting your monies worth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeSweetHome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great steaks and service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Went here because of all the reviews. Great steak for the price, sides were good. I would definitely come back. This place is pretty cool, interior is great. The owner greeted and sat us. He was also one of the owners of Studio 54.

Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hands down BEST burger”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best burger ever - the Pub burger; never a disappointment. Fantastic filet! The only downside is the ladies bathroom as it's inconvenient and at times you have to get there in the dark. Sometimes the cigar bar smell travels to the dining room and if you're not into that it will be unpleasant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cin1way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, NY
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Steak dinner”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The potato skin app was great, the dinner very good. Service was good, not great. The place needs a good cleaning. The rest rooms were dingy and dark. I was there on a weeknight, and there were not many tables in dining room that were seated. The food remains great. The bar was very busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newburgh_NYJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best steak joint in the area”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and have been here several times and again just recently, so this is long overdue.
In our opinion this is he best steak house in the area. Very high quality, well aged and cooked perfectly. The best steak fries you ever wrapped your face around. Outstanding ribs and seafood as well. Great Caesar . Been here many times and have never been disappointed.
The really distinguishing thing about this place is they have a cigar store and a bar where you can smoke and even eat dinner. This is especially nice as the bar is more intimate and much quieter, except when the Rangers are in the playoffs, or the Yankees are on TV, but even then, a great atmosphere.
The serve is attentive, but they let you relax and actually enjoy a great meal. The bartenders are skilled and know how to make a great cocktail.
This is our go to place in the area, where there are several good restaurants. A little pricey, but very good value for the buck.
Try it, ypu'll like it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schlesinger's Steak House also viewed

 
New Windsor, NY
 

Been to Schlesinger's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing