We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My overnight stay”
Review of Economy Inn

Economy Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Highland, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My overnight stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay after driving around half the night and i came across the Economy Inn, the price was good, i checked into my room, and i noticed that the bedspread was full of holes from someone smoking. But other than that i got a good night's sleep. I would stay there again if i had too because the price was within my budget. The bathroom was clean, all the room needed was alittle freshner and some vaccuming of the rug.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyvette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Very dirty, mold in tub,afraid to use it, broken sink plug, AC not working,only fan after asking, broken light switch at entrance door, furniture spattered with paint, furniture also chipped up, carpet dirty so that one didn't like walking on it,tiles missing on bathrm floor, wallpaper falling off wall. No amenities at all, not even a clock. TV good, price cheap $65.00 , senior, location good, drive up to own door, good. It was pretty bad. Would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank elizabetharogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

It was clean, inexpensive, nice condition, good and helpful service. A confortable king size bed. Quiet off the street location. I'd recommend it to everyone. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
titusville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

This hotel was not fit for any human. There was mold on the floors, walls and shower in the bathroom. There was hair on the sheets and pillows. There was left over food on the floors. and lights hanging with bare wires showing from the ceiling in the bathroom and the toilet paper holder was broken and hanging from the wall and the toilet paper was on the floor!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We were travelling along I-84 W in New York. It was getting late in the day so we decided to stop for the night. Although we had been on this road many times, we didn't realize how very few of the west exits along the highway had motels. We finally arrived in the Peekskill area but were shocked to find that most motels were $120 to $150 per night!!! Way out of our price range so we pressed on. At exit 10N, we saw a very generic sign for the Economy Inn. We figured with a name like that, it couldn't be too expensive.

After getting off the exit, turning right and going about a mile and a quarter, we found the motel on the left side of the road high up on a hill. From the outside, this drive-up motel looked like something from the 50s, but the grounds looked clean (and actually had some nice landscaping) and the building maintained so we decided to give it a try.

The clerk was very friendly and told us that the room was $65 per night. A real bargain for the area. She explained that the property was family run and that the owners maintained it but it was old. She offered to show us a few rooms to make sure which one we wanted and to make sure we wanted to stay there before officially checking in (I'm guessing other potential guests in the past were turned off by the lack of amenities found in the pricier motels in the area).

The room we chose was very clean. Amazingly clean in fact. The carpet , furniture and sink area in the room seemed newer and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom however, had some issues. It was also very clean but didn't have as many updates as the room. The door to get into the bath was quite narrow and opened into the room rather than into the bathroom. We had to take a big step up to get in there. There were a couple of tiles missing from the floor, the toilet rocked a little when we sat down and the light/fan switches worked in a very odd way and actually blew the gfi when I first turned them on. This might have been a turn off if it had not been for the price.

The clerk recommended a restaurant which we did try. The Alexis Diner which was located right off the highway exit. It's open 24 hours a day and has a 20 page menu so there was something sure to please anyone. The prices were reasonable too.

Overall, I think this motel was a good value for the area and if we find ourself in the Newburgh area, we will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Very clean, great value for the area
  • Disliked — bathroom needed updating
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peebsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 5155 Route 9w, Newburgh, NY 12550-1414
Region: United States > New York > Newburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing