We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!!!”

Orange County Choppers
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Newburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Orange County Choppers (OCC) is a world famous custom and production motorcycle manufacturer based in Newburgh, NY that was founded in 1999 by Paul Teutul, Sr. The company has been featured on American Chopper a reality TV show that debuted in September 2002 on the Discovery Channel which has contributed to the company's quick rise to fame. In 2007 Discovery Channel's sister channel (TLC) picked up the series in the United States and Canada. In 2013 the TV show Orange County Choppers was premiered for one season on the CMT network. OCC bikes are customized and built around a theme or, increasingly, for specific corporate or celebrity customers.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

While in New York City in August, we decided to take the Shortline bus to Newburgh to visit OCC. INCREDIBLE experience!!! My husband and sons were on top of the world! OCC did an amazing job of helping us pick out just the right shirts, etc. They were all very friendly and helpful. We did the personal tour of the shop, for a very small fee, where the guys were working and CMT was filming. Simply amazing! I think the tours are at 10am and 2pm but don't quote me on that! There was no photography allowed in the shop since they were filming a show that had not yet been broadcast but that was well worth getting to watch them work and seeing some of their customer bikes. HIGHLY recommend! The only down side was that Paul Sr was there but never turned around or came out of his office to say hello. That would have really made my hubby's day:-) There is also a place where you can go watch them work in the shop. And a cafe where you can eat lunch. We made a day of it and it was awesome! Tons of awesome bikes to see!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    35
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hunterdon county
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paul SR and Manager need to look around!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A few hints- walk in the café door ( to the right ) not the retail door ( to the left ) then you wont be bombarded with kids welcoming you in and asking "what can we do for you today ?" Even if you don't go for a meal you can get to the retail showroom section.Went on a Sunday 5 of us ordered the buffet brunch-! 1ordered chicken n Fries - good. -Buffet was a good walk from the tables. Sever "Joey " was a great kid and helpful .Waiting for the omelets at the buffet and was about to make our own till someone came over and said "I will try and make them for you"hmm. Food was good but personally looks like the burgers were the big hit !The retail section may overcharge but the Café is very reasonably priced .Hard to see the bikes on the ceiling unless you look up at a tv and no info about them anywhere to be found ( bad designing)Nice Large TVs and band floor .Sad to say but the bathroom hallway in the café section is where the photo memorabilia is and what an insult! It should be in the showroom for all to see. I bet those who don't like Paul Sr get a kick they are near the bathroom .He should never of allowed that !Showroom is divided by 4 elevated bowling lanes .WE played 4 games on a brand new state of the bowling art floor that was dusty and terrible.Its a shame such a wonderful synthetic lane and no one cares for it. They can oil a bike but hey ,you've got these lanes that not many alleys even have yet and you cant oil them?8 bucks for a game extra for shoe rental.Had to look all over for help when the balls got stuck.I mentioned elevated - be careful because we fell off the steps onto the floor - it was funny - but dangerous- The retail store section is where the majority of bikes are- and all these have info next to them (other then the ceiling bikes again) - clothes everywhere! again its semi mish mashed and if someone in retail knew how to design it better it would be more eye catching. The bikes border the store and a few on the main floor but once again the ones on the ceiling - good luck if you can see them due to the glare.One bathroom ( shared ) on retail floor - big line- I told them go in the café and use those and look at the photos while in bathroom hall!! Poor sods never would of known.A bike group from Finland had 8 people in line for retail bathroom was so thankful and really wanted to see Paul SR with the movie stars photos..Oh and was my group lucky to even notice they had a dark hallway in the back of retail behind bowling alley to peek in the machine shop .Again - poor design-Hey someone wake up because you guys can be making so much more money with a few changes!!.I will be more then happy to help you ,maybe we can work it out- I design for free and you remodel my Pan Head !! Oh and if you are going with a firemen have him bring his dept. shirt as many leave them next to the Firemans bike to pay homage. It was a beautiful sight. 2 thumbs down on how the handicapped parking has to go so far from a ramp outside till they can get to the retail section.Looks as if many of the curbs aren't cut out for wheelchairs. Sad...Paul SR - please, I am begging you if your name is attached to this - please take a good long walk around and see whats missing !!Don't let someone else ruin your name just because they are helping with the mortgage payment!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank terri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good end to a busy night.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We went to the orange county choppers bar after a fabulous wedding and it was awesome. They had a live band who played great rock music. The environment was nice and the bar had many bikes and a plethora of biker decor to look at. The bartenders were super nice and very quick. It was located right next to the hilton garden inn and we walked over. The bar had a great selection of alchohol and told you what the specials were. Overall, we had a good time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dperham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We were driving home and took a detour here. It's a big shop selling all kinds of OCC gear. There were bikes on display. We had eaten before we got there but the cafe smelled good. They had a small bowling thing we didn't play because the kids were tired from all the driving. It's about 45-50 minutes from my house, me and my husband would return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stryteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice bikes”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

You can tour for $5.00 but the rest is really a big t shirt shop. They have some of the bikes on display and they are wonderful to see up close . Cafe on site but we did not eat there. Unusual part was they have a small bowling alley inside??? Not sure why. Okay we stayed right around the corner from OCC so we went but would not go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orange County Choppers also viewed

 

Been to Orange County Choppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing