We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat ride and hike on Bannerman Island”

Bannerman Cruise & Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Newburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pollepel Bannerman Island Cruise and WalkingTours. Explore the mystery and enjoy the history of Bannerman Island! Board the Pollepel for a 30 minute trip to the island, where you get a guided tour. May 1 - October 31. Saturdays, Sundays, and Selected Fridays. Call or visit web for full schedule.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Boat ride and hike on Bannerman Island”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Really enjoyed the cruise and hike on Bannerman. For us, the combination of cruise and hike just seemed a lot more interesting than a cruise alone.

We were there during peak fall foliage so the boat ride offered great views. Our tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the island and its history. We had a lot of fun seeing the island AND learning the history of the Bannerman family and their business.

There are a lot of steps initially, but it wasn't bad. The terrain on the island is rough - trails are primitive - so I suggest you wear appropriate shoes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shoobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

There isn't that much to do in Newburgh, but the trip out to Pollepel Island to see the old Bannerman place makes an entire trip there worthwhile. From a distance, it looks like a castle on an island in the Hudson. What looks like a castle is really an old storage site for resold munitions, and the rest of the island is a maze of trails, manmade breakwaters, and the owner's dilapidated house. It's worth the price, both for the beautiful views of the Hudson by boat and the definitely eccentric island at its end.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luedtkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this great afternoon full of history and trivia about the island and area.”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Only 2 1/2 hours, easy trek around the island. Our guide, Wes, provided some great, in-depth information about Francis Bannerman and wonderful details about how Bannerman Island's past, present and future!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarKeiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bannerman's Castle Tour”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Took a day trip with a friend to Newburgh, NY to explore Bannerman's Castle. Although there is an option to go on the island unguided during certain parts of the year, I definitely recommend the guided tour. The sight of this one impressive munitions factory is amazing. The history you learn from the tour guide (Wes) almost transports you back in time, to imagine what it was like living on this remote, little island with no power or running water. It makes the visit that much more interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. If the sight of the ruins does not impress you, check out the amazing views you get of the Hudson Valley on a clear day. They're breathtaking.

Totally worth the price of the tour and all of the proceeds go towards preserving this historic site. They hold special events and even a special photography tour during certain parts of the year. Check their site for the schedule.

PS - this is a very primitive island. Still no running water or power. No active toilets - just port-a-potties. Also, if you have difficulty walking, you may have trouble walking around parts of the island. Some parts are pretty steep and there only a few paved trails. However, most of the seniors walking with us were able to manage through most of it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Site Not to Miss!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Although there is a very active group trying to preserve what is left of Bannerman's Island - do not wait to see this wonderful spot before more is lost & hear the incredible story of the Bannerman's. A trust is trying to stablilize the structures still standing with some lovely fundraisers like a musical presentation of Show Boat this summer by our local Opera Company headed by Claudia Cummings - see their website. We have also been there for the regular island tour and are so impressed with the docents knowledge, pictures of it in its prime & commitment to its preservation. When I first moved to the area in the late 70' s I remember a native Newburger recalling to me that he remembered his Mother taking him to tea with Mrs. Bannerman in their row boat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Clancy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bannerman Cruise & Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bannerman Cruise & Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing