We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, scenic, quiet, and lovely!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson
Ranked #2 of 9 Newburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We spent a week of our honeymoon at the Stockbridge Ramsdell, and we loved every second of our stay! Our room had an absolutely beautiful view of the Hudson River, breakfast each morning was delicious, and the proprietors gave us great advice about fun activities in the area. All in all, a FANTASTIC place to stay, relax, and take in the beauty of the Hudson River area!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyCouple623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Ordinarily, I find Trip Advisor reviews to be pretty accurate if I look at the overall pattern rather than those at either extreme. This time I couldn't match the reviews and my experience and I'm not sure why.

The Stockbridge Ramsdell House is a historic old house that seems to have been refurbished to some extent. Still quite a bit needed. Our room and bathroom were clean but dusted only in the most obvious places. Garden needs attention, windows need washing, etc. The breakfasts were okay. BUT the owner was so accommodating and her suggestions about activities and restaurants were wonderful. This B&B is in a good location for visiting Storm King Art Center and Dia Beacon Museum. It's an easy walk to the waterfront restaurants.

This B&B just wasn't anywhere near the level that most of the reviews suggest. I wonder why and this experience makes me less confident in the accuracy of Trip Advisor reviews.

My 'average' ratings mean not poor, but not very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noname1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyruthrussell, Owner at Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry the B&B did not meet your expectations. As other guests have noted, it is a charming old house, admittedly a little worn around the edges. We are continually working on improvements, large and small,but these take time. In the meantime we try to focus on comfort and hospitality to give our guests a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nice B&B in Newburgh. Well situated since its close to the marina and the restaurants. Parrish is an excellent host, looking to your every needs. As far as the house is concerned, its a nice Victorian style, but a few renovations wouldn't hurt (paint, the upstairs bathroom, some holes...) but nonetheless, everything is clean and in its place. This is a place for people who want social interaction with the locals and some soul. If you want brand new and the latest amenities, then you should go to a hotel. If you do go, don't use South st as you'll pass through the hood, not too palatable. Use Plank street instead. Again, thank you for the comfortable stay and the good tips on where to go around town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camper222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyruthrussell, Owner at Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments captured the character of the BB very nicely. We do try to eschew the stuffy and concentrate on the "warm and cozy."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed with Nancy + Parrish in May - we had planned to just stay 1 night but the location, service, and hospitality was so wonderful, we ended up staying 3 nights. We would stay here again. Breakfast was very good and the B+B is close enough to several good restaurants on the Hudson riverfront.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crayon755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyruthrussell, Owner at Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure to host you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Wonderful, friendly hosts; convenient location; wonderful Hudson views, fabulous breakfast spread. My wife and I ate enough for three. They were even kind enough to supply us with their amazing muffin recipe. We had a great time over Memorial Day weekend and would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chitra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Family and friends gathered for my grandson's graduation from West Point in May 2013. West Point about a 25 minute drive. Great place to stay with large group on just a couple. Parish and Nancy (the owner) took great care of us and feed us breakast at various times to meet our needs. Home is under renovation but comfortable. A good break from the motel / hotel stays.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This should be a six-star review. We just spent the most wonderful weekend at the Stockbridge Ramsdell House. It is a true classic B&B. I mean, if you're looking for the lastest and flashiest amenities, possibly not for you. But it is eminently comfortable, and you want atmosphere, character and soul, this place can't be beat. The house is glorious; Nancy and Parish are just lovely; and the bacon quiche for breakfast is world-class.

We would have rated this place five stars. But after getting home from dinner and ready for bed, my wife realised that she had left her handbag at the restaurant. Not only did Parish track it down, but he insisted on driving down to collect it for us that evening so that we could still get away on time the next morning. That kind of consideration for your guests is just priceless. Six stars would be barely enough.

Room Tip: Our room had a view from the armchair out over the Hudson - not sure if all do, but this was a great...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
1.6 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
990 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
5.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson

Address: 158 Montgomery St, Newburgh, NY
Region: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Newburgh
Price Range: £92 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, is a graceful Queen Anne Victorian, located in the beautiful historic district of Newburgh, New York. Built in 1870, it is situated on a hill above the Hudson with panoramic river views. We are 55 miles from Manhattan and accessible by public transportation via MetroNorth to Beacon. Our five comfortable guest rooms are air-conditioned in season and furnished with antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing