We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay in interesting location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson
Ranked #2 of 9 Newburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I visited Stockbridge Ramsdell with my boyfriend, his brother, and their father--they are all from Colombia and I am from the US. We were not the sole guests at the b&b--there were also Japanese, Korean and Polish guests (in addition to a few other Americans.) The breakfasts, cooked by Nancy and Parish, were not only delicious but the company was interesting and lively.

The rooms are amazing--you can build you own fire, and we had a beautiful view of the Hudson River. Nancy and Parish were really attentive to our needs. My boyfriend and I were splitting a bottle of wine up in our room--when the bed was made (by Parish or Nancy) they saw we didn't have proper wine glasses and so left us a pair.


Newburgh is an interesting city, made more so by its proximity to Beacon and NYC. It has clearly fallen on hard times but it is a place with character. We spent 4 days going back and forth from Newburgh to Beacon and other parts of upstate NY. We were always happy to come home to the warmth, hospitality and comfort of the Stockbridge Ramsdell House. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent Two nights in the Beau Rivage room at Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving night we were the only guests in the house, which was quite nice! The owner was away until Friday and we wed served by the owner's (Nancy) assistant Parish who was very friendly and accommodating as the breakfast Chef. Parish prepared a full delicious breakfast in the dining room and since we were the only guests we were able to persuade him to sit with us and chat about the history of the B&B. The house is 140 years old, originally owned by the President of the Erie Railroad. The room we had was spacious with a working fireplace and a fully glassed in porch over looking the Hudson River. The house has five guest rooms with Beau Rivage being the largest. My only complaint is a minor on in that although the house had WiFi, only basic cable was available on the TV. If you are looking for a "laid back" very friendly B&B, this is the place! Tell Nancy we sent you!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Loooved our beautiful Beau Rivage room with Hudson River view and our own fireplace! It was so cozy to fall asleep to the crackling embers, and then wake up to the sun streaming through the ivy on our windows... absolutely picturesque and cozy. Everything was very clean and orderly while still maintaining perfect historical charm. We also loved our kind and fun host!

Room Tip: Loved Beau Rivage because of the private sun deck and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miakberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed at the the Stockbridge Ramsdell House 4 times in the last 5 years. We have a great time, and each year the experience gets better. The hosts (Nancy, Parish) are extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms are unique and thoughtfully furnished, and the common areas downstairs are comfortable and inviting (often with a fire on cold nights). The breakfasts have always been delicious (and accommodating of the gluten intolerance of some in our crew) and the views of the Hudson are fantastic. We stay in Newburgh as a jumping off point for apple picking and visiting Storm King Arts Center every fall, and this guest house is perfect for that. My family and I find charm in the mild disorder of the common spaces and projects that still need to be finished in the house. I also feel very comfortable bringing my kids to this house. Stockbridge is our go-to place in the fall and I look forward to it every year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This mansion house overlooking the Hudson has tremendous potential. If the neighborhood was as nice as the house once was... if the house and yard were well maintained....if the "private bath" was accessed from the room rather than a public hallway, if the kitchen were clean and uncluttered. My wife and I have worked very hard to to escape scary neighborhoods and rundown homes. It was sad to see a home with this much potential in a state that made us glad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VNABOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We love to stay in B&B's but we found this one to be somewhat run down. The location did not feel very safe for walking at night. Though it was near the waterfront, it was a short but not-so-pleasant walk, and there was no real waterfront view. The waterfront area was a few block of OK restaurants. We made last minute reservations and this was all we could find, but I would recommend staying somewhere else - not in Newburgh.

On the plus side, the food was quite good and the hosts very friendly and I appreciate their efforts.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JKA229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you are a bit on the adventurous side, this is a great B&B. If you prefer a more pristine environment, this is not your spot. Our room was tidy and clean. But there is a need for some paint in areas and some of the wall paper was peeling off the walls. This basically sums up the entire house. This historic home was nothing but a shell when it was saved from demolition and rehabbed. It is a huge endeavor that never really ends. So things are not perfect.

That being said, our view of the water was lovely, and we had a little porch where we sat and enjoyed it. Breakfast both dayswas terrific. Her pumpkin bread was especially yummy. The sunroom where breakfast was served was bright and cheerful. The other guests were friendly and we enjoyed conversations both days. The owner and caretaker was both terrific. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvgoodfoodcentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
1.6 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
9.3 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
5.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson

Address: 158 Montgomery St, Newburgh, NY
Region: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Newburgh
Price Range: £95 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, is a graceful Queen Anne Victorian, located in the beautiful historic district of Newburgh, New York. Built in 1870, it is situated on a hill above the Hudson with panoramic river views. We are 55 miles from Manhattan and accessible by public transportation via MetroNorth to Beacon. Our five comfortable guest rooms are air-conditioned in season and furnished with antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing