We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Galera

La Galera
Ranked #12 of 289 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We went to this restaurant by reading the reviews on the web, and I was quiet impressed with the food quality and the price. The Chips and Salsa that we got before the food was very nice, they made the tortilla chips fresh and the salsa was also their own, which was very nice. The main food entries was very nice too, we had ordered the Burrito, fajitas, etc were all very nice and authentic.

The ambiance is not the best, but considering the price, food quality, serving portions and all, I will surly visit this place again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    68
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Consistently excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Every time we go here our meals are outstanding!! Fast too! Don't let the shady looking motel that adjoins it scare you away

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMILTON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

we had there salad awesome if like onions , green peppers tomatoes & fried shrimps we a spicy bloody mary be ready to blow flames finished it all

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank go-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of our favorite local restaurants.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We eat at La Galera once a week on average. Alcoholic beverages are available and warm chips and salsa are complementary. The service is good and the food is of consistant quality. Visiting a family run establishment is preferred to the generic mexican chains.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CruisingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It wasn't what we were expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

All my friends were telling me about this place so I thought I'd give it a try. The parking lot was kinda right for a truck and they shared their Parkin lot with a hotel so I guess if the hotel is really busy yu don't have a good shot at a parking spot by whatever. The inside was average nothing special. We were greeted quickly and told to sit wherever we wanted, shortly after we sat we were greeted with complimentary chips and homemade salsa. They were good the salsa was a little watery for y taste but I've never had homemade salsa before. I orderd a shredded chicken quesidella it was ok not the best and not the worst thin ice ever had. I also ordered a beef burito it was a tortia with beef inside then it had salsa and cheese poured all over it so I could not pick it up and eat it this kinda buged me since I thought all burritos were served with the ingredients inside the shell like a wrap or soft taco apparently not here but whatever ill try it. The burito was ok I guess it really didn't have any flavour and since it was sitting in and covered in watery salsa the tortia was soggy. My husband had jalapeño poppers he said hey were very good he had a number 9 meal basically two burritos and a taco he said the same very blan for Mexican food. Nothin was really bad but nothing was really good I will not be going back any time soon I'd rather make my own burritos at home with flavour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaMarieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Galera also viewed

 

Been to La Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing