We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Maple Inn by The Falls
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
PA
1 review
“Worst place to stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2007

If you are going to the falls I would Rec staying on the Canada side. We had to pay $180 for a room here. There was bad service, the place was dirty and crummy looking and there was no hair dryer in the bathroom. When we got back to the motel around 10:00 at night there was no where to park and the front desk person told us we would have to park down the street for $10 dollars. Breakfast was horrible- don't waste your time!
Do not stay here!!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank cindydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    25
    44
    24
    66
See reviews for
47
58
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Dislikes:

Dirty place. Needs a good cleaning.
Their free breakfast consists of stale blueberry muffins and regular coffee & tea.
There are three floors here. Look at the size of the lobby (photo). It doesen't add up. No way are they going to accomodate anyone for "breakfast".
We arrived early afternoon and the crumbs from the muffins were still on the table. We should have turned around then!
Trash in this area was overflowing in the containers.
Bathroom seat was broken in the room. Faucet sink was leaking. If your over 5'5" and 150 lbs. good luck taking a shower!
Windows need cleaned all over the place.

Staff not friendly at all. Very rude as a matter of fact. They supposedly had a half million dollar renovation. Where? I have no clue. How does this place pass a building and health inspection?

Hey Choice Hotels, got any standards for a franchisee? Wow! You guys need to take a ride!

I did write a complaint letter to Choice Hotels and I got an unsigned form letter back if that tells you anything.

Likes: None, none & none.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very dirty!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank backatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

bthylafh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

The positive: AC worked and it's close to Rainbow Bridge. Good location to see the fireworks over the Falls if you're too tired to walk across the bridge, but only if you get a room on the correct side.

The negative: Hallways & elevator smelled bad. Sheets and towels smelled like they weren't completely clean, and the towels are rough. Itty bitty breakfast, the most substantial part being the muffins and coffee. Tiny parking lot. All the soda machines were out of order. Only places to eat in walking distance were Denny's, various Indian restaurants (there's a lot!) and the very touristy visitor's center (avoid!). We stayed at other places during the trip which cost about the same, and they were /much/ nicer.

I agree with the poster who advised to stay on the Canadian side, but be prepared for mega-touristy.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bthylafh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 September 2005

We had to stay at this place on labor-day long week end. First of all it was a rip-off about - $260/room (TimeSqure is a possibility with that kind of money). The unspeakably unprofessional (and uncivilized) staff was very rude and was treating guests as if they were doing a favor lending rooms to them. When asked about a refrigerator that their web site promised, and was a necessity with kids, the owner insisted I pay extra for this and hung up on me when I was persistent. When confronted at front desk, he threatened me with eviction. He backed off when after threatening to call the cops myself. I saw half-a-dozen guests with family and children fighting with the guy through out the afternoon regarding issues with parking to reservation to stinking rooms.

The place is filthy and even the cloths smells of Indian spices.

Please… please stay away from this Hotel. Go to Canadian side or even consider staying outside the city and drive in for site-seeing.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 August 2005

The employees were very nice, the room was clean, the balcony was great to watch the fireworks over the falls, but I think they are attempting to remodel and if not they really should. The carpet was not so nice, the paint splatter was not nice to look at, but overall for the prices I would consider staying there again. If I wasnt on a budget next time, I would stay somewhere else. But, this hotel is in walking distance from all of the attractions which was a plus.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Hotel stay was awful, hotel was dirty and very old. The staff treated us like crap and was very rude. The man screamed at my mom across the parking lot and called her a racist. He was just trying to cover up the way he treated us by making up something. We have never been treated that bad at a hotel ever. I would not reccommend this place to anyone. I reccommend the canadian side, they have alot higher value on service.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2005

This is the worst motel I've ever been to. The staff and the manager did not address to our problems, rather they were rude. Our room was not ready even an hour after the check in time. The hallway and the office had a weired smell...probably from the indian restaurant. The room was musky. Don't go by the image that is up there, the motel looks run down, shabby with awful breakfast ....bread, sunny D , skim milk and cornflakes.
The carpet and the elevator had dirt and grime. The motel is simply shabby and dirty. Don't go there. It wasn't cheap.....we wasted our money.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#31 of 51 in Niagara Falls
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Maple Inn by The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Maple Inn by The Falls

Property: Red Maple Inn by The Falls
Address: 200 Rainbow Boulevard & 2nd, Niagara Falls, NY 14303 (Formerly Econo Lodge at the Falls)
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Maple Inn by The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Maple Inn by The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Econo Lodge Niagara Falls
Econolodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing