We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, but not disappointed at all”
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved this hotel. We were a bit wary of the valet parking as we're not used to it and I wasn't sure about the rules on tipping, but it wasn't a problem at all. The nice lady took our car and parked it in their secure lot and when we checked out, the nice man drove the car around and didn't even wait for a tip.

We also really liked the chocolates waiting for us in our room. We had a small room, but we were the second last room on that floor and so didn't hear much noise from the corridor. In fact, didn't hear much noise from neighbouring guests. This would have been one of the quietest hotel we've stayed in.

One reviewer commented on not receiving their cookies. Well, maybe you weren't in your room when the lady came with the cookies. We received our cookies both nights we were there. On the second night, we came back to our rooms late, but housekeeping returned to our room with our cookies even though she had already done her rounds!! Thank you. And, the cookies were nice.

I really liked the shower as it had a hand held shower head. I usually don't see them in hotels, but they're very useful. And, I didn't notice any problems with the water pressure that one reviewer commented on.

The complimentary breakfast was delicious. We're early risers and so didn't have any problems with limited choice. The fruits were sweet and ripe, the sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs were delicious, and best of all are the pastries. They were my favourite.

And, Niagara Falls is not far away. We even saw the fireworks from our room.

Overall, we had a great experience at the hotel and no disappointments at all! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose room facing Niagara falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KYP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Sweet little hotel in an area where there really is nothing great at all, the US side of the falls is kinda run down and pretty scummy. However in amidst the tourist tat, the tight rope walkers and the tattered casino there lies the Giacomo.
A little (40 rooms I think) boutique style hotel. With a mildly old 1930's feel to it, we had a room with fireplace, although I wanted the one with the pool table! There is a little bar here and they manage to lay on a good breakfast. There is no room service or restaurant which is a shame as it would probably be the best in the are if they did.
The service was also very good.
This is not the greatest hotel in the world but I would hazard that it is the greatest hotel in Niagra (US side at least!)
Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: One has a a pool table! but others have fireplaces and jacuzzi baths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istanbultrip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

in general, a nice boutique hotel. we stayed in a king suite with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. the room was very large and had ample lighting options. the bed was very comfortable to sleep in. the bathroom was clean and i enjoyed having them supply bath salts for the tub. the breakfast was free, and quite ample, hot eggs, bacon, sausage, danishes, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and an assortments of breads for toast. the observation lounge was also nicely appointed, with a wetbar so you can bring your own wine, and additional leather sofa seating. i liked the valet service and that our car was parked in a secure lot across the street, very convenient. it is extremely close to the falls and park system, which we enjoyed immensley (i think the american side is much nicer as there are so many vantage points to be near the rushing water, and grassy park and very well treed for shade and comfort.) we did receive cookies one evening, as we were in our rooms when housekeeping came by with them. overall a pretty nice place!

the minor dissapointments were the dust on the tv screen, and the bathroom rug that was fraying... they should just not place one if it looks like its falling apart. it was also kind of weird that the toilet seat was a cheap plastic. ok, minor i know, but odd in a nice suite. the ceiling was unfinished, and just painted over the cement. not sure if that was supposed to be part of the vibe or not.

huge dissapointment: the duvet cover, and why i am only giving 3 stars. i pulled it off the bed immediately and made me want to inspect the other bed linens, which were fine. the duvets material held all these little hairs, and it's just plain gross. the hotel staff promptly removed the duvet and brought an extra blanket, and non-covered comforter, which were all clean. they are better off not placing the duvet covers and just adding a single over the comforter to finish covering the bed. the hairy duvet was a total turnoff and buzzkill, especially since most everything else seems nicely appointed.

would i stay here again? i am unsure. if i did, i would ask them in advance to not place the duvet cover (yes, i am harping on it, it was gross). but the hairy duvet definitely will make me want to explore other accomodations next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: corner suite was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariya130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at the Giacomo from June 6-8 2012. The hotel is beautiful and charming. The people that work there are friendly and polite. The free breakfast is actually pretty good. There's hot food (scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon), made on the spot waffles, some pastries, yogurt and fruit.

The rooms are good and decorated well. It's very dark so hard to tell if it's clean or not. The bathroom is very modern, but the shower has really poor water pressure and also didn't have hot water if you shower at busy times when everyone else is showering. The grout in the shower is black and mildewy. I am a clean freak, so the cleanliness of a bathroom dictates how a rate a place. The underrim of the sink is also covered in black mold. I'm sure normal people won't even notice, but I purposely look for these things to see how well they clean.

We didn't receive cookies in the room like many of the guest did. The valet parking was a nice touch. But the valet person is the same person behind the desk. But that is to be expected in a small hotel.

Oh and the viewing lounge on the top floor, really is just an area with windows and some tables and chairs. Nothing special.

Will I stay there again. Yah probably. But only because I think that's the best they have on the US side of niagara.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602, poor water pressure, dirty shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sharon260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Giacomo just about a month ago in a King room. From the moment we arrived to check in I was blown away. I've never stayed on the American side of the falls before and this was totally worth it. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the rooms were super chic and very very clean. The beds were SO comfortable! They offered free parking in a secure lot across the street from the hotel and you have free in and out privileges. The best part of all was the hotel staff. They were absolutely amazing from the first greeting until the last goodbye. The shuttle service was a great added bonus as well and the staff are more then willing to drive you at any point. The hotel is in close proximity to the falls and is across the road from the Seneca Casino as well. You can walk almost anywhere in the falls area from the hotel. The cookies were amazing in the morning too lol. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel or it's staff at all. If I choose to stay on the American side, this is where I'll be going hands down. It's just too bad this hotel wasn't on the Canadian side of the falls where all the better tourist attractions and casinos are or I'd visit it more often. (this however has no reflection on the hotel itself). ENJOY!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dee_loves_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We are a family of 2 adults 2 young kids and had a 3-nights stay over at Giacomo last month. It was a very beautiful hotel and our stay was definitely well-worth the price paid for.

Good points:
- Free and convenient parking
- The staff are generally friendly.
- Love the location as it is located really near to Niagara Falls. About 5 to 10 minutes walk away.
- Beautiful decor
- Very clean toilets
- The beds are very comfortable.
- The waffle at breakfast is a must-try. Freshly made. Very crispy.

Some minor imperfections as follows:
- The rooms are very dark at night. The only light source suitable for reading was the tiny table lamp on the table. There are also many dark corners in the room. Nice ambience but would be good if they can install more lights.
- The blankets were reused as there was a strong perfume scent and covered with countless tiny fine hairs. We called housekeeping and they got it changed promptly.

Regardless of these minor shortcomings, we strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iceski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is located at an excellent location, it's a short walk to the Goat Island, Maid of the Mist, Cave of the Wind, and also to Canada. We parked the car at the hotel and just walked.

The hotel staffs were very helpful and friendly.

I highly recommend spending time walking around Goat Island and definitely take the Maid of the Mist boat tour. It was quite an experience!

Room Tip: Our room has a king bed, a comfort chair and ottoman, a desk, and a fire place. It was warm in May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#9 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £90 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing