We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a perfect location to walk to everything, including Canada. It was actually faster to walk over the bridge than to sit in traffic...we did both. We drove the first time to go to Niagara on the Lake, which I highly recommend and does require driving and walked the next time to view the falls and tourist attractions from the other side. We were there over the 4th of July weekend and only drove one time, as it was much easier to walk and not deal with parking. It was great to come back to the room in the late afternoon & rest up a bit before heading back out. If you're a morning walker/runner it's nice to walk out the door and head to the park before all the crowds arrive. There are lots of paved trails around Goat Island and the park, too.
The hotel was very nice with large rooms and amenities. I was quite fond of the chocolates on the pillows in the evening. Loved the big bathroom and wonderful bathrobes. Cool lobby, breakfast room and bar, too. I prefer smaller, unique hotels when traveling for pleasure and was very happy with this choice. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOregr8travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    196
    64
    19
    19
See reviews for
168
510
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We flew out of NEW YORK JFK airport to Buffalo International Airport a day early to spend the night at Niagara Falls. We flew with JetBlue, a nice on time airline.
The reward was a life experience. Taxi to the Giacomno, since it’s about the only way to get there, and you’re right next to Niagara Falls, wow! For a night, this place was great. Walk to the US side of the falls, including the Maid Of The Mist boat ride and Valley Of The Winds “close up” experience. You can see as much as your legs will carry you to, including some magnificent park lands. Three or four hours was plenty to have a good look around.
Had a buffet dinner at the nearby casino, which was great value. This was pointed out to us by the hotel staff, who merely told us to walk outside and look for the massive sign. How easy! Room had views of the rising mist or clouds from natures gargantuan drain. Walked back to the falls later to see the Falls very colorfully lit up from the Canadian side. It all was just so rewarding an experience!
If you can squeeze a night in here, do it, you won’t be sorry. We got the same driver to pick us up next morning so that we could get to our connecting flight out of JFK. Would love to go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank johnsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had booked the hotel a few days before and had requested a room with a nice view and when we arrived we taken to a fifth level room with a view of a dirty looking parking lot. The room also had a bad smell and we did not like the industrial style in the rooms ( the ceiling looks unfinished with the pipes and sprinklers visible. The room looked clean and tidy but because of the smell we decided not to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank driftwoodheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

excellent choice for go to the fall in America side. Hotel is really lovely nice decoration.Some of staff very kind some .... just forget it . I spend 2 nites and felling comfortable with clean bed.It's a good choice for me. Price is resonable.Love it

Room Tip: ask for the room face the fall nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kookkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We only stayed for 1 night and the staff were very polite and helpful, keen to recommend restaurants, loan us an umbrella in the rain, let us store our luggage for no extra cost, use the facilities after checkout (including free tea and coffee in the bar while we waited for our taxi), they called a taxi firm for us and then helped us find a taxi quickly from their own recommended firm when ours didn't turn up. The location is excellent (probably the best available on the American side) and the view from the skylounge is lovely. Our room was clean and modern. Would definitely recommend to others!! There's a reason its ranked No 1 by trip adviser in Niagara falls, NY!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

First off I want to thank Joy the GM who made our experience one we will never forget even prior to us arriving. When she learned of our wedding and all we had planned she asked if they could come up with a signature drink that related to the both of us. My husband is a UF graduate and most of his groomsmen the same. They came up with a drink that were the orange and blue (colors of our team) and came up with a fun name for it! Everyone loved it and that was the hit of our meet and greet we had there on Thursday night. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL! It was exactly what I imaged to get ready for our special day. The "girls" rented the apartment on the 16th floor and had a blast! We did our "first look" down at the staircase and it was that Cinderalla "staircase moment" every little girl dreams of and was perfect! We stayed there the next few days and our room was beautiful! The entire team made it special for us and truly went above and beyond to ensure our stay was fantastic! We loved it there and would absolutely recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: They'r all beautiful! 6th floor has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRichey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for (2) reasons, 1st it was on the American side of the falls, and we wanted to keep most of our money in the US, and 2nd because of rating on tripadvisor. This was our first trip to Niagara Falls (which we loved), so we relied heavily on reviews, and insight from locals. The valet was great, he was helpful, friendly, and professional, we felt this was the start of a great experience. Unfortunately the exceptional service ended with his performance, and he was off the next (2) days of our stay.
The bed was uncomfortable, sagged in the middle (we joked about being in an abyss), pillows were also uncomfortable. The bathroom smelled of mildew although it did appear clean, I understand it's an old building, but I'm thinking that there has to be a way to deal with the smell.
To be fair, I never let the "staff" know about my concerns, we checked in late, after a long drive, and started early for a full day of walking and exploring the falls, and just didn't feel like dealing with it.
However, "before" we left that morning to see the falls, etc, I did let the front desk attendant know that we would only be staying (2) nights instead of our original reservation of (3), not one time was I asked if everything was ok with the room, etc.
Better training will probably help the service issues, replace beds that are sagging and put some bleach down the drains to help with the mildew smell?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BG_LYNN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing