We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe”
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stay one night in Niagara Falls, NY. When I was there in Falls there, I want to stay in the best hotels. But the dream is gone. Around 11:00 pm, someone knocked on the connecting door of my room, fortunate the door can't open because I lock from the inside. About 30 minutes later,
the main door was opened by someone using a key, and the door can be opened. It's very weird, whether all the keys used herein can be used in all the rooms? Fortunately at that time I was still awake, so it's still safe, but if it happens when it is asleep, or when I was outside the room, imagine what would happen? Maybe I am missing stuff, or anything else that I need not mention here. You can imagine yourself......

In addition to the above, there is also a haunted feeling, the dark interior, like you staying in 1900's home...

Recommended: Absolutely Not.
Return To Sleep: Idem.

As usual, I always include photos in each of my reviews on Tripadvisor. - It's Real Review.

Room Tip: Staying at another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank FSB_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for The Giacomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

After reading reviews on The Giacomo from Trip Advisor, it seemed an ideal hotel for our 1st visit to Niagara Falls. It was! The view of the falls from our room was less than spectacular. Actually we only could get a good look at the spray coming off of it since it was several blocks away. But going to the top floor lounge allowed a wonderful view of the entire area. The decor of this hotel was over the top gorgeous and all expected amenities are there and more. I highly recommend The Giacomo for its convenience to the park and its romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colburnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a perfect location to walk to everything, including Canada. It was actually faster to walk over the bridge than to sit in traffic...we did both. We drove the first time to go to Niagara on the Lake, which I highly recommend and does require driving and walked the next time to view the falls and tourist attractions from the other side. We were there over the 4th of July weekend and only drove one time, as it was much easier to walk and not deal with parking. It was great to come back to the room in the late afternoon & rest up a bit before heading back out. If you're a morning walker/runner it's nice to walk out the door and head to the park before all the crowds arrive. There are lots of paved trails around Goat Island and the park, too.
The hotel was very nice with large rooms and amenities. I was quite fond of the chocolates on the pillows in the evening. Loved the big bathroom and wonderful bathrobes. Cool lobby, breakfast room and bar, too. I prefer smaller, unique hotels when traveling for pleasure and was very happy with this choice. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOregr8travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We flew out of NEW YORK JFK airport to Buffalo International Airport a day early to spend the night at Niagara Falls. We flew with JetBlue, a nice on time airline.
The reward was a life experience. Taxi to the Giacomno, since it’s about the only way to get there, and you’re right next to Niagara Falls, wow! For a night, this place was great. Walk to the US side of the falls, including the Maid Of The Mist boat ride and Valley Of The Winds “close up” experience. You can see as much as your legs will carry you to, including some magnificent park lands. Three or four hours was plenty to have a good look around.
Had a buffet dinner at the nearby casino, which was great value. This was pointed out to us by the hotel staff, who merely told us to walk outside and look for the massive sign. How easy! Room had views of the rising mist or clouds from natures gargantuan drain. Walked back to the falls later to see the Falls very colorfully lit up from the Canadian side. It all was just so rewarding an experience!
If you can squeeze a night in here, do it, you won’t be sorry. We got the same driver to pick us up next morning so that we could get to our connecting flight out of JFK. Would love to go back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank johnsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had booked the hotel a few days before and had requested a room with a nice view and when we arrived we taken to a fifth level room with a view of a dirty looking parking lot. The room also had a bad smell and we did not like the industrial style in the rooms ( the ceiling looks unfinished with the pipes and sprinklers visible. The room looked clean and tidy but because of the smell we decided not to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank driftwoodheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

excellent choice for go to the fall in America side. Hotel is really lovely nice decoration.Some of staff very kind some .... just forget it . I spend 2 nites and felling comfortable with clean bed.It's a good choice for me. Price is resonable.Love it

Room Tip: ask for the room face the fall nice view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kookkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We only stayed for 1 night and the staff were very polite and helpful, keen to recommend restaurants, loan us an umbrella in the rain, let us store our luggage for no extra cost, use the facilities after checkout (including free tea and coffee in the bar while we waited for our taxi), they called a taxi firm for us and then helped us find a taxi quickly from their own recommended firm when ours didn't turn up. The location is excellent (probably the best available on the American side) and the view from the skylounge is lovely. Our room was clean and modern. Would definitely recommend to others!! There's a reason its ranked No 1 by trip adviser in Niagara falls, NY!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#9 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £97 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing