We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, could be much better.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
nunya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place, could be much better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Pros
Charming & well decorated building in a amazing location close to Niagara Falls. You can see the falls & Canada from the uppper lounge due to the impressive proximity. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The staff is very friendly, helpful and professional. Complimentary breakfast is Buffett, not large but very good with more options than expected. Casino, falls, hard rock cafe walking distance, shopping outlets within 5-10 minutes driving.

CONS
Cleanliness- rooms need to be vacuumed and dusted better. Ours had spider webs on the curtains & ceilings. Initial construction and drywall subpar with corner mudding and some screws visible. I notice stuff like that and unfortunately bugs me. Some surfaces and furniture need to be wiped/cleaned better. No fresh fruit at breakfast. Hotel was not busy and did not offer to put us on falls side on check in...I forgot to ask when checking in, so thats on me. However, they did remember to ask if I wanted to upgrade the room to a Jacuzzi fireplace suite which I did for an extra $60 per. Not really worth it. The city area surrounding is a lttle less than ok...don't expect ritz outside. At night It doesn't feel dangerous but definitely does not feel safe either. Hotel should have a chauffeur or car service to rectify this. More attention should be payed to cleanliness of the dirty exterior windows as it really does detract from the amazing views. Hvac are newer individual ceiling units that work well but are a little noisy. Room has keurig coffee (i like real coffee fresh ground like mud) but they should have an expresso machine in eating area.

All in all a nice place... just needs some tweaking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    196
    64
    19
    19
See reviews for
168
510
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The location of this hotel was very close to all the attractions. The staff were very good and eager to help. The room was big and clean but not very warm, problem with heating I think. The viewing room was fab, a must do when staying there. The all included breakfast was just the ticket, it set you up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I were there on a VERY cold weekend just before Thanksgiving, having to stay in NY while I got my passport renewed - we would have rather been in ONT but the Giacomo was a 'nice' alternative to the Quality Inn or other more low-budget options. We were celebrating our 9th wedding anniversary and wanted something a bit nice.

Pluses: The Giacomo is in a beautiful reclaimed historic, Art Deco building, circa 1925 and just a stone's throw from the falls. The staff is exceptional, from the professional desk help, valet parking, to recommendations for food, etc. The free breakfast is amazing! The rooms are roomy, if not a bit odd, having been carved out of previous offices. The shower is HUGE!

Minuses: The rooms only have one heater and the bathroom is NOT one of the rooms that is heated. Water was not very hot and consequently, the showers were not nice...in fact, they were all in and out. Wireless reception: Poor. 1st floor excellent, everywhere else was awful. We tried to watch a Netflix movie on the computer (no movie channels on cable) and it kept freezing up on us.

Probably, given the cost, we'd look elsewhere to stay. It is a place that could be 5-star but just can't quite do it...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Giacomo was a great find and my wife and I stayed there for 3 nights. The staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful - nothing was to much effort. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, nicely furnished and have good bathrooms. The hotel has a small comfortable bar that opens in the evenings and has a large lounge at the very top of the building (20th Floor) for relaxing in; it overlooks the city and has wonderful views of the "Falls".

Whilst the hotel doesn't have a restaurant they do serve a good breakfast, both hot and cold dishes, as part of the room rate. The hotel staff seem to have a good relationship with local restaurants and will give candid reviews on their quality along with good recommendations based on what you are looking for.

The Falls are within easy walking distance of the hotel and clearly these are the main reason people visit as there isn't much else to write home about.

I would highly recommend the Giacomo to anyone visiting Niagara Falls, having looked around it far outweighs anything else in town.

Room Tip: Go for a room with fireplace as they are more spacious and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Sister trip for long weekend. Hotel was beautiful and the staff was wonderful, very helpful & courteous. The young lady working the front desk was there every day of our stay and suggested several places to eat, enjoy wine and relax. The rooms are are spacious, beds comfortable and the bathrooms are huge. The rooftop room has a beautiful view of the mist from falls and the view of the falls at night lite up is spectacular.

Culinary institute Restaurant, "Savor", has the most delicious food and friendly staff. My sister and I hung out there every evening in the bar area drinking magnificent wine paired with delicious food.

Murphy's is another lunch place suggested. Good food and great service.

Wine on Third is a quant bar that serves the best brick oven pizza and nice atmosphere. Mia provided great suggestions for pairing of wine with appetizers and pizza.

Take the time and try the New York wines. Follow the wine trail. We stopped at the following, Long Cliff, Arrowhead & Oaks Winery. Enjoyed meeting the staff/owners at each one.

All in all our trip was fun, relaxing and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We got to the US side of Niagara fairly late in the evening and wondered if we had stumbled upon an zombie apocalypse. It was like a ghost town. There was one Casino lit up, one restaurant (The Hard Rock Cafe) and one hotel. The Giacomo. So, it is not a big surprise that the service at the Giacomo was lacking. When we arrived we had several instruments and suitcases that had to come inside since it was snowing. There was a sign for valet but none to be found. The bartender was kind enough to come out and help us get everything inside and park our car for us. We were on the 5th floor and the room was nice. The bathroom rocked. It was as big as the room. The air blower was pretty loud and strangely located and there was no wi-fi. We called about it several times but it never improved. We went to the top floor to get a view of the falls and that was pretty cool. There was a lounge area with a tv, couches, and a bunch of windows. The next morning we were enjoying an awesome breakfast in the lobby when we received a phone call that we would be charged an additional day rate if we were not checked out by 11. In the middle of the high season, I can understand this, but it was a ghost town. Again, there were no baggage handlers available to help us and the young lady that retrieved our vehicle was rather rude. We definitely felt rushed and ignored. I would say the hotel itself was small and very pretty. The public spaces were nice and the beds were super comfortable. It was sad to see the state of the US side of the falls in comparison with the Canadian side of the falls. Canada was LIT UP and there were so many hotels and restaurants and shops, it was night and day different. With a little attention to service the Giacomo could be a great hotel. We will def. stay on the Canadian side of the falls next time though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful with many suggestions of the bet value tours and places to dine out. The room was a really good size with the bathroom being enormous for hotel standards. The views from our room were also great as we could see the mist from the nearby falls. It is only a 5 minute walk to the falls. Even the bathroom had a big window with views.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing