We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much FUN!”
Review of Maid of the Mist

Maid of the Mist
Book In Advance
More Info
US$134.94*
and up
Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Maid of the Mist will open for the season on Saturday April 1st. Maid of the Mist-America's Most Monumental Experience Since 1846. Trips depart every 15 minutes from Prospect Point, Niagara Falls State Park in Niagara Falls New York. Take a ride to the base of Niagara Falls for an experience to remember. Souvenir rain ponchos are provided.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“So much FUN!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is the first thing we did when we went to Niagara. We loved it, and it was very memorable. Definitely a highlight of our trip. You get a spectacular view of the falls! This is a can't miss attraction.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,922
    490
    61
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Lewisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great way to see the Falls!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went in mid October, so it was a little cold, but the view was well worth it!! There is simply no better way to view the falls than Maid of the Mist! We had a group of 10, including three children, and everyone was in awe of the falls from that little boat! It was definitely an experience I will never forget!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BumgarnerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Cold and wet”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

SO AWESOME!! You will get wet. A poncho is provided, but you will still get wet. But really who cares? You are on an adventure. Don't worry about how you look...everyone else will look the same way. It is closed for the season however. Check reopening dates.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank judy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Maid of the Mist worth the Price!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were staying on Ontario side but decided to cross Rainbow Bridge to American side because the park there had other attractions and some nicer views. Add the price was lower for the ride on American side. So it's ten dollars to park and parking can be a bit of a walk especially for older tourists. No problem just get pay for trolley wrist band cost 2 dollars and can use trolley to take you all over the park. Including Goat Island and Luna Island. Yes also right to caves under the Falls which costs another ten dollars but it's a must. The path the Bridal Veil Falls is under construction so keep that in mind. Back to the boat ride. It costs $14.95 a person, I don't know if there was a senior rate but since didn't offer I guess I'm still looking young. Anyways, you take a short walk on a elevated green structure that itself has fantastic views of both sides of Falls but especially views of water actually going over the Falls and can feel the power of the current just looking and hearing it. Now there is an elevator that takes you down to the base of shore where boat boarding is. It's sort of like those sports boats you go on when fishing for half a day. Has two levels both great for views. Now top level will definitely get you nice and moist while bottom has a bit more protection. But hey we're here for excitement right? Your given a free blue very light and thin poncho of some type. After you use it keep it as a momento. The views are amazing and truly breath taking. And you know this boat ride is probably something you should do at least once in your life. Now picture taking. As you can see from my posted pictures it's hit and miss. I used three cameras, a Canon Elph, a Nixon D70 and my trusty HTC DNA which takes great pictures and video at 1080Hd. My Nixon had a lense protector and of course the mist makes cameras go crazy trying to focus so set your camera to manual. Then when good shot comes up I had lense cover already loose and quickly took off and snapped of shots on clear lense before mist hit the lense. Then put lense protector back on. Now I'm talking about the actual lense or polarized filter here not the plastic cover. So have your partner take the brunt of the moisture and pop up behind her or him and snap off the shots. LOL.. Yeah it works.. So the ride takes about 30 minutes and we were there in middle of October and weather was great. I believe the rides go only through a certain date in November sobetter call or check the Internet. So all and all it costs about $30 for two people on Misty Maid and parking $10 and the usual trinkets at the park store not a bad deal for a once in a lifetime visit. As my previous reviews indicate I dont like paying tourist charges but in this case this attraction and the park is well worth it and you love taking pictures this is the place to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rrmartnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Misty Memories of Niagara Falls in the Fall”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had researched the Falls and the Maid of the Mist boat ride ahead of time here on TA, so it was exactly what we expected...except you can't really know the experience until you hear the thunder, feel the mist, see the rainbows and stand in awe of the majesty of God's creation. It's crowded but they have a great system for boarding and moving things along in an organized fashion. We visited in Fall so the wait was not very long. We were able to get a spot on the rail, but unless you are really short, you can see the Falls from any spot outside up top. Loved this iconic, historical attraction!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank trishtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maid of the Mist also viewed

 

Been to Maid of the Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing