We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of Maid of the Mist

Maid of the Mist
Book In Advance
More Info
US$134.94*
and up
Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides
More Info
US$94.95*
and up
Niagara Falls Canadian Side Tour and Maid of the Mist Boat Ride
More Info
US$94.95*
and up
Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Maid of the Mist-America's Most Monumental Experience Since 1846. Trips depart every 15 minutes from Prospect Point, Niagara Falls State Park in Niagara Falls, New York. Tours are 20 minutes long. Take a ride to the base of Niagara Falls for an experience to remember. Souvenir rain ponchos are provided.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would recommend this boat ride that gives you some wonderful views of the Falls. Went on a Friday in early August and the wait to get on the boat was only about 15 minutes. Once on the boat it went past the American Falls were you get a nice heavy mist and then headed into the horseshoe falls where it idled for about 5 minutes. Up & close with the horseshoe falls, very windy, very heavy mist (almost a rain). At times hard to see because of the crowded boat and the very heavy mist. I would say round trip was about 20 minutes and a poncho is provided. Many people had plastic covers for their cameras, cell phones and vid cameras which I would recommend if you want to take some photos/videos. I would also recommend being on the top and the front if you want the best views when it gets to the horseshoe falls.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rsbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,155
    521
    66
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great time on the Maid of the Mist recently. The boat gets you really close to the falls. We didn't get soaked either, which made things more pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank iver0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow! How awesome!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

What an unexpectedly awesome excursion! Who would have thought that standing in line with three kids with a few thousand of your closest friends would be a great idea? We it was!

They move the people through quickly and efficiently and the experience is... Wow! Both my wife and I (experienced travelers to say the least) were really quite blown away.

Take the time and do this!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderfully wet experience!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was quite an enjoyable experience. Both kids, mom and I loved it. We were there an early Friday afternoon in July and didn't have to wait more than 10 minutes.
The good - you get to experience Niagara Falls up close, so close that at one point you can't really see much as you are submerged in quite the dynamic mist. During that time, you get to hear and feel the falls.

The great - after getting back home we realized that our 7 yr old's teddy bear souvenir's "Maid of the Mist" jacket had been lost. I called them from Canada and they shipped us a new teddy bear. I did pay for it but I thought it was nice of them to take the time to ship it as they don't have an online store.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Physrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Legedary boat ride into the edge of the Falls”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is a must-do when visiting Niagara. Just a neat experience to share for generations and generations.

Be advised that the Canadian side is now being operated by a new company called Hornblower. The original Maid of the Mist is only in operation on the American side.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maid of the Mist also viewed

 

Been to Maid of the Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing