We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best if you have kids”

Aquarium of Niagara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "First Inland Oceanarium" features more than 1,500 marine animals including sharks, piranha, California sea lions and the endangered Peruvian penguin.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best if you have kids”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We wouldn't strongly recommend this attraction unless you have a Discovery Pass, or you have kids who would enjoy the distractions of fish and the air conditioning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    267
    367
    140
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, but disappointing”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This was a nice aquarium but not worth the money. The sea lion show would have been nice but it was so crowded that it was impossible to see anything. It's so incredibly small everything could be viewed and read in under 45 minutes! I was really dissatisfied! If you are visiting the falls, get the pass that gets you into multiple things because it's not such a big deal and pays for itself. Still a fun, quick stop before the falls excitement.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MandBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could use some updating but still worth a visit with the pass”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We got the adventure pass so the aquarium and gorge museum (accessible via the same trolley stop and a bridge over the highway) were already covered. The hours seem somewhat questionable as we saw three different closing times posted but missed them all on our first visit. Even so theres still a garden outside with a viewing area for the seal pool so the trip wasn't for naught and we decided to come back on our way out of town to see more. The interior is somewhat small and outdated and it sounded like most of their animals were reclaimed from other aquariums and recovery programs. When viewed as a hospital or nursing home aquarium it's not so bad. And the people working there were great. There are staggered shows set up so you could probably watch them all day. We only saw the penguin feeding and seal talk though and the kids enjoyed them both, particularly because the guides allowed for so many questions so that even our four year old felt relevant. So while its not a place I'd go out of my way to visit, it was still worth a trip with the pass.

The gorge museum doesn't seem reviewable on tripadvisor so since its connected to the museum I'll just mention it here. It's current under construction with no parking lot so it's only accessible via the trolley or the bridge from the aquarium. It is more recently updated but was not as fully interactive as the power plant museum was. There was a fake elevator ride to see rock strata and some creepy gorge view cameras (found my seven year old looking into windows in Canadian hotels) and some decent history exhibits. But it looked liked they were building a real elevator to the gorge floor and doing some work down there so it may be a much better experience in a year or two.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Talk about a unexpected tour!!!
I was completely surprised, especially after reading all the negative reviews.
We of course purchased the Adventure Pass and was almost not going to go based on reviews.
We were greeted by a Sea Lion show which lasted about 20-25 minutes and had the kids going nuts. After walking through and spending time on each exhibit, we were both satisfied and excited to come back. Well done Aquarium of Niagara

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Maries, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aquarium”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The aquarium has a lot of underwater life with explanations about all. The best & most exciting part was the show put on by the Sea Lions. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquarium of Niagara also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium of Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing