We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but nice for kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarium of Niagara

Aquarium of Niagara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "First Inland Oceanarium" features more than 1,500 marine animals including sharks, piranha, California sea lions and the endangered Peruvian penguin.
Bad Rappenau, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Small but nice for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well it is true that this aquarium is quite small and if you have been to the really huge aquarium in Monterey, CA already then this is just a corner of it. However the aquarium is still educational and the sea lion show is a big attraction for kids. As an adult you may have finished your aquarium tour in an hour. Parking is free in front of the aquarium.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jelle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    261
    354
    129
    59
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Calling this an aquarium is like calling my yard a zoo...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Small, poorly lit, poor exhibit descriptions.

Less than a 30 minute tour; though, the sea lion show is worth a stop. I am having a difficult time understanding how this qualifies as an aquarium especially if you've visited larger and better organized institutions.

Frankly, it looks as though nothing has changed in the last five to seven years...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't travel to visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Highly disappointed because this was highly recommended. Very small you can walk around the entire place in less than 30 mins. The kids were only impressed by the sea lion show and the feeding of the penguins. Overall they just walked through asking is that it. If I lived in the vicinity I probably still wouldn't visit this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ElleP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visit this aquarium each time we come to Niagara Falls. Even as adults we enjoy the great displays and attractions. Make sure you catch the shows!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Small but nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, this is a pretty small aquarium. If you're used to bigger aquariums you might be unimpressed. But with that being said, I've been to both small and large aquariums and this one is a really nice one.

It probably takes about an hour to see the entire thing, but there's a nice variety of sea life. The sea lions and the penguins were our favorites. We also enjoyed seeing the seals being fed outside. The seals have all been rescued for some reason and are unable to survive on their own in the wild (one was blind for example) so this aquarium focuses on conservation and rescue rather than pure entertainment.

All in all its a very well run place and definitely worth seeing. I was expecting much less when I realized how small it was but we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquarium of Niagara also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium of Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing