We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trail is Great but NEED Better Signs”

Devil's Hole State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.00*
and up
Niagara White-Water Jet Boat Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
226 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Trail is Great but NEED Better Signs”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We started the trail at Whirlpool state park and hiked to Devils Hole, there are some spray painted signs to the parking lot but we were a little confused about where exactly the "hole" was.. lol! We hiked back the rim trail and it was gorgeous! For beautiful state parks the signs could be a bit better on the trail along the gorge! The maps and signs up top seem all perfect til you go down to the trail then question things!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    56
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Prepare for a workout!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I should have counted all the stairs we climbed down to the trail and back up again! Quite a workout if you are not accustomed. Wear good hiking shoes and the "stairs" are rocks. Some very uneven. But well worth the effort. Beautiful vistas and nice trail along Niagra River.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TimAndJen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went as a spur of the moment side trip while visiting Niagara Falls. Best thing we did! Hike DOWN IS 300 steps and then you have to go back up 300 steps to get back up, and we hiked along trail along the Niagara RIver and the rapids for 2 miles. It was a longer hike than we expected to do, but it was terrific. Highly recommend this park if you want to see beauty and away from the crowds!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
437 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“A Favorite Hike”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Because we live so close, we visit Devil's Hole all year round. Of course you can't take the stairs (or use the restrooms - they're seasonal) in winter. The upper section of the park provides a picnic area, restrooms, drinking fountain, and a beautiful view. Walk down the rugged staircase, however, you'll find a whole other world. Not only will you descend to a walk by the rapids, but also to many geologic points of interest. We like to walk down then follow the river to Whirlpool State Park where we climb back up on those steps. We walk back to Devil's Hole at the top of the gorge. A word of warning! There are always dangers when hiking in the Niagara Gorge. Stay on the trails and be careful. (Wheelchair access is limited to the restrooms and upper park - not the gorge)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Long walk up”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It is an amazing walk down the gorge to the lower Niagara River. The scenery is gorgeous. Word of warning to those with bad knees.. there are many stairs to climb!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryteresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devil's Hole State Park also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Hole State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing