We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained small property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonlite Motel
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well maintained small property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The motel is relatively quiet for its proximity to a main road right next to the motel. This is more of a family run small place, but is very well maintained and the owners are very welcoming and helped us as we had never been to Niagara before.
There is a free shuttle bus stop opposite to the motel that connects to all the major tourist attractions in Niagara. You can get a daily pass from the reception along with the bus schedule. There is a swimming pool right next to the reception but we hardly saw anyone using it during our stay, though it looked clean and maintained. Breakfast was just basic muffins / coffee / cookies and fruits which you have to carry to your room.
The checking in process was smooth as we had pre-booked the room and there was no one checking in with us. The room was clean with a good Air-con, clean bed linens and fresh towels. The owner let us store our luggage for the day we were leaving as our flight was for the evening which was nice.

All in all this place has everything you can ask for in a hotel at this price. Its an excellent choice for those on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horizon_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    62
    28
    7
    14
See reviews for
72
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Face it, the very thought of visiting Niagara Falls and the lore surrounding it as THE honeymoon destination for generations just begs for a stay in a period lodging venue. The Moonlite Motel fits that bill. Why stay at a spiffy, soul-less, newer high rise or cookie-cutter chain when you can flash back in time with a stay at a typical mid-20th century motel surrounding an outdoor pool? Heck, you almost imagine seeing Marilyn Monroe and Joseph Cotton staying there ! The Moonlite Motel is on the main drag into town, Niagara Falls Boulevard, just an easy 7 minutes or so drive to the falls and sights. It is simply appointed with typical decor from the time of its construction, yes, clean, and has a cool neon sign you can't wait to see lit up after dark. OK wifi, pretty good included breakfast spread (although an 8am serving start is a bit late for this sort of venue), and the place is close to fuel, restaurants, shopping needs. Units have 'fridge and microwave ovens, handy for road trippers, and the desk staffer we had at checkin was a willing and bountiful wealth of information regarding visiting the Nigara Falls sights...a true booster for the hospitality and commerce industries on the Niagara Escarpment. Don't know what I mean? Visit, check out the geological and historical fascinations regarding this region, and you will learn that and much more. And, stay at the Moonlite Motel why you are there !

Room Tip: I have been in a lot of motel rooms over many decades, and have never found thinner walls sound-wise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
195 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the nice reviews. I booked 2 adults and didn't include our 12 year old daughter since she is small and can sleep with us if the bed is big. Going into the driveway when I saw the pool, it felt funny seeing a pool almost by the street! Checking in the owner said that we booked for 2 persons and she has to charge for another person us$10.00 per day for extra towels and extra breakfast. We asked, what is the breakfast? Coffee, muffins and donuts. Already dismayed we had no choice but to agree. She advised us not to smoke in the room. We don't smoke! When we got to the room. It smelled cigarette!!!! The only thing that is nice in the bathroom that they are proud of were the "mirror and big sink" but the whole bathroom is old!!!! Their breakfast is overpriced! They serve bruised apples! Their coffee is not even fresh! You ask for juice or yogurt and she will tell you " oh I don't have a license to serve refrigerated food!" The towels are shabby! This hotel is 20 minutes away from the Falls!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Miley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

To be honest I typically stay at chain hotels, but I decided to try this place for two reasons. One reason was they had much better reviews than comparable places in the area. The other reason was the pool for my kids. Everything in our room was clean, as was the pool, and the bed was nice and firm. They offer free wifi, however, I couldn't get on it for my laptop until the morning. Maybe because a lot of people were on in the evening. Otherwise I used my own internet on my phone. Decent place for a decent price in the area. Friendly owner operators.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank duranie4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Moonlite Motel was a vintage 1950s/1960s U-shaped motel with a pool in the center that was clean and well kept. Typically we avoid these types of motels as the ones we've stayed at have been poorly maintained and usually pretty dirty. Not the case with the Moonlite Motel! Checking in, the staff was exceptionally friendly and quite proud of the facility. Our room was as clean, or cleaner, than the chain hotels were we usually stay. The location is very conveniently located to Niagara Falls and the various attractions. The staff offers good advice on tours and will help schedule.

The only criticism we have is that our room had no closet or wardrobe for hanging cloths and lacked any luggage racks.

Room Tip: Set up a tour at the front office. They'll help you get a good one at a good price and it beats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_Rowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Location is good for the Niagara Falls Fashion Outlet! Quiet, pleasant, with parking right at the doorstep. Good hot shower. Pool looks nice and well-maintained though it's by the roadside. No hairdryer in the room, but can get it from the front desk. Reliable and prompt service :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed during a visit to Niagara Falls. Not being "motel" people, I took the chance. It's an easy 3-mile drive to the Falls from here. Room was exactly what was needed. Clean & quiet for 4. $90 after taxes. They offer a very limited carb-load free breakfast. Not the greatest beds ever but they get the job done. Wi-Fi was a little slow. We'll stay again next time we return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robmx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Summit Inn
BEST WESTERN Summit Inn
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls/Buffalo Area
4.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlite Motel

Property: Moonlite Motel
Address: 7811 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-1705
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pleasent seasonal Motel with it's outdoor pool that lies in the center of a courtyard and guests in each of the 21 rooms enjoy a pleasant pool view and modestly furnished rooms. We also feature premium cable, free Wi-Fi and a Flat screen TV's. The Moonlite is open from April through December, and provides free on-site parking to all guests. You'll find a free continental breakfast prepared each morning by the friendly staff and owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moonlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlite Motel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing