We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kept awake all night” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Terrapin inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Terrapin inn
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kept awake all night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were awakened at 2:00 PM by the loudest fight ever between
a man and woman in the room over us. We called the front desk to
complain about the swearing and noise, and we were told he'd take care
of it. Nothing happened, we kept hoping they'd go to sleep soon?
After another hour or so of noise we called the front desk again. We
were told they didn't think they were making much noise, and we're
going to be quieter. Finally, my wife had her fill of swearing, yelling
and noise and went to the front desk in person. He said that he was
going to throw them out. They finally left around 6;30AM
Meanwhile after we got up they discovered that 5 or 6 cars parked
behind the hotel had their windows smashed. The hotel
said to them call your insurance company yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotiatraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    13
    13
    44
See reviews for
39
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very good place for overnight to see the Niagara Falls. Very friendly personal.
Avoid ground floor, the feeling is you are locked in cellar. The room is wide. Don’t forget to take your breakfast in time))) 2 minutes after its end and everything will be cleaned.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, the feeling is you are locked in cellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

To start the staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The gentleman behind the desk even took the time to explain a couple of things and directions!! A quality you dont find at many hotels these days. Even made us laugh while checking us in.

Secondly the room was very clean and smelled nice. The tv was a little outdated but at least it worked. Just a short 15 min walk to the falls and 5 minutes from the casino. I browsed around at other hotel prices in the area and wow!!!!

If you are looking for a friendly place to stay that is reasonably priced and conveniently located I HIGHLY recommend the Waldorf Niagara!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel has a great rate compared to the other places in the area. You can walk to the falls from the hotel. The hotel is a five minute walk to the casino. My room was clean and the staff was very friendly to me. The indoor heated pool was great for my kids to swim in. I really liked the free continental breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The Waldorf is a budget hotel. Was looking for an inexpensive place to stay with the in-laws one night since they don't have much money. The hotel was mostly acceptable until this morning and would have gotten at least a 2 start rating... Maybe 3. Now... My stomach is turned and I'm pretty hard to gross out. First, my wife noticed a hair scrunchy in the bed that wasn't hers. That didn't phase me terribly...

Now I am sympathetic to the plight of the homeless.... But I do have my limits. At breakfast there was a smelly poorly dressed very dirty man enjoying the free breakfast. I thought it was possible he was a guest but was pretty sure he was homeless guy getting a meal. Fine... Let the guy grab a meal and get out. Well, he asked the wife for money to eat... Never mind the fact he was already eating. He say down to eat and managed to make the whole room smell like human excrement. Then he got up and asked if he could use our bathroom and I have him a look of ...! So he left. Thought he was gone for good. Tried to salvage what I could of enjoying my breakfast. A few minutes later he came back. I could see he managed to defecate all over his pant leg as he asked back to the breakfast area. My wife will be the first one to say I ignore dirt and germs and I accuse her off being germaphobic... But I literally feel I'll and sick to my stomach knowing this was anywhere near the food I ate. I asked the guy behind the desk if they routinely let homeless in... And he replied with yeah that guy comes in pretty regular and that he needs to talk to the manager/owner how to handle it. Well.... While the hotel works on figuring that out... Avoid breakfast there at all costs. I don't recommend staying here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Niagara Falls
Fairfield Inn & Suites Niagara F...
#14 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niaga...
#15 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#6 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrapin inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrapin inn

Property: The Terrapin inn
Address: 795 Rainbow Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1313 (Formerly Waldorf Niagara Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Terrapin inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Terrapin inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing