We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“run down motel”
Review of Swiss Cottage Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Cottage Inns
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Mt Pocono, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“run down motel”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we had two rooms - one seemed to be ok, the other one was really, really run down - tiles in the shower broken, mold on the shower ceiling, toilet kept flushing; you could see outside through AC unit. beds were not the most comfortable ones.
Location was not the best either - it took us about 10 minutes to get to the falls through dark streets and with GPS.
on the bright side - the front desk lady was pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatyZhuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    65
    41
    23
    23
See reviews for
44
70
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

When I travel I look for a clean, safe & comfortable place to sleep...this was it! The location was fine and easy to find. The room was small, but served it's purpose. The bed was very comfortable and while the bathroom was small and oddly layed out, it served it's purpose as well.
I would definately stay here again!
Small family owned hotel, very friendly. Fridge and microwave in the room was a nice plus!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudPurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in about 11pm first impressions it was ok and 'clean' ( we only wanted a cheap place to sleep for a few hours and a shower )

At 3.30am I woke up itching ! I looked in my bed to find a bed bug!!!! I woke my friend who was in the other bed next to me ... We also found one bug in their bed !

By 4am we was outta there! Covered in bites!!!

We lost a day of our holiday buying sprays and washing ALL our clothes in the laundrette ... AND we r still getting bitten 3 days later... Now we r petrified that we might take these bugs back home with us!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadelondon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I know we should have made reservations before going to Niagara Falls but it was a spur of the moment - lets go take a drive up and look at all the FALL LEAF colors and checkout the Falls up there - never been - could be fun lets just go - then we found out it was a holiday weekend - Columbus Day on Monday and also Canada's Thanksgiving... so we stopped at a tour place and they found a nice room here. It is an older motel - it shows it's age but it was clean and quiet and we had a good nights sleep which is what we wanted. They let us park our car there 1/2 day while we toured around and got to see all the sights we wanted - got wet, took pictures, had a nice boat ride and then went home. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMeyers27613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good value for your money. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. We had a fridge and microwave if required.
Woman advised us that she checks all rooms after cleaning. One of the rooms had a clogged sink and when we mentioned this to her, she was right there to fix the problem.
If you want Good Value for your money, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patrice880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

The lady at the desk was nice and helpful. The room was clean. The room came with free wifi, a microwave, and a mini fridge. I thought the free wifi was nice because at most large and expensive hotels you have to pay extra for it. Motel was perfect for a quick one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This motel was probably about 3 miles form Niagara Falls so you do need a car for your sight seeing. However, the motel itself was clean and tidy and has a small pool. There are a few eating places nearby, (fast food), and a very friendly local bar on the next block.

The lady on reception was very nice and helpful when we asked for directions back to the "falls" - (our room wasn't ready as it was before 11am when we arrived)

It was, as most motels are, cheap and cheerful and for a 1 night stay we could have no complaints at all - it was a value for money budget motel and if motels are your thing then dont' look past this place..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls/Buffalo Area
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#33 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
#23 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#28 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#7 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Inns

Property: Swiss Cottage Inns
Address: 6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-2235
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Swiss Cottage Inns 1.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 minutes' drive from Niagara Falls, the casino and a large shopping mall, the motel presents itself as the ideal base to explore the sights of the area. The motel offers free passes for a shuttle service to and from both Niagara Falls and the casino (during the summer season). The motel also offers a large outdoor pool and Wi-Fi internet connection so that guests can keep in contact with family, friends and colleagues during their stay. Guests will find numerous restaurants nearby to satisfy every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swiss Cottage Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Inns Hotel Niagara Falls
Swiss Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing