We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian?”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Macri's Italian Grille Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 291 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian?”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I recently had dinner at this establishment and sadly can't find a reason to give them an excuse to poor quality of food. It was about 5, 530pm on a Thursday night so the place was still quite empty. I ordered the Veal Melinzana entree which, to be kind, was terrible. The veal was deep fried and dried out, hard to chew. But that wasn't the worst. The side past was disgusting! Definitely not made to order as it was sour from sitting in the cooler for too long. Terrible experience and would never come back. The server was excellent though and would be better off in a higher quality establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic, fantastic Italian food!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I go to Macri's regularly. It's a great place to have great food at very reasonable prices. The gnocchi, chicken parmesan and eggplant parmesan are my favourites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm_ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Macri's Italian Grille now in Lewiston NY.”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

What I love Macri's Italian Grille is that they pride themselves on sticking to the receipes which made them successful. 35 years ago we found Macri's Italian Grille in Niagara Falls, NY and it became our favourite Italian family style restaurant. We moved from the area 20 years ago and just returned for a short vacation. Macri's is no longer in Niagara Falls but now located in Lewiston NY in the former Clarkson House. Upon entering and being greated by Ann, it was like we turned the clock back 35 years. The menu contained the favorites that we were hoping to find.such as Beans and Greens. The lasagna, veal dishes and the portions where as amazing as they always were. The salads, crisp and fresh. Amazing value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We just tried Macri's for the first time and we LOVED it! I respecfully disagree with the below poster - the location is great. Right in the center of Lewiston - so there is a lot of charm around. Small parking lot, but clear signage about where else you can go. There was a party upstairs - so that portion of the restaurant was booked. We sat at a 2-seater table with pub stools - not my favorite...but it didn't even matter by the time the meal was over. The bread is fresh and they keep it coming! I ordered eggplant rollatini, which came with a salad. Both were excellent. Portion was big - had to take some home. My husband had a chicken salad with oranges and cranberries. He was raving! All the diners in the restaurant was walking around hugging and laughing - definitely a quaint, small town feel. We spent $29 (incl. tax & tip). WARNING for VEGETARIANS - the Alfredo sauce is cooked with a chicken base. Their red sauce has 2 versions - the one that is meatless is safe.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmasc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
“Great Italian, but...”
Reviewed 18 March 2009

The food here is great, and decently priced. The pasta trotta is the best dish on the menu, an absolute favorite to most everyone who tries it!
However
the restaurant is crowded, too many tables and chairs in a small space, and is located inside a dead mall with maybe total of 5 stores.
Not great location, but great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isitpaydayyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macri's Italian Grille Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Macri's Italian Grille Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing