We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper-thin walls; room not well-prepared; service needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a King Suite, booked with 3 guests. The room was on the 4th floor but right behind the slooow elevator. Imagine hearing guests exiting and entering the escalator all night, with the non-existent sound-proofing in place.

Remember about the 3 guests? Well, the washroom had 3 sets of towels all right, but only 1 set of shampoo and body wash? A call to the front desk resulted in a person (note: he did not look like a hotel employee, with no uniform), bringing up a handful of small bottles. However, after closing the door, I realized that they were all shampoo and conditioner. We ended up using soap.

Then the fun part: I did need another couple more bath towels so I requested them at the front desk again. They did not come after over a half hour. I called again, and they finally arrived after another 15 minutes. All SIX of them. SIX?

This place needs a serious update (on property and service) before I will reconsider staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not pick low-numbered rooms (eg. 505, etc.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear MARK L, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your honest feedback on our hotel. We who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our customer service. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

OK, the hotel was good too. It is a Holiday Inn and you get what you expect from Holiday in. I would give them 3-4 stars over all but the best part was the Restaurant. The best part of the restaurant was our server "Sam". She was great. Funny, attentive and a great ambassador for the Holiday Inn. 5 Stars for Sam! Oh, I recommend the Onion Soup and the Mussels Bowl!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjnicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The property is not well taken care of, the pool was broken, ceiling tiles damaged from water.
The floor were not swept very bad in elevators and hallways. The walls in hallway to our room had a lot of water damage with holes in walls which they tried to cover with wall paper. In the room the floors were replaced with lament wood floor not very clean the corners had cobwebs and our toilet was dirty. We were suppose to stay for 4 nights but check out and cancelled rest of reservation. The would not refund us for the few hours that we were check in while trying to make arrangement for new hotel. The worst Holiday Inn I have ever been in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Cathy B, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback on our hotel. We are truly sorry that you found the cleanliness of your room and the common areas of our hotel to be less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide friendly and comfortable accommodations. The comments we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you again for the review, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Location of the property is funtastic. Rate is reasonable.Every thing is at walkable distance. Complimentary breakfast is ok. Room size is also ok. A nice place to stay.The fall is very nearby from the rear door of the hotel. The staff is very helpful. The hotel is having its own parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasanzaheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel and staff were outstanding. We went for a hockey tournament and they accommodate you to have so much fun. The open up the lobby for the children and parents to sit, relax, play mini sticks and just have lots of laughs and fun. The food especially the chicken wings were very good. The cleaning staff cleaned and tidied our room daily, and the security staff were very lenient and friendly. Our children had a very memorable stay, and we thank the Holiday Inn for helping create these amazing memories.

Room Tip: Request the falls side, it is very pretty at night for viewing the Canadian side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is very close to everything. Could not ask for a better location, we found it to be very quite and the staff to be very friendly will be returning back. Thank you a great time in your area.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriestew45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel was in pretty bad shape. Nasty laminate floors in the rooms were coming up. Beds uncomfortable.... Refrigerator wasn't working in the room and stunk... Pool area was dark and just not nice at all. The restaurant was ok but way over priced! The staff was excellent. This owner is very lucky to have this staff. The hotel needs an overhaul. It's not worth the published price at all. Kids eat free.... Well... You pay for it with the adult over priced meal. All our rooms smelled of smoke... Horrible smell. Was very loud at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cljttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Cljttravel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel. We are truly sorry that you found the condition of your guest room to be uncomfortable and that the prices in our restaurant were too high. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide superior accommodations and guest service to all our guests. We hope that you will give use another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service. Thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#11 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,120 reviews
4.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 114 Buffalo Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £51 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing