We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location...bad food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is walking distance to the falls and right opposite to the Casino... which makes it for a great location.

The rooms are average and the food is pretty substandard.

The rooms overlook a parking lot with no view.

The good part is that you can spend as much time at the casino and then just cross the street for your hotel.

The bad part... they charge for everything. The breakfast is not included in the room.
Try not having the breakfast at the hotel... as there are many other attractive options at better prices around.

The best is, if you pay 12 dollars at the casino for the breakfast... its amazing.

But full marks for the location and the price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your patronage and feedback on our hotel. I am so glad that you found our location to be convenient for your travel needs. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your helpful comments and sharing your experiences at our property. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    241
    212
    95
    77
See reviews for
346
208
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I only stayed for one night thank goodness. Overall, this hotel is dilapidated, disgusting and either needs a major overhaul or should be torn down.
The room was filthy, worn and full of mould. The bathroom was sickening. The elevators were broken and the only one that functioned was filthy and on disrepair.
The quality of this building is worthy of a one star rating, if that.
Unfortunately, the price for one night was $200!!
You would be MUCH better off one the Canadian side of the falls, with very nice and clean hotels such as Doubletree, Hilton or Wyndham Garden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welchfam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your candid feedback on our property. We are truly sorry that you found our hotel and the cleanliness of the room you received less than satisfactory. This is not what you should expect from our hotel; we always strive to provide comfortable, clean, and friendly accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously, and I can assure you that we have forwarded your complaints to our management team so that we may improve upon the issues you have mentioned. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exception service. Thank you again for your review and we hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We were just passing through and wanted a place for the night. The hotel was clean and convenient to the falls, but really needs some maintenance. It took 3 people to get our door open because of the shifting walls. The staff was very helpful in pointing us to dinner and sites.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormyrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on our hotel. I am so glad to hear that our staff was helpful in finding area attractions and locations for dining. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your guest room door. I have forwarded your comments regarding your issues to our Chief Engineer so that he may address the problem before another guest experiences the same situation. We value your comments and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel if you return to Niagara Falls. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Cleanliness and Location were our 2 request. This Holiday Inn was cleaned as and the location is perfect. The $12 breakfast is a bit pricy but offered a multitude of options. The staff was attentive. I difinitely would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteNadeau2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. I am so happy to hear that our staff was accommodating and friendly to you throughout your stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering superior customer service and creating a wonderful atmosphere for our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your positive comments and sharing the experiences you had while visiting our hotel. Thank you for choosing our property while you are traveling away from home. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place was awful. Don't stay if you are of different ethnic background. Dirty, shower did not work right, vents were dirty, floor needed another sweep because when you lifted your foot up it was black, door did not seal right, people were cooking in the next room at 2 am and all night long which wafted into our room and made me want to gag. My family and I felt unsafe in this hotel, very unsafe. We refused to have breakfast there and could not get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkbellde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I would like to thank you for staying with us and leaving your honest feedback on our hotel. We are truly sorry that you found the cleanliness of the room you received less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exception service. Thank you again for your review and we hope we have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I'm so perplexed by any reviews that were remotely positive about this hotel. The difficulties we encountered seemed never-ending.
To start, the employees were nice and the location is very good. However I would not stay on the US side again because Niagara Falls the town is just awful.
Here are some of the things we encountered:
1. Room #1: stuffy. So we turn on the air conditioner. What is that smell? Urine? Oh yes, it is. There was a definite smell of urine coming out of the air conditioner. So we go down and ask to move. THey offer us breakfast.
2. Room #2: immediate odor of donuts. Fried food, fried dough, something. It was like sitting in a carnival. We thought we would eventually get used to it, but after a while we were nauseous, so we asked to move again. (We have NEVER asked to change rooms in any hotel before this.
3. Room #3: no smell, thank goodness. But the bathroom had mold, had filthy walls, had a ceiling that was bowing and totally water damaged, one of the light bulbs was out. The room itself felt icky. The beds were so uncomfortable that none of us slept (they were old, creaky beds that you could hear if you moved in them), and we took off the next day at 5 a.m. No breakfast, we just wanted out of there.
THe hotel is so run down. The panel for the elevator is coming off the wall, the elevator "up" arrow is missing, the carpets (the ones that exist) are not kept clean, the rooms have old linoleum floors that are bubbling and peeling, the wallpaper is peeling, I could go on. It was such an uncomfortable stay, and no not at all worth $160.
The manager, I've noticed, writes to each bad review that they are constantly looking to improve. But all the things everyone else has noticed for years are still ongoing, so clearly nothing is being done to improve. I think the owner of this hotel needs to loosen the purse strings a bit and clean the thing up. Such a shame. I wouldn't go back there if it were the only hotel in Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I would like to thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our property. I assure you that this is not the norm that you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I read all re previous review for this location and we found no of the problems noted prior. The one comment on signs about the hotel not responsible for your car, every hotel has these and there were no more than most places. It is an older property but we'll maintained and all the staff was very friendly. The location was the best thing, close to the falls and the casino. I would recommend calling ahead and getting a river-facing room. You cannot see the falls from any of their rooms but facing the river/Canada was nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your patronage and feedback on our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff and found our location to be convenient for your needs. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your positive comments and sharing your experiences at our property. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Property: The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Address: 114 Buffalo Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing