We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of run down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Kind of run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Close to rainbow bridge but....a little run down, large stains on carpet in a couple of places. Bathroom was updated but we had to keep jiggling the handle on the toilet to get it to stop running. Nice people at the front desk though and an OK breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve f, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel online. I am glad you found the front desk personnel to be kind. Maintenance was made aware of your concerns and the carpets were stream cleaned. We do have a regular maintenance schedule which ensures the carpets are cleaned. Your other concerns will be addressed with ownership. Thanks again as your comments help us do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    211
    275
    169
    156
See reviews for
457
281
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is located about 10 walking minutes from the world famous Niagara Falls. There is plenty of parking. The front desk is kind, courteous and knowledgeable. The rooms are clean. The bathroom was clean. The refrigerator, lights, television, internet, etc. all were working. It's an older hotel - not an expensive, fancy 5 star hotel - but I haven't been in a HoJo's in a while and was very happy with the stay.

NOTE: The hotel is located on the corner of Main and Robert Moses Parkway/1st Street. The Rainbow Bridge - one of the several bridges between US and Canada, is literally one block from the hotel. We arrived in town late afternoon and was buried alive in traffic for the bridge due to customs. Took us over 45 minutes just to get two blocks to the hotel driveway! Check this web site for delays on the bridges. http://www.niagarafallsbridges.com/

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve f, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel online. I am so happy you found the Howard Johnson closest to the Falls at 454 Main Street in Niagara Falls, NY to have a great location, friendly, knowledgeable staff and very clean rooms. Our staff works hard to ensure each guest has a great time while staying with us. Thanks for your comments. I will share them with the staff. They love positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

If all you need is a decent place to stay and a breakfast you can make at home, this hotel should do the trick. It's not bad by any stretch of the imagination, but it is also quite unremarkable. Proximity to Niagara Falls is definitely the strong point of this hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the back of the building will be quieter and saker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperTed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve f, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel on tripadvisor. I am happy you found the Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls at 454 Main Street in Niagara Falls, NY to have a great location, clean rooms and a good breakfast. Our location, clean rooms and free
continental breakfast make the Howard Johnson Closest to The Falls an ideal choice. Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to your next visit. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#32 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#9 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#6 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing