We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton At The Falls
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sheraton at the falls was a real disappointment. The check in was quick. The room was big but smelly. The location was good close to all the attractions. the hotel is old and surely needs a renovation. There is no breakfast at the hotel but TGIF in the hotel premises is a saving grace as it serves a buffet breakfast for 12.95$. There is a Laundromat in the hotel which was very convenient but the machine took only quarters and there was no machine to get quarters. The detergent and dryer sheets were complimentary and had to be taken from the reception. all in all the stay was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron D, General Manager at Sheraton At The Falls, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always our goal to meet and exceed everyone’s expectations. By reading your review we did not succeed. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the Hotel. The Hotel has recently undergone a multimillion dollar renovation. This does include the guestrooms, bathrooms and lobby. We hope that you will return so that you may see that we can perform. Again our apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    507
    200
    65
    59
See reviews for
615
699
34
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There seems to be a theme with poor check-in experiences at this hotel and we were no exception.
We booked a Travel Zoo package at this Sheraton and had a glitch at check in (like a lot of other people), but overall, our experience was pretty good.

This Sheraton is dog-friendly and we brought my dog. When booking, they did not tell us that pets are limited to rooms on 2nd floor only, but they did say check-in was at 3:30pm.
We came in from Canada and got there at 8pm; the Front Desk claimed they did not have us listed as requiring a pet-friendly room and that it would take 40 minutes to prep a room on the 2nd floor for us. Hmmmmm ... that was odd.

While we collected all of our wine tour; casino, outlet mall and TGI Fridays coupons, we were gladly 'taken care of' by some quick-witted younger front-desk staffers who were friendly, cheerful and sympathetic to our mix up. (i.e.., we got a handful of extra coupons)

I ALWAYS FIND: IF YOU HAVE A POSITIVE, GRATEFUL ATTITUDE, IT WILL BE REFLECTED BACK ON YOU BY THE STAFF. This alone eased our frustrations at check-in. PLEASE TRY IT OUT FOR YOURSELVES NEXT TIME SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPENS TO YOU. And it helps to have a very cute show-cut Std. Poodle with you that everyone fawns over. ;-)

We used our TGI Friday coupon while we waited for our room to be ready. My dog was very happy to get her "leftovers."

Our room had a view of the rooftop air conditioning units. SO WHAT?! I closed the privacy blinds because I was more interested in what was going on IN MY BEDROOM than what I could see outside of my window. ;-)

THE KING BED WAS AWESOMELY COMFY, SOFT, COZY AND INVITING. (Really, I am talking about the bed. Get your minds out of the gutter people.)

The entire room looked like it had recently been "redone:" the ceiling was clean, the wallpaper fresh, carpet looked a little worn (but why not), but the bathroom was GREAT!

Bathroom had INSTANT HOT WATER AND FULL PRESSURE. Brand new tile, shower curtain, fixtures and mirror. For fun, look at the rectangular reflection of the bathroom mirror light on your eyeballs. Makes for a great sci-fi FX picture to take home. LOL
Not one speck of mould seen in this bathroom. It was a tight fit and had no discernible exhaust fan, but it was a joy to be in!

Room AC worked fine, but loudly. Meh, who cares after a night at the Casino and bed?

Sheraton location was good (across from Casino, walking distance to Falls etc..) TGI Fridays was okay (read my separate review; who doesn't want to smell BBQ Steak every time you come to the lobby ), parking lot was okay, pool and fitness centre looked good, all staff we met were friendly AND HELPFUL.

My dog was welcomed at every turn. Except for the wait for our room, it was a great weekend!

It may not be your typical "classy" Sheraton, but if you need a good place with reliable expectations close to The Falls, you might as well book here.

Room Tip: Make sure your pet-friendly reservation is confirmed. You will be staying on 2nd floor. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWONTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron D, General Manager at Sheraton At The Falls, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff does strive to provide each guest with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking notice in our renovations . We are very pleased with this multimillion dollar project and its results. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

this is on a perfect location just a 5 minute walk away from the falls and the tourist center. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Overall we were very pleased with our experience here.

The only reason why I didn't give them 4 or 5 stars is the service. We arrived right at check in time but had to wait in their lobby for almost a full hour to be able to get to our room. Based off what we saw several others had this problem as well. This isn't enough to discourage us from staying here again, but for an expensive hotel it still shouldn't happen.

The other thing that rubbed us the wrong way is their concierge desk trying to push marked up excursion packages on you as soon as you walk in the door. If you shop around or go to the tourist center first you'll see many booths offering you the same deal at better prices.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenic_Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is few blocks to the falls and right across the street from the Seneca Casino. Was there on business, hotel was comfortable, attached to a nice TGIFridays, was clean and comfortable.

On Friday they had a wine tasting in lobby (not free) but got to talk to some other guests and the server was very nice.

My first impression was to give it three stars as it isn't the cheapest for what you get, but it earned the 4th by having a great location. BTW- mid week rates are cheaper than weekend, in case you have flexibility in your travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron D, General Manager at Sheraton At The Falls, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives to provide each guest with everything they need in order to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was epic for the location alone. If you like to go to casinos you can't get a better location. It's walking distance to the rainbow bridge too. They try to sell you on torus but we didn't take any. My grandma is 85 and was able to walk to the falls. The Fridays, Starbucks and ice cream shop can get busy but service was great in them all. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they phoned us as soon as it became available. Bought this stay on groupon and it included slot play, Fridays voucher and even a discount card for some shopping. We stayed for under $90 a night so was a great value. I would stay here again but I did think we were doing the Sheraton on the falls not at the falls. So make sure you know the difference. So much more to do in Canada but it's not too far to get there from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikashirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron D, General Manager at Sheraton At The Falls, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our staff strives to provide each guest with superior customer service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many of our amenities that we have to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

While the hotel is hardly one that I would bill as "luxurious," as the hotel website states, it wasn't as run down or dilapidated as other reviews suggested either. We didn't have much issue checking in, despite there being a 30 minute wait to do so when there was only two couples in front of us, but we did hit the bad room jackpot. We were in room 360, which is a room where the electronic door entry works approximately 1/5 times. In addition to having to get four new sets of keys (we were only there for one night), we ended up having to have Ricardo, the facilities manager (I think), assist us with entering the room. Even though he works at the hotel, it took him about 10 minutes to get the door open each time as well. Add that to the time it takes to go back to the front desk, ask for someone to help us with the door, and for them to get there and open it, we easily lost about 3-4 hours of trip just waiting to get in our room. Finally, after our third unsuccessful attempt at getting in that night, we just decided to forego our other plans at the falls because we didn't want to get locked out in the middle of the night. It was incredibly annoying.

The rest of the hotel was alright- it was fantastic having the casino across the street and Starbucks in the building, I just wish we got to enjoy our stay a little more. Visitors beware, stay out of room 360!

Room Tip: Ask for a falls facing room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron D, General Manager at Sheraton At The Falls, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to our guest survey. It is always our goal to meet and exceed everyone’s expectation. By reading your survey we didn’t succeed. Note that the hotel works very hard to ensure that everyone’s experience is a good one. Please except my apology on the Hotels behalf. Again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I would ask everyone to stay out of the hotel. We had booked 3 rooms in the hotel. First of all it is impossible to reach tje reception through phone. we complained about some burning smell in our room. To our surprise no body came to check in our room of what happened.
Then the a.c. was blowing hot air. We complained about that but no body cared. I would never stay in this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron D, General Manager at Sheraton At The Falls, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always our goal to meet and exceed everyone’s expectations. By reading your review we did not succeed. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the Hotel. Our staff strives to provide each guest with everything they need in order to have a successful stay. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon so that we may show you that we can perform. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
4.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
1.3 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton At The Falls

Property: Sheraton At The Falls
Address: 300 Third Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton At The Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton At The Falls is located in the heart of downtown Niagara Falls, USA, connected to the Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino and adjacent to The Conference Center Niagara Falls. Just footsteps will take you to the brink of the majestic Niagara Falls and the Canadian border! Sheraton At The Falls conveniently offers a TGI Fridays, Rainforest Cafe, Starbucks, At The Falls Arcade, Sweet Treats Ice Cream Shop and a market off of the main lobby. Guests can relax at the Reef Beach Club and Pool, which features new hot tubs, a shark tank, and a coral reef lagoon viewing tank. Guests can also take full advantage of our 24-hour Sheraton Fitness Center. This 3.5 Star property features a business center, as well as secretarial services. Meeting and event facilities measuring 8,671 square feet include the spectacular Crown Jewel Ballroom. Busk in the comfort of Sheraton's Signature Sleep Experience, and wake to fresh in-room complimentary Starbucks coffee. Sheraton At The Falls also offers in-room climate control, in-room safes, in-room microwaves, in-room refrigerators and high-speed wireless internet throughout the facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing