We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't EVER stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Gore Mountain
Ranked #2 of 2 North Creek B&B and Inns
Rye Brook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't EVER stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our family of 4 had spent a few days at Lake Placid last February and wanted to ski at Gore Mountain on the way home. We booked our reservations in advance of our trip. When we arrived at around 7pm, we checked into our bungalow. We began to get settled and quickly noticed the bathroom had mold on the shower curtain. We unmade the beds and found hair on the mattresses and pillows, as well as garbage on the floor near to the beds. We packed up and left. When we went to the office to let them know we were leaving and why, the manager did not even seem to care. We did not pay. We actually drove 4 hours to get home that night. We will try to go to Gore again his year, but we are staying at the Copperfield!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank jpschlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Had to check in here overnight after being forced off the road due to terrible ice and snow (this was the closest place) It was late November and it seemed like the place was closed for the season, but the bar and restaurant were open. Went in and asked for a room and Rich (owner) got me setup up right away, only charging the summer rate. He turned on the room's hot water for us, even gave us some drinks at the bar, definitely made sure we would be comfortable. Rooms were clean, especially the bathroom and sink area. Beds were extremely comfortable and the heater worked great. Though it was just a one night emergency stay, I'll definitely be back for longer trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmango54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have stayed in a lot of different places, but nothing like this has ever come along. This trip was given to me for my 60th birthday as a surprise. Boy was it ever. It was a 2 night stay with dinner and breakfast for 2. Three words tell it all. STINK, STANK, STUNK. The room smelled like something died, and the bugs nice and big. Had to kill 3 just when the light went on. Turned on the a/c to get the smell out but no luck. At check in the owner then tells me about my dinner, and breakfast. He draws a map to town with places to eat. No food voucher, or does he say bring back your bill,I am thinking how does it keep getting worse. Then he shuts off the yard lights, and if I had to leave, there was no way to even get to my car. THIS IS NO JOKE!!!!!! This place should not even be open for business. My next letter is to the NY state health, and ad. dept. Everything in his ad was Very misleading. The kicker was the ice bucket in the room with nowhere to get ice. Oh wait!!!!!! I had to drive to town.

Room Tip: stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Creek hotels

Claysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've been to this place twice now and had a very pleasing time both times. It's not a full service, five star, white-glove establishment. But that's never what it sets out to be. What it is, is a nice, comfortable, friendly, affordable place to bed down for a few nights on your ski trip. It's literally right around the corner from the main entrance to Gore Mountain, I don't think there is anywhere closer.

The restaurant was nice and friendly with surprisingly good food given how empty the place was on the last weekend of the ski season. The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly, and the accommodations were pleasant enough. Still, some folks go on trips to places like this for the amenities, and those people will be disappointing. Still, this is a far way from rustic which is a good thing. At the end of a long day of skiing one of the best mountains in NY, it's quite welcoming. Come for the skiing, not the turn-down service.

I have now stayed here twice and will look forward to booking my late season trip back here next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amikolajczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My family and I would like to thank you for the wonderful experience on our last stay. We stayed elsewhere for a ski weekend and it was totally horible but thanks to the wonderful stay here we are back on track!! It seems that it is getting harder these days to get any decent level of quality and service without taking out a second mortgage but that is not the case at this hotel. Thanks Again, we look forward to returning

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Inn at Gore Mountain is a very friendly, quaint Inn. If you are looking for "all of the amenities", then do not go here, but when we are on a ski vacation we need a nice, clean place to stay, and this meets the bill! We have stayed here twice now, and we are planning another trip to Gore next year, and will definitely stay here! I have read some of the other reviews, and I really do not agree with their nasty reviews. If you want a high priced inn, this is not it. However, as the other review states, if you want clean, close to Mountain, no phone, etc., as YOU ARE ON VACATION, then this IS the place to be! Richie is great, and his wife Susan is the best chef!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Oh boy, where do I begin?? If you need a clean place, DON'T stay here. You will be sadly disappointed. The room I had had 2 double beds & a bunk bed. The bedspreads were very dirty. The sheets were thread bare & barely stayed on the corners. The carpet was old & filthy. Don't think it had been vacuumed in months. The tub had hair in it & the shower curtain was all moldy. The towels were very thin & smelled "off". They provided small bottles of shampoo & conditioner but they were not the same brand. There were spiders & other bugs all over. Very musty smell to the whole place. The door didn't lock from the outside so don't leave valuables inside. The AC did work, surprisingly. Driveway full of deep ruts. If you don't have a taller SUV you will bottom out. Owner seemed nice enough but they need to vastly improve their idea of clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shugirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Creek
0.7 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.8 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Gore Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Gore Mountain

Property: The Inn on Gore Mountain
Address: 711 Peaceful Valley Rd, North Creek, NY 12853-1915
Region: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Creek
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Inn On Gore Mountain Hotel North Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing