We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very nice family room, plenty of room for the five of us. Our room had a kitchen too, with great outdoor eating area. Room very clean, and the only staff member that we came across was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring the area, and ideally situated within North Creek.

Room Tip: Our family room was on the ground floor, and ideally situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Overall it is nice. Love the double sinks in bathroom. Manager was very welcoming and helpful. The common area had great info on the area and full size refrigerator for our use. The barVino restaurant/bar next door, AWESOME. GREAT sandwich shop a few steps away too. Here is what needs to improve....clean or replace the moldy shower liner. It was BAD, very bad. Second, put a screen on the patio door for a cross breeze. Room is stuffy so we were forced to run AC when really not necessary. Get better pillows, way too hard. In spite of these short comings, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 21,654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What can I say, I got charged for two nights but did not stay there. The manager assured us that we'd get a full refund within 3-7 business days but that never happened. After a few ignored phone calls, the owner called to inform me that she would NOT be refunding the money regardless of what the manager said.

It's very sad. Because it says something about the integrity of the workers there. And expect to wait a while if you need assistance if you need it. There was no one in the lobby, just a cell number to call.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Yes, you reserved 2 nights over the busy Memorial Day Holiday weekend and we did indeed charge you for the stay we confirmed. We held the room for you as we promised. In your "review" you neglected to indicate what you mean by "misrepresentation" . You arrived in North Creek at our motel, and were surprised you were not with your friends in Lake George. You stated that we say we are 15 minutes north of Lake George on our website. This is far from the truth! We do not say that anywhere! We are located about 40 minutes north of Lake George in the midst of the beautiful Adirondacks- far enough from the hustle and bustle of the Lake George's miniature golf courses, Water Slide World, t-shirt shops and such. The beauty of our area is that we are far enough to be away, but close enough to take advantage of all those attractions if you so desire. You stated that you wished to drink with your friends in Lake George and we were too far to drive home after a night in the bars. We are! But that is not our fault....you should have seen our address, looked at our map and directions before asking us to make a reservation for you.

We are sorry that you did not realize that we are in the small mountain town of North Creek. Since we are off the beaten track we do have a deposit policy. Hopefully, the guests reading this will realize we are close to Gore Mountain in the heart of the Adirondacks. You should stay with us if you like to hike, bike, ski, fish and whitewater raft. You should stay with us if you like quiet, walks to nice restaurants and wine bars and quality shops. We are couple and family oriented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The only "complaint" I have is that they use a code to enter your room instead of a key-card and when we arrived for our anniversary weekend, we found anther couple in our room who had noticed on their bill the reservation said it was for two nights and they only reserved 1 so they had known something was off. However the staff immediately came and sorted it all out within 5 minutes and were very kind. The other couple was very nice as well and they were talking to us about the area and things to do. Other than that it was a beautiful facility and the staff was very helpful and kind. Highly recommend this place and I would definitely come back! It sits in a small town with a few shops and a handful of places to eat. We loved every bit of our weekend and were sad to come home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SierraDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was in the area visiting numerous summer camps on business and found that it was quite 'hit and miss' when selecting independent hotels / motels... I'm so glad I came across the Alpine Lodge (which I found on Trip Advisor)! My room was decorated with a wooden, rustic feel and was very cosy. The bed was HUGE! Free wi-fi was a bonus and I felt safe as a female solo traveller with the number-combination system on the door instead of a key. Had a great breakfast at a cafe down the road and stocked up on supplies for my trip from the supermarket across the road. A recommended gem...

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank HollieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Do NOT stay at this place. If you do, you’ll be paying way too much and receive very little. It is nothing but a motor lodge with alpine decorations.
$224.37 for one night will buy you this:
• A puddle right in front of your door.
• One bath towel
• No shampoo
• One bar of soap
• Seemingly nonresponsive heat control
• One 12 in sink
• Hardest pillows I’ve ever seen in my life
• Alarm clock beep at five in the morning coming from the presumably unoccupied room next door that you can’t do anything about because there are no phones in the room or a reception area with someone on duty where you can call.
• Two breakfast vouchers for a restaurant next door that in reality charges half what you paid for the vouchers you bought on line from the motel.

It is unfortunate. Reasonably priced and managed this place could be an asset. Instead it is a onetime trap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ali k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I don't know how to respond to this..... such a venomous review and you never even contacted us. All our rooms have telephones in them and the live-in Manager is on-premise 24/7 and would be happy to correct any problem any time. All rooms have shampoo, conditioner, lotion, make up remover, lip gloss and 2 bars of soap. Yes, we are a motel with a Adirondack furniture and decor- we don't try to be anything but. The rooms do range from $139 - $239 depending on the type of room you choose. There is 7% sales tax and 4% county bed tax in addition. As a courtesy to our guests we do offer gift certificates for breakfast to either Cafe Sarah next door or Marsha's Family Restaurant- for $12 you get a credit of $12 off your bill. An alarm clock in an adjoining (unoccupied?) room going off is an unacceptable happening- but there is certainly a telephone to call the manager who would have turned it off immediately, and certainly made amends had you contacted him. We are very very sorry you did not enjoy yourselves and would have loved an opportunity to correct any issues that you had - but your review is filled with false information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Our family has a relaxing stay at the lodge, the whole atmosphere was like staying at a well kept rugged cottage.
The service was good and we were upgraded to a bigger at no additional cost , it was considerate as we did not even ask for it. But seeing that we were 3 they suggest a bigger room.Waiting for my next holiday there.
The hotel beside BaRVINO IS WORTH A MEAL

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManjushaNaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Glad you enjoyed it! barVino is a favorite of ours as well! We are lucky that there are many great restaurants close by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Creek
1 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
129 reviews
6.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
70 reviews
24 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
84 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,661 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Address: 264 Main St, North Creek, NY 12853-2309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range: £129 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing