We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adirondack Charm with all the extras”
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2009

I enjoyed staying at the alpine lodge, the entire lodge was recently renovated to reflect a modern adirondack charm. The rooms are decorated with log furniture, yet the tv is a flat screen. Plus they have dvd's for you to borrow in their Great Room. Not to mention the books, cds, and board games for everyone to use. I also was able to enjoy the fireplace located in the great room while I relaxed. They don't do food on site, but there are so many options within walking distance that you could stay for several nights and eat somewhere new each night. The barvino next door was amazing with the beer selection and the tapas plates were so flavorful. I really liked room and atmosphere. We stayed midweek to avoid the crowds and found the skiing to be fantastic at Gore. We will be back sooner than later. Thank You!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Alpine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2009

We've stayed here a couple of times. The owner used to own Friends Lake Inn. They turned their attention to this former rundown motel, worked hard on it last year. The place looks quite nice, inside and out. No doubt it is pricey, but the rooms [we've stayed in 2 different rooms so far] for the most part fit the price. It's right in the town of North Creek, there's a wine bar next door, a pizza place across the street, and a Grand Union almost across the street. Cafe Sarah is a couple of doors down. There is a 'great' room/lobby were you can help yourself to DVD's and the big screen TV, read a book in the living room, make coffee, etc.
Rooms were impeccibly clean, beddings very comfortable [adirondack fleece beddings], flat screens with dvd players in both our rooms. The 'standard' rooms are very small, with the beds dominating the room, but the website does say they are 'cosy'. There is a ski tuning room with tuning benches [nice touch]. The onsite managers were friendly and informative. Ample offstreet parking, although dunno how they prevent non_guests from taking up parking spots.

Our few minor complaints: at the prices charged, which range from $160 to $495/night, internet access needs to be *free*. Even the cheapest holiday inns and microtels have free wifi. Why not just charge a couple of bucks extra and include free wifi? Also, since the place was gutted and renovated, I'm surprised they didn't put in ethernet ports in every room [like every newish hotel or house does these days].
The heat in our room for the second stay worked poorly. No real heat rose out of the radiant [water baseboard] heaters. We did not report this to the onsite manager. Our room the previous week [a different room], the heat worked fine. Heat working or not, the tiled bathroom floors can be VERY cold. The tile floors were certainly freezing this weekend, albeit it was -15f outside.

I understand the place is designed for guests to be independent [there is no front desk, just an onsite manager]. It would be nice, for the price of the rooms, if there was always hot coffee in the great room. What's it take for the onsite manager to brew coffee 3 or 4 times a day? There are no coffee makers in the regular rooms, otherwise I wouldn't bring this up. I realize we could have made the coffee ourselves in the great room. But a little service would be nice.

As the other review pointed out, it can be a little noisy. One early morning [about 6 am], we thought someone was knocking loudly on our door. Actually, it was someone in the great room making noise, we assume making coffee, we guess. This place is not for light sleepers. We also found a couple of ants [two, to be exact], a bit of a surprise as we'd thought they'd be all dead from the cold.

We would stay here again, as we do like the rooms and location of being in a town [instead of a featureless condo].

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2009

Dear IT-expert, Thank you for your constructive critism! Due to your response and others; we have added free WiFi throughout, free long-distance telephone calls (within Continental US) and coffee pots in all the guest rooms. In addition, we did have a severe heating problem for about a month commencing with Christmas week. We are a brand new property with a state -of-art boiler system; one of the boilers had been turned off during construction by an overzealous sheetrocker- he turned a valve so that he could do a neater job- and we were unknowingly operating on one boiler for almost a month. It takes both boilers to keep the property warm and cozy and in lots of hot water for the rooms with jaccuzzis! We are very sorry this problem affected your stay with us. Thank you for your patronage and your comments, Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Alpine Lodge while visiting friends in North Creek and skiing at Gore Mountain. The Alpine was recently renovated from a 1950s motel into a Adirondack Style Lodge complete with a really nice great room with fireplace for the convenience of the guests. Our room was a nicely appointed room again in the Adirondack style with a great bed!. The manager was on site and and helped us with suggestions for dining and overall was accommodating. Rooms were new and clean. Great early morning place called Cafe Sarah just next door and up the street one building away barVino a really incredible wine bar and small plate restaurant. Both really complemented our stay at the Alpine. Would recommend to skiers as it is only 5 minutes from Gore Mountain.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank MABDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Booked this (new) hotel with wild anticipation of a brief family ski outing at Gore Mountain. Had high hopes because of the attractive website and photos. Baulked a little at the price, but thought we'd splurge and pay for the convenience and treat ourselves over Xmas break 2008. We stayed with 2 adults and 2 teens in one of the 2BR "suites", which only have 1 bath, BTW...

The place has a great location, but the good things about it stop there...

WE WERE PROFOUNDLY DISAPPOINTED !! At these prices, we expected much more. I cannot even describe all of the problems, but actually ended up making notes (there were so many)......
Cold shower water, no DVD player, no coffee/coffee filters/salt/pepper/paper towels/toilet paper. No mirrors except tiny on in bathroom, only one reading lamp in Master BR, LOUD (heard every footstep of the people constantly walking upstairs). Heat was radiant and fluctuated from 76 (set on 70) to 64. Phone cannot callout OR in (tried to call from outside and was told I "couldn't be connected to the room." A few "leftover hairs" on the toilet seat.... YIKES !

We had to constantly call the on-site manager to rectify all of these inconvenieces - finally gave up asking. Maybe they will eventually work the kinks out of this place, but unless they lower the prcies (unlikely), this is certainly not a "bang for the buck" place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank massimoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank krischelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, General Manager at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eurojuancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa D, General Manager at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frurasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Creek
1.0 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
117 reviews
6.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
62 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
81 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Address: 264 Main St, North Creek, NY 12853-2309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range: £128 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing