We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not 5 star”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Oh dear Karamboa, just not up to standard. Stayed 3 years ago and were impressed with the hotel and the level of service. Unfortunately, the standards have slipped together with the quality of the amenities.
A great shame as the people are fantastic and the island has great beaches and climate.
The system for booking the speciality restaurants may suit the hotel but certainly is not convenient for the guests.
With the choice that is available from other hotels, I don't think we will be returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,447
    2,512
    835
    203
    110
See reviews for
1,629
4,170
78
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,449)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The night before I was teaming with excitement as we reached the airport to check are bags in I knew it was finally here, sat in the airport bar with a vodka red bull at 8.45 am my holiday was in full flow,I noticed some people look at you funny when your drinking so early in the morning while their eating croissant and drinking coffee bet they didn't have as much fun as I did on there holiday lol anyway plane ride was good extra leg room I would suggest a must if you have long legs It looked most un pleasant to the people who didn't have it seats aren't so wide either, but it's only six hours so deal with it because the rewards are amazing.
Walking off the plane to the immense heat it hits you like you just opened your oven door and stuck your head in no joke and I had a jacket on and jogging pants on not the best idea ever I think I lost 2 stone before check in, the airport is tiny but it's perfect for what it is the hotel is literally 3-4 mins away you can see it when u get on the coach, check in was fast suitcases delivered to your room and your given your key and off you go.
The hotel itself is huge we got a little lost at first trying to locate our room,but a wonderful maid helped us, after we got sorted with cases we went straight to the beach which is right on the front of the hotel and is monitored all day which was a nice touch,we got to see a beautiful sunset and the stars at night were so clear I have never seen anything like it,the food in the restaurant is great something for everyone and different every night didn't get a chance to go to the other restaurants but people We spoke to said they were very nice all the hotel staff where very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble the way this holiday made me feel was like nothing I have felt before It's hard to describe you have to find out for yourself I recommend to anyone maybe not so much if you have children but for a couple it's perfect also if you decide to go to this location you must go on the 4 hour quad bike trip brilliant I think we got lucky when we went it was nearer to five hours long but we only had three couples on the trip

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and request a sea view - they are extremely accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dannyandbecky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this wonderful hotel. I had read some bad reviews prior to going and even discussed changing destination due to negative comments people had written. I am so glad I didn't as it was a wonderful holiday. I think some people moan for the sake of moaning and that is pretty sad really. Food was excellent, such a vast choice that we ate something different at every meal. Desserts were to die for . We much preferred to sit out side and did not have any problems with bugs etc. if you got there five minutes before restaurant opened you could always get outside seating. The staff are truely amazing - always smiling and so helpful. The hotel is very clean and staff are continuously keeping up to it. The pool was lovely and yes some tiles missing but didn't see anyone get injured at all and was no issue. Swim up bar is fabulous and definitely a hit with us. Sea was rough but amazing to see the high waves. On a negative note it was disappointing to see how much rubbish people left in the beach directly outside the hotel. We went for a beach BBQ with giggling gecko tours (see website for details) which was about 20 mins ride away (they collect you from hotel) and the beach was excellent and sea calm so we were able to swim. Check these guys out as all tours a lot cheaper than tompsons and cater for individual needs. Our flights both ways were great - we opted to pay for extra leg room and was well worth the money. They were more spacious than standard seating on long haul flights we have gone on. Flight staff were very helpful and friendly. We took our iPad with films we had downloaded and the 6 hours went very quickly. We had emailed hotel and asked for sea view and we they gave us a free room upgrade with a sea view. Please ignore the bad reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kath229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just returned from a fab week at this hotel!! Where to start? Firstly, the staff make you so welome, always smiling which sets every day off on the right foot. The rooms had everything you needed, except maybe tea and coffee facilities would have been good for that first morning drink,if not in the room then maybe a drink station on each floor. We had two minor room service requests which were acted on and resolved by the time we'd got back to our room. Very efficient service.
The food was very good both in quality and in variety. It was good to break up the week with a speciality restaurant.You have to remember everything is imported onto the island.
The pool area was very well set up, lots of beds and kept clean by all the staff as was the rest of the hotel, always cleaning. The pool bar was a real hit.Access to the beach was very good, and maintained and monitored .
The whole atmosphere was of relaxation- this was achieved hands down as far as we were concerned.
A note especially for the Sea Turtle catamaran crew- keep doing what they are doing as they are the best!!!
This is destination that will only improve more and more, and become more popular over the years to come.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor near the Wellness centre as they are nearer the pool and away from the children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaMurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Owing to the sheer size of the hotel this would be my idea of a really awful holiday during peak seasons.

The rooms are adequate however as stated in numerous reviews, this is not a 5* hotel but is reflected in the price. The building makes it impossible to have a lie in unless you are able to sleep in a semi-comatose state due to noise reverberating throughout the corridors. But the staff do make up for any shortfalls with their genuinely kind nature.

There have been several comments about the food being repetitive however with the choice on offer this only needs to be the case if you choose to eat chips and pizza on a daily basis as the hotel does rotate the food on a daily basis.

There are two indoor Jacuzzis, male and female saunas. However the gym is another story as this needs a full overhaul with 5 cardio machines of which only 3 are fully working.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel but if you prefer a quieter destination, go off season or choose another location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank smcinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Living in cold Scandinavia, my wife and I usually try to get at least a week of sun and warmth every winter. We´ve made a number of trips to north Africa, Egypt, Tunisia, Jordan and Morocco, mostly because of the reasonable length of flights. But since the "Arabic Spring", these countries are off our list for a long, long time! What to do? Canary Islands? Been there, done that! Suddenly we discovered a trip to the Cape Verde island of Boa Vista! Said and done! All inclusive, nothing much to see, good weather, what more to ask for when you just want to get away from it all? We were enthralled! Windy, yes. Warm, yes. Sunny, yes. Good food, YES! Friendly people, YES! Perhaps the greatest difference from the north African and Middle East countries, we earlier visited, was the friendly staff, and female staff! Proud, beautiful, professional, considerate and smiling staff! What a difference from the arrogant, hostile and all-male staff we more than once encountered in the aforementioned counties. Never again, but Capo Verde has a given place on our winter schedule for many years to come!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Went with Thompson, as usual they shoveled their bull about it being a 5*, its 3*, very hot and very sunny. You'll find it easy to top up that leathery tan if that's what you want. There were some odd meals, lots of guess work, everything was hydrated as the island really has no water.

Aircon goes off in the middle of the night to save money, but if you've got it on early it should stay cool in your room. I can't say the stay was bad apart from the blatant lies of Thompson. We enjoyed it. The entertainment team were something to behold. The late night shows are funny. Be warned though its so bad its good.

Drinks etc were pretty poor, as everything needs to be shipped in and as such the cheaper the better it seems. Shame the economy hasn't taken off. Usual manufactured art shipped over from the mainland and "artists put the finishing touches" their name in black on the painting for you.

We did a jeep tour.......what can I say the early part was good, the later part in the back of a 4x4 to see the shipwreck was like driving across mars. Exactly the same!

We went to the local town via boat, brilliant idea as we ended up zooming up the beach on the speed boat to land. Loved it.

We are gutted we missed the turtles and whales. Point to note that some of the beaches are filthy even the turtle breeding ones. That are apparently so important. I'd love to see more roads and conservation efforts to help the turtles.

Hotel staff were friendly and up to typical Riu standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view somewhere quiet. We sent an email before going and it got answered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 62andyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
3.5 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
90 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
7,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,890 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
#4 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,839 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solacyber
Solacyber
#2 of 9 in Sal Rei
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Riu Karamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Riu Karamboa

Property: Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Address: Lote HO 1, Urb. Morrinho de Baguincho | Praia de Boca Salina, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clubhotel Riu Karamboa 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island Boavista in the Cape Verde Islands. 2-Storey main building and 3-storey annexes. Situated on the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach. 7 Km to Sal Rei. 1,5 Km from the airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clubhotel Riu Karamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Hotel Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Cape Verde/Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing