We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

If you want to totally chill out this is the place to be, not alot going on outside the hotel, area very barren. The staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you, so helpful, friendly and genuine. Food is excellent, spoilt for choice. Lots going on in around the hotel during the day and entertainment in the evening not too bad. Hotel right on the beach, just a slope to access beach, might be a problem if you have mobility problems though as a steep incline. Afew excursions available and offer good value for money. If you like reading then take books as they don't have many there. Also pick up your duty free before you go

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bahamas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    783
    198
    51
    26
See reviews for
553
905
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

I was a little worried to read some of the previous reviews about wind, rain and other discomforts as these were exactly the sort of things we were hoping to get a break from. I needn't have worried - the Iberostar was everything we hoped for and more. You do need to remember a few basics before travelling to Boa Vista:
- Cape Verde is a developing African nation and therefore the infrastructure is not geared to people who want good roads, a wide choice of food, sophisticated entertainment etc.
- The weather is wet in September/October. This is the only rain Boa Vista gets all year. Don't go then if you want unbroken sunshine!
- The sea around Boa Vista is the Atlantic. It isn't as warm as the Caribbean and it it pretty windy a lot of the time. It is great for kite surfing, pretty poor for snorkelling (try the Maldives), and the red flag flew every day we were there. However it is very clean, turquoise blue and spectacular.

What Boa Vista offers is amazing light, sunshine, superb dunes and deserts, interesting birds, friendly people, miles and miles of the most incredible beaches and the opportunity to walk and sit and get a break from work and February in England. No snakes, no scorpions and remarkably few insects.
We liked the Iberostar. No, there were not loads of sofas etc, and the music for the aquarobics was a bit loud, but we had a room overlooking the pool and - even though I am an incredibly light sleeper - we slept well every night. Not a sound after 11pm apart from the sea and cicadas.

My only criticism of the beaches is that there are a few too many quad bikes and a few idiotic people riding them. The only criticism of the Iberostar was the expensive internet access - but I didn't find the lack of internet for the week that much of a hardship!

My recommendation is go now before mass tourism starts - the new hotel in the South-East of the island, due to open in July this year, is going to have 2000 rooms and a metalled road is being planned to whisk guests straight from the airport. And when you go, take at least one of the trips, sit out at the back of the 4x4, take in the heat and the dust - and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank banham-canary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Noise, noise, noise must be the Iberostar motto. There is nowhere at this hotel that one can get away from it (except one's room if you are lucky enough to be away from the centre of the complex.). There is blaring music in reception, in the canteen, and round the pool - often coming from two directions at once.
My wife and I spent 2 weeks here for a relaxing break but there was nothing relaxing about the place.
In addition, apart from 2 sofas and a few chairs there was nowhere inside to sit comfortably for a hotel with 276 rooms. This hotel is on a cliff exposed to the winds but there was no provision for windbreaks. At times there were high winds or a chill in the evenings and one did not always want to sit outside in upright plastic chairs. Likewise on the beach there was no provision for windbreaks and the loungers were made of a very hard plastic – very uncomfortable – and those trying to use the beach had to stack the chairs or turn them on their sides to try to avoid a sand blasting.
The only redeeming feature about this hotel is that the staff were courteous and tried to help at all times and rooms were properly cleaned every day.
This was the first and last time we will stay at an Iberostar hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelreview2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We booked the Iberostar because we couldn't get into the Riu Karamboa for our entire 2 week trip. My expectation was that it wasn't going to be good because the Karamboa had better reviews. How wrong I was.

We absolutely loved the Iberostar, the staff were incredible and made a real effort to remember our names. They took the time to interact and play with our 17 month ol son at every opportunity, which he loved.

The food was great and there was a good variety including local dishes. The fresh fish was better than any I had ever eaten in top restaurants.

The rooms were comfortable and have everything you could need. You have to pay extra to use the safe which I thought was an unnecessary add on.

Th animacion (activities) team were fantastic. We couldn't believe how hard the worked (13 hour days) but seemed to love their jobs. They were great fun and spent a lot of time
playing with our son. He loved th mini disco every night.

My only complaint is that the Internet was expensive (€20 for 24 hours) because I needed to work whilst I was away as I am an Internet marketing consultant. The Karamboa was around the same price though.

Because of the reviews for the Karamboa being better we had arranged for our 2nd week to be spent there. We transferred there via a fantastic off road taxi experience over the sand dunes.

The Karamboa is visually impressive but for us it was our worst nightmare. The place is simply too big and it feels so impersonal. I compared it to Las Vegas, where if you stood still on the strip you would get knocked down by the people.

We simply couldn't relax because our son would have disappeared if we ever took our eyes off him for a second. We contacted the Iberostar and the manager kindly came and collected us. Credit to the Karamboa, Rosi at reception went the extra mile to arrange our
refund. And they were very understanding.

If you're looking for a relaxing break and a warm welcome, good food and as much or as little activity as you could want. Book the Iberostar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BradleyLong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel from 24 Nov until 2 Dec. The hotel was quite and peacefull and the beach was empty. The food although not ther berst Iwe have had was good and plentiful with fresh cooked mains along side buffet style as well. During our stay we got delayed due to the snow in Gatwicj=k and had to transfer to the Thompson RUI hotel up, the road. This was just like a cattlle market with feedingt time a frenzy. I am glad we satyed at te Iberostar. Our only complaint bwould be lack of relaxing bar area for the evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

We enjoyed our holiday.
You must remember that Boa Vista is an emerging holiday destination. It is very poor.
The hotel was lovely, quiet, fantastic location above the beach with wonderful sunsets. The animation staff all worked very hard - although quite amature, they tried hard and were friendly.
We found that the majority of guests were German and that is the language the staff were most proficient at (except Creole and Portuguese of course). The waiting and bar staff could do with learning to smile more even if they don't understand English!
Food was very boring after 2 weeks and would have been great to having something less bland, however, you must remember that all food has to be imported. Don't bother with the special restaurant.
Lovely pools and sunbeds always available.
We had a problem with very noisy air con and were moved to another room after complaining (for 3 days). Aurora was very considerate once we'd asked to see her (Manager).
We went on 3 trips - the 2 hour quad bike is probably better than 4 hour. The island day trip was informative, but htere really isn't alot to see!
Our rep Ronny from Boa Vista Experience was excellent; always smiling and helpful.
We probably won't visit again, mainly because there are so many other destinations.
Worst part of the holiday was the plane - no leg room which for a 6 hour flight was no fun at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

The Iberostar is a nice, quiet hotel, very close to a beautiful beach.

Our room was clean with a fridge in it (no tea or coffee facilites). The bed was 2 single beds pushed together, but with 2 single sheets on it.

The pool was lovely and clean, and it was generally very quiet. The pool bar was close by which was great for cool drinks.

The beach was massive, with white sand and very quiet. The sea was lovely and clear, although could be quite rough. The hotel provides beach towels.

The food was ok. There was a good selection, however it was quite bland and because it was a buffet is wasn't always that hot. There was plenty of fresh fruit and the pizza was lovely.

We did 2 trips. A 4 hour quad bike tour to Santa Monica beach. This was amazing and I would encourage people to be it. It was great fun and the deserted 18km beach was stunning.

We did a morning on a catamaran around a local island. It was very relaxing, we were given the opportunity to snorkel, but the wasn't that many fish to see.

Overall it was a brilliant holiday. It was very quiet, hot and relaxing. Great if you don't want to do much!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Racho23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
5.1 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#4 of 5 in Sal Rei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,752 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Boa Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
Address: Playa Areja de Chaves, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is an All Inclusive 5-star resort in Cape Verde located along the beautiful beach of Chaves. Set against a backdrop of unparalleled beauty, this hotel for couples and families will surprise the guest with a range of leisure activities for all ages and gastronomy to please the most educated palates. Holidays in Cape Verde at the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel allow you to discover a place as exotic as it is surprising. Chaves beach, a unique enclave.The top IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is located right on the beautiful Chaves beach in a landscape of spectacular charm. It’s the perfect choice for visitors to enjoy a relaxing holiday in Cape Verde surrounded by spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. Wide range of all-inclusive gastronomy. Restaurants and bars in the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel will overwhelm the guest with a delicious range of local and international dishes and an extensive menu of drinks and delicious cocktails. The sounds of Cape Verde, live for you. Three evenings a week, the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista puts on a unique live music show. Get seduced by the most genuine sounds of Cape Verde, right from the keyboard of our pianist, in our poolside bar. Family vacations in Cape Verde. The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is a family resort whose range of entertainment and facilities are specially geared for children, with a children’s swimming pool, mini-disco, Mini-Club, etc. The hotel also has a kitesurfing school (charge applies). Fun at this 5-star Cape Verde hotel is always assured. Premium Wi-Fi. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to six devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing