We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Brilliant spot.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is in a brilliant spot overlooking the sea which was quite a way out. Lots of beach but a little way out. The entertainment staff were always doing things and wanting you to join in, brilliant if you speak French or German. There didn't seem to be any English spoken but they did try when you told them you weren't French. The majority were French and also German. We didn't understand what was going on during the day because they never spoke English which was rather annoying at times. There were quite a few of us who felt the same. Some joined in the activities but didn't know what to do because it was all in French. I mentioned this to our rep who didn't seem bothered. The staff were all really helpful and always asking what you wanted to drink at meal times. There was always plenty of food and drinks at every meal time. There are not enough sun beds for the amount of rooms and everyone went down with towels at 7am as it was the only way you could get one. English as well. Not a good thing to have to do but no other way to get a bed. The pools are huge which was a bonus as it was far too hot for us, I have never been as hot in my life. Spent most of the time cooling off in water.

Room Tip: The rooms on line with the reception are very good and quiet. We were no. 842
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eunice38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    856
    259
    80
    53
See reviews for
412
1,089
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Me, my boyfriend and little boy have just got back from a 2 week stay at the royal decameron. We had a fantastic holiday, staff were great, rooms were clean, food was good always something to eat and the island is lovely. Although not much to do there for the little ones there are trips and things to go on for older children and adults. It does rain if you plan on going in September however it didn't spoil our holiday as it was a break, when it's hot it's really hot and the breeze they get is very welcome. Staff worked round the clock at the hotel and yes they are cape verdian so they are laid back and they don't stress! But it's all part of what makes it a lovely place to stay. Previous reviews which say the entertainment staff don't speak English are rubbish we felt they made an effort everyday with us and the announcements were done in 4-5 different languages so you just had to listen for your own. There aren't many English people that stay here but it doesn't matter too much it's only because we don't go! I would recommend it to anyone to go there but it's a relaxing holiday not a non stop one ! If you get chance bob into the local sal rei town it will give you an eye opener into what we have and they really don't :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PippaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Lovely place great beach and that is it no where else outside the complex the beach can be really windy and you get sand blasted.You can never get a sun bed by pool unless you get the towels on them by 6 am as the Germans, French. Italians claim them all as they do. Entertainment ! or lack of it ! Show Time was only dancing same every night they were good but becomes boring night after night. The staff that do the entertainment only seem to like the French Germans and Italians as they go around talking to them and never talk to the English or walk straight past you as if you were not even there very rude people! when they speak on the microphone again never in English as if we did not exist, we spoke to other English people and they felt the same, like outcasts we did not like it. Food was okay you could find something to eat. We would not go back to Boa Vista they do not like the English and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed at the RD between the 4th-18th of September and had a brilliant time. The Hotel was just the right size for us, having previously stayed at the RUI in Sal. The location of this hotel was perfect and sea views could be seen from almost everywhere.The food was great with lots of variety. Pool beds were all taken on most days so we tended to laze on the beach which we preferred anyway. The beach was beautifull and stretched for miles. The sea was rough at times but not so strong that you couldn't go in for a swim. The entertainment staff were brilliant and so hardworking. We did the 4hr quads which was great fun and also the best way to see the island. Boa vista is quite an under developed/sleepy island so if you are a bit of a party animal then this is not the place for you. All in all, this was a perfect holiday for relaxing and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4326stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Rooms, restaurant,pool area, beach all good. Entertainment staff were hilarious at times and the big shows in the evening were brilliant. Dancing was really professional and costumes were amazing. Watch out for the lamp units outside rooms. I leant against one and it collapsed leaving me with serious cuts, abrasions and a puncture hole in a very tender part of my rear abdomen. Rather worrying when there is no medical help at all. I survived , however and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband & i have been back for just over a week now & we still cannot stop talking about the superb holiday we have just had.If you want total relaxation than this is the place.Ok we did have a few storms but you can never predict the weather & it never stopped us from lazing about by the pool which sometimes was a laugh with other guest.Daytime around the pool there was always something going on by the entertainment staff so you could either join in or just chill there was no pressure.Food was excellent so much choice for everyone even if you are a vegetarian.Once a week the hotel would put on a managers cocktail party which we thought was very good as managers mingle with the guest well impressed with that.Hotel in general very clean staff work round the clock.If you ask would we go back to the Royal Decameron the answer would be yes loved every minute of it didnt want to come home.The only thing i would say was evening entertainment think would of been better by the pool as you had bar near & at peak times more staff behind the bars as they can get busy & having to wait for quite a while apart from that holiday was a well chilled one brilliant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 423 far end of complex over looking the sea superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an amazing week at the Royal Decameron on Boa Vista.

There are lots of reviews on here which speak of the various things on offer and how they didn't like them. My wife and I loved all of it.

The entertainment team were excellent - especially the blue team that the hotel employers aside from the Look Voyages french entertainment team.

The hotel is aimed at the more active holiday maker. We both played the sports that were organised - water polo, beach volleyball, football etc.

it was a great way to bring Europeans together, whilst playing Volleyball the score was translated and re-translated into french, Portuguese, German, English, Polish...truly European.

The entertainment team work really hard getting things organised and it is great fun to join in. Quite where these guys find the energy to entertain during the day then dance at night is beyond me.

Showtimes in the evenings were really good, especially the dances of the Cape Verdian islands this was a great show and nice to see the cultural differences on these great small islands.
The french team were not as good dancers though they did try.

As other reviews have stated there is music played much of the day though much of it is relaxing, especially when the stretching and abs classes are on in a morning and over lunch. There is a quiet pool which we didn't not use.

Food - great, fresh, quality, plentiful - really good. They also do measure portions on things which are cut in front of you such as Raw fish (caught that afternoon) and beef/pork joints. this is so that food (freshly grown on the island for this hotel) is not wasted. I strongly back this. I hate food waste.

Drinks - all the soda and water you would ever want, the service was slow at the bar and they do serve in an odd order at busy times (especially after the showtime)

Nightclub - bit of a youth club feel though they do love to dance. Saturday nights are big nights for cape verdians so the party continues late into the night.

Beach - endless sands, good sand too. the Sun loungers are good too, though some could do with updating. Espeically good that you can drag them to the waters edge and listen to the waves crashing in.

Sea - the waves can get quite powerful - be careful.

Rooms - we were in room 446, ideally located right below the steps to the pool area. The rooms I did here were laid out in a funny way and there is no indicators to find your own way. The people we met who had a living room did complain about the local brown crockroaches coming into the room, though these are very timid creatures and not horrid looking like the big nasty european ones.

Weather - when it is hot it is hot, when it rains it rains especially in September. you would get an inch downpour in 20 minutes then it would be sunny and hot again. the hotel does need to look at its drainage and how to minimise flooding. One night i even picked up a squidy and helped sweep the water away. all part of the fun.

Gym - needs updating though everything you need. more weights than cardio. Be aware though that the treadmill decrease speed buttons don't work!

We both had a lovely time and thoroughly rested by being active. There is a relaxing holiday to be hard here too, the entertainment team are not pushy and will go away if you ask them.

Room Tip: Sea views are amazing. I would ask for not a living room as the people we met with one were not happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YorkshireSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,244 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
7,810 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Boa Vista
Hotel Boa Vista
#6 of 9 in Sal Rei
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizons Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizons Boa Vista

Property: Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizons Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizons Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing