We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Mind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Wool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Open Mind”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fab time at the Decameron after reading reviews before we left we still went with an open mind...the flight is as expected just under six hours and no frills..Airport is cozy and slow..Bus trip from airport was about 10 mins and the first view of the sea is lovely..Check in was fine and suitcases where taken to our room which was 838 just a short up hill walk from reception, main bar and restaurant..Our room was huge (2 rooms both with balconies) a kitchenette with fridge, sink and suitable bath with shower.
The grounds are well thought out with most rooms having a sea view as it is like a tier situation..Views from main bar are glorious across the sea to Sal Rei and the Rui..
Main Pool loungers were taken quite early, mostly by 7am..I think the quiet pool was about the same time..But plenty available at the beach and quiet area of the beach..
The main restaurant food was varied though out our 11 nights..
Huge choice for breakfast..Lunch also had plenty of choice and evening meals although mostly chicken, tuna and vegetarian food was still varied..Seafood section was really nice..And all the restaurant staff were genuine and helpful..The beach bar was nice but limited choice during the day..we didn't eat there in the evening because we had to book..
Service in the main bar was a little slow due to lots of coffee making..
The daily show is worth watching once but French is the first language (of which we had no problem with)
Reception staff were always helpful..
The hotel staff were constantly cleaning and in return it was spotless, clean towels, sheets, grounds etc..The cats seemed to be doing there job well as we seen little sign of unwanted guests..
I recommend a visit to Sal Rei for a change of scenery, locals are friendly but do understand the word no..10 Euro Taxi fare both ways..
All in all I would say do your research, it is windy in Cape Verde and travel with an open mind...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Roda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    839
    251
    80
    52
See reviews for
399
1,074
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I do not want to repeat comments of other guests: location, beach, food, service, ... everything was ok. Just one important note: The person responsible for music in main pool area:

1. has serious ear disease OR
2. is pure idiot who hates everybody else OR
3. works on secret project with KGB with goal to kill as much people as possible with noise.

There are only two ways how to present music in Decameron - loud or louder. Unfortunately, the beautiful beach is interrupted by constant noise too. As I understand from other comments, I am not the only one but management of hotel do not care or probably do not read forums like this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I returned from a one week holiday on 31.01.14 as a single traveller to Boa Vista Royal Decameron Hotel. The Thomson flight was good and although I was not travelling as a Thomson client, their staff were very helpful and considerate. Accommodation OK and the food was good and varied. Too much French emphasis on the entertainment side of things. An enjoyable time which ticked most of the boxes for me. and I would recommend it to friends but do not travel alone as I found it difficult to meet up with other British visitors (never normally a problem for me !)and consequently felt a bit isolated.

Room Tip: I was in room 603 - a good quiet location with a sea view and fairly easy access to the nearby beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Arrived back from the Royal Decameron on Wednesday evening after a happy and relaxing two week break. If you want lots of interesting places to visit, a great shopping experience or a sea where you can safely swim most of the time, then don't go to Boa Vista at all. However, if you want to chill out in a relaxed and happy atmosphere, eat excellent food at every meal and sleep in a really clean, comfortable bed, in a clean and comfortable room,then go for it.
There were a couple of set backs, in that we believe one of the maids stole some costume jewellery from our room, but I did leave it out in full view, so partly my fault I suppose! Also my husband experienced a 36 hour tummy upset, as did one of the people we became friends with whilst there, but myself and our friend's husband were fine.
Also in reply to the comment that the place was noisy, yes it was in parts, after all many people were there to have fun, but there were sufficient places to go to escape and find peace, quiet and relaxation, which we and our friends took advantage of. Personally I don't see how it is possible for the main restaurant to be quiet, bearing in mind the number of guests wanting to eat, but the trick was in the timing, if we went early the place was reasonably quiet. Also the Italian restaurant for lunch and a pre booked dinner was perfectly peaceful and in a great location by the beach. All in all a great holiday worth the discomfort of the flights,(but Thomson, don't take this as a an endorsement for your pack 'em in and herd 'em up like cattle modus operandi).

Room Tip: We were in Room 631,which was in the quieter part near the beach and this suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great Thompsom Flight, not too long.

Arrived at resort to find a lovely elevated view of the resort and beach.

Immediate thoughts, great!

Staff were helpful, but middle management seemed to be oblivious to the absolute racket
every day at breakfast, lunch and evening meal times.

We dined outside as often as we could bear to (Beautiful views).
Loud boom boom music accompanied by over excited staff screaming and shouting
to get people to play volley ball, darts, or just make a noise.

Even on the beach it was the same, constant interruptions when trying to relax.

The beach beds were 50 % broken, with a shortage of matts to put on the beds.
Most of the matts had foam sticking out from the ripped seams all a bit tired.

Genuinely a well designed resort, very good food, nice staff.

Room was lovely- all though very tired decor and the fridge was disgusting(Never cleaned inside).

Would not re-visited due the noise issue.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms(More like little chalets) seemed to be well designed, by being elevated and steppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel was first class 3 star hotel, management and staff were friendly, and the place was clean and tidy at all times. Clean sheets and towels daily. Yes there were broken tiles around the pool, there were cockroaches around the place, where is also rips in the pool lining, which I feel you will find in most hotels in a hot/warm climate.
What let it down was the missing or lack of information from Thomson Holidays.
First it’s not a long haul flight as some of their web pages lead you believe (some now changed to Mid/Long haul. we believe we were travelling in a long haul dream liner air craft, but we did not. The plane was smaller, no entertainment system, no drink (of any type) with the purchased on board meal (which was over cooked and dry). We read that the Airline included in the price of the ticket the visa required for entry into Cape Verde, what they did not tell you until after the booking was made what each person was required to pay a tourist tax of 2 euro per person per day, up to a maximum of 20 euro each. Also note that due to the smaller air craft the hold luggage is only 15Kgs each not the standard 20kgs, (that you get on some shorter flights) but you can buy 5Kgs extra.
So, booking your seats, extra 5kgs, tourist tax (not a VISA), drink with your meal you paid for are all extra's you need to consider, Thomson airways, you need to rethink your pricing policy. you are not a budget airline, don’t act like one!
something else Thomson say’s on its website is ask the rep in the resort your question, so I did, only to find that is was not the resort rep that replied.
We then found out that you had to buy bottled water at 2 euro per bottle, (if you wanted bottle water), understanding that most A/I have point around the hotel for guest to refill their own bottles. The hotel had these in the restaurants, but signs were in place telling you that filling bottles was not allowed. Water was available at the bars by the glass, was the answer by the Thomson rep, also you can get as many glasses as you like to fill you bottle!!!!! I think that the water in the pumps at the restaurants is possible disseminated water, due to the salty taste. Those that have a medical condition please be aware of this.
Thomson motto should be ‘Pay your money and take a chance’ I will not be taking any more chances with you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kurtRclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We travelled to Boa Vista on Monday 20th January for a seven day all inclusive break. We were not disappointed with the hotel and location. The hotel is situated right on the beach and has lots of in-house entertainment going on all day and evening. The guests are mainly French and then an even spread of other Europeans, which we liked. We chose this hotel and location as we were in need of a relaxing holiday and this certainly fitted the bill. It is true, there is nothing else close to the hotel to do but relax on the beach, surf or swim in the Atlantic, make the most of the fantastic pool, or join in with the French at play. Not to mention eat as much as you like and drink as much as you like. I would give the hotel 10 out of 10 for cleanliness, staff attitude, food and entertainment. My big complaint with Thomsons is the flight. What is that all about. No leg room whatsoever, unless you pay a massive supplement. My husband is over 6' and really struggled with the seats. We asked if we could take up the two spare extra leg room seats (which we had already tried to purchase, but because of a 'not so helpful' courier, we didn't manage to acquire before we flew home) to be told that because there was no facility on board to pay for these seats we couldn't have them. It was obvious that my husband was struggling. Goodness knows what would have happened if he had to get into the brace position, just not possible. So Thomsons why let yourselves down, come on - we are not all 5' 0' - how about a little more leg room or priority for tall, people not people with lots and lots of money!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay a small extra amount for the sea view, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,110 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
7,593 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Boa Vista
Hotel Boa Vista
#5 of 9 in Sal Rei
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizons Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizons Boa Vista

Property: Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizons Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizons Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing