We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta
Ranked #8 of 13 Santa Maria B&B and Inns
glasgow scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Traveled with friends, Jim & Wendy.
Arrived 22/1/14 had booked two weeks A/L. We stayed one night & could not wait to move out of the subura. This is more a backpackers hostel. We were given room 109 on the ground floor. This room had a very bad smell of damp, no hot water & no plug for the wash basin. We contacted our Thomson rep & asked to be moved immediately, however this was not possible as head office was in Spain & was closed. We had no option to stay for one night. The food at subura was absolutely disgusting, neither of our party of 4 had anything to eat, the restraunts was swarming with flies & very canteen like. Next morning all we had was dry toast & that was only because I could make that myself. While we waited to be moved across the road to Riu Garopa I asked for a coffe from the machine only to be told I would need to wait for a cup as there was not enough to go round, the staff eventually got me a cup & proceeded to wash it in the sink & dryed it with a bed sheet, yes a bed sheet, needless to say I declined the coffee.
There is nothing appealing about this hotel & found management was not interested in there guests, however the staff in general were all very good & did try to meet any request.
I would not recomend this hotel for a two week stay as there is very little to do other than walk or get taxi into Santa Maria. The surrounding area is very barren with no pleasant views.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    17
    13
    12
See reviews for
4
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently stayed at Sabura with a friend. Both of us found the staff there friendly and they would always go out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable.
The hotel is 3 star so if you need posh don't stay here. That said it was clean comfortable and quiet. We had everything we needed and more. The food was great with a buffet breakfast and three course meal options for lunch and dinner. I have silly allergies and my friend is a vegetarian and they worked around us really well.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptoegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel Sabura 3 star ??? Good points its clean, sorry mean good point.
Food not good, we were all inclusive but had to eat out everynight.
Twice during the week they run out of white wine, we also didnt know there was a bar above the dinning room, until a another guest told us.
The room was basic but did have a bed so not so bad, the shower was cold, tv did not work, and no plug for the sink ?
The pool was only half full, ok if your only 3ft tall.
I could go on, but i think you know what im saying, try somewhere else

Room Tip: Go to a diffrent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel Sabura is a very restful place to stay. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, food average and adequate. Only draw back it is a very windy place. Otherwise we recommend it to any one who wishes to have a relaxing holiday. Pam and Bob W

Room Tip: Very quiet for all aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Still here actually! Pro's: clean comfortable, good food and drink, friendly helpful staff. Staff work hard all day maintaining the accommodation inside and out. Near to town, close to the beach. Town is a 30 minute walk away. Staff English and other languages is as good if not better than island locals, despite other traveller reviews.
Cons: wifi is available but provided by a third party who are crap. My iPad wont logout of a 5euro for an hour voucher and the company blame the devices. Not good enough reception either so check first if you absolutely need wifi. Communicating the mealtimes and all-inclusive stuff could be better but communication on various basic facts isn't confined to the hotel. That is, we found we had to ask specific questions that other destination hotels would give you a booklet on, all in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentishsheepkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel Sabura is a good low cost option for staying on Sal.

That said, I would avoid at all costs going Full Board (we were B&B) as the dining room has a very depressing ambiance and there are many far nicer places to eat in the local town which is around a 15min walk or EUR 4 taxi trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel and am amazed by some of the comments. The hotel was spotless, all areas cleaned every day. The staff were so friendly and helpful in all areas. The food was basic but a choice of fish, meat, veggie on every course + they would willingly cook something else if asked. There were no problems with the pool, or pool area. As in most hot countries the paint was a bit flaky here & there but was being repaired as an ongoing project. It was a 15 minute walk to central Santa Maria, or 3 euros in a cab, so ideal location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,471 reviews
0.4 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Funana
ClubHotel Riu Funana
#5 of 20 in Santa Maria
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta

Property: Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta
Address: Urbanizacao de Ponta Preta 2E, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing