We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Yanis the manager was very helpful and friendly along with the other staff who were more than pleased to help and look after us during our stay. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The apartment block is very close to the beach and all the facilities in Santa Mari. A continental Breakfast is brought to your room everyday which was a nice touch. Value for money I don’t think you will get much better for its position. We only had one key though for the front door and our room which did cause problems for one of us getting into the building at night unless we were together. The showers in the rooms in their day I'm sure were very good but now they are poor and make showering a bit of a problem. The kitchens need better cooking utensils and we were unable to cook in ours due to this which was a shame. However we did not ask for more utensils as we were happy to eat out in the end. We looked at some other places on the beach during our stay for the same price but they were very small and also had their own set of problems. You have to remember that you are not paying for a 5 star hotel and you cannot expect everything to be perfect. But if you want great staff and a comfortable stay you will not do wrong booking an apartment at Aquamarina.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a little noisy due to the main road but the only difference between the rooms...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Aquamarine Suites where had a really great time! From arrival and through the full duration of our stay the owner, manager and staff were so helpfull and friendly. There was no tv or wifi but arrival but we were asked if we wanted a tv (we declined) we had no need for wifi but when we needed to check our departure flight time and send a couple of emails the manager let us use his computer in the reception instead of sending us to an internet cafe!

The room was clean and large and we had a great view of the ocean! - a couple of cosmetic issues (no mirror in the bathroom and a few wires hanging out precariously) but remember you are technically in Africa and its all part of the experience! Two minutes from the beach, 2 minutes from restuarants and bars - and not above a bar so very quiet. Santa Maria is a cool place to spend a week, the tourist information hut below the appartments are also brilliant and have loads of information on the island and whats good to see!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyB770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Beware of this Hotel! The accommodation appears to be quite pleasant, but many of the claims were not met, no wifi at all, TV not working, inadequate utensils and breakfast. Firstly, we were asked for payment in full on arrival, this is unprecedented! The credit card machine did not work so I was 'escorted' to the bank to obtain cash the next day. This is when we should have refused and gone elsewhere, since there are much better options in Santa Maria. However we complied and of course we then had to make the best of it. The owners have a very 'cheese-paring' attitude, and ignored our requests to sort out the electrics in our apartment (the kettle etc could not be plugged in anywhere due to incompatible plugs/sockets) but finally gave in when we reported that we were getting electric shocks from the shower! The standard of workmanship and maintenance in the kitchen area and bathroom was frankly laughable. I did see two cockroaches. The towels were not changed in two weeks. We were offered another apartment which was similar but with a safer shower. We did not expect luxury for the price, but here there was a lack of basic items, for example we had to ask for a hair dryer.

Definitely not recommended, but maybe OK if you are pushed. You should preview the suite carefully, refuse to pay in advance, and re-negotiate the price!

Room Tip: Get an email verification of claimed features and payment options. Inspect the rooms carefully and m...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Twentyknots2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at the Aquamarine Suites from 19th till 23rd October, 2011. A warm and cosy place to enjoy a holiday. The beach is exactly a 3 minutes walk. They have an exquisite Indian restaurant where the food tasted as if you were in India. Rooms are comfortable. The bars & restaurants are all close by (5 minutes walk). Had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I and my wife went to Cabo Verde with friends last month. We actually lived a few years in Cabo Verde around year 1985, but lost all ours contacts there and that time the Internet was not in the air.
I was searching the web to find accommodation after our arrival to Ilha do Sal and saw new apart hotel Aquamarina Suites and send a short email. Very fast got a friendly reply from Monica Daswani the owner and got immediately that feeling we were welcome to be their guests. After a few emails they offered me to arrange domestic flight tickets because we couldn’t buy them online. To make a long story short They actually bought four flight ticket for us on their own budget and we just paid them a day after we arrived. Then we happen to know they just opened the Hotel and we were the first guests.
They also have offered new baked bread on the doorstep every morning. On ground floor they also running the best Indian Restaurant I ever had a dinner. Ashok and Monica Daswani owners of Aquamarina Suites are very friendly and helpful people running excellent Hotel in friendly atmosphere in very nice and quiet place.
Ashok and Monica thanks for everything.
Gudmundur Kristjansson and Halldora, Jens and Kristin from Iceland

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gudmundur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontao
Hotel Pontao
#15 of 20 in Santa Maria
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection

Address: Rua 1 de Junho 175 | Santa Maria, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 123, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range: £51 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally, in the very heart of the Atlantic Ocean lies an enchanting place that will make you live quite an experience: Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection. On the Macaronesian island of Sal (Portuguese for “salt”) in Cape Verde, we find this resort that doubtlessly is a dreamy location to relax and get lost. Surrounded by an astonishing landscape, Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection disposes of 23 cozy rooms and a restaurant. The interior design evokes the sea: the decoration follows the zen lines with oriental elements, so that you can find the peace and the harmony to fully enjoy your vacations. Naturally, the charming indoor patio is the place to rest in the comfortable furnishing while the sunlight reaches you from above. Located in the fishing town of Santa María, Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection is not only one step away from the paradisiacal waters, but also in a touristic enclave offering a great gastronomic choice and leisure activities. As the inhabitants of this exceptional island, this is how our staff is: hospitality and naturalness are the essence of the service and the treat we offer you. Spectacular views and a lovely location: this is all you need to enjoy a perfect vacation on a piece of Africa in the middle of the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing