We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, very spacious, well-located… rooms a little spartan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Friendly, very spacious, well-located… rooms a little spartan”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Being a freelance, more often than not when I travel, I bring work with me so I like to have a desk and a lot of light, ideally an internet connection. I booked Aquamarinas for three nights as part of a flight+hotel package, before venturing on solo to São Vicente and Santo Antão. Santa Maria is a small town on the south coast of Sal, and the suites are wonderfully located one street from the beach. The manager and various staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful - checking domestic flights were running on time, organising taxis, tours etc. I was booked into the one-bedroom deluxe suite which is vast - a large kitchenette/living room on one floor with a huge bedroom and bathroom upstairs. There is an external balcony off the living room (being a rear-suite, there was no view), and an internal balcony upstairs.

The place was clean and well furnished, though the decoration was less elegant and less carefully decorated than the communal areas, which have a Bali feel (statues of the Buddha, wood carvings, etc, which dovetail neatly with the Indian restaurant "Bombay Brasserie"on the ground floor). The living room is large and airy, the dining table offered a good place to work, there was a comfortable sofa, etc - there is no TV, etc, and though communal areas have free wi-fi, it did not extend to my room. The upstairs bedroom is huge - almost too big, since the bathroom is rather small. Linens and towels were clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom functional

This is very much an aparthotel rather than a hotel so rooms are not cleaned daily, toiletries (beyond hand soap, etc) are not provided. A buffet breakfast next door was included and was copious and rather good, otherwise the kitchenette had everything you might need to cook, make coffee etc.

All in all this is a perfectly pleasant place to be based if you're not looking to be pampered. The staff are helpful and though the room was not cheap (about €70 per night) given I was travelling solo, for a family it would have been made a very affordable option.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building (especially on the top floor) will have a view of the beach - tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terribleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
33
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Essentially the suites are very well located because they are very central and near the beach.
The rooms are big, clean bed, although the whole arrangement and cleanliness of the room could be improved.
Breakfast is modest but nice, especially the small rice's yogurt.
The entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Price / quality ratio for Sal is quite good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa_Vitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The staff are very efficient and friendly. Rooms are spacious and include a kitchen facility. Some rooms are in need of a little maintenance. The Indian restaurant next door is owned by the hotel and makes very nice food although by Cape Verde standards, it is a little expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel. The owners and the staff are lovely and helpful. The breakfast was rather bad though, and our 'Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with sea view' seemed not very luxuries (for example there was no hot water in the shower) and a view over some rubble and a sea far far far away. We payed almost as much for the hotel as we did for renting an apartment for a week with more room and better beds and sea view incl a pool.
However, the Goa inspired fish curry served in the restaurant was really really good!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiawaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We booked a junior suite sea view. We got an apartment with no view at all, the balcony looking at the neighborhood building. It was placed on the 3rd floor (no elevator, narrow stairs). Bedroom and bathroom was on the second floor of the apartment (4th of the building). Inside the apartment stairs were even more steep and narrow, obviously all luggage had to be carried up as wardrobes were upstairs.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, but only managers (one of them Katharina - really pleasant) spoke English.
Internet was supposed to be available at the public areas, but it was very poor coverage and often it did not work at all. Public area was dark after 19 because the hotel was saving energy. There was no place outside to sit in the evening and I already mentioned the balcony. The ones that had "sea view" were not much better - I don't think you can see the sea from the hotel at all - it looks at the street with multiple taxis. If you decide to stay there, plan for your evenings as there is absolutely nothing to do at the hotel.
We saw a cockroach in the toilet.
Restaurant Bombay in the same building was ok Indian food alternative, inexpensive.
We wouldn't stay there again even if it was quite cheap.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the review, don't think it matters what side your room is on, but we had a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anavi52, Owner at Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
First of all we do apologise you not getting a sea view apartment, the majority of our apartments are sea view, but we have been having a lot of overbooking recently.
Regarding your suite being on the 3rd and 4th floor, there are only 2 floors in our apartotel. There are a few duplexes in the 2nd floor, which are more expensive. There are buildings with more than 2 floors in Santa Maria.
Please let us know which problems you encountered in our restaurant, as we would like to improve our service, facilities, and appreciate clients´ comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Despite locking the windows before leaving the bedroom, when I came back after having spend the day out, I found the windows opened and sign of robbery in my bedroom. I went to the police hoping for a document to transfer to my insurance. After 2 hours of interrogation, I asked for a copy of the report. The policeman didn't wanted to give me any copy and beat me with his
bludgeon. I have 2 visible marks on the body and one on the face.
I felt deeply insecure and did not received any support from the hotel staff.
Sad to admit that Santa Maria suffers from a highly corrupted police service. Beware of your belongings and if something happens better wait to get to the airport police to ask for robbery report.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clementine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontao
Hotel Pontao
#15 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection

Property: Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
Address: Rua 1 de Junho 175 | Santa Maria, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 123, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally, in the very heart of the Atlantic Ocean lies an enchanting place that will make you live quite an experience: Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection. On the Macaronesian island of Sal (Portuguese for “salt”) in Cape Verde, we find this resort that doubtlessly is a dreamy location to relax and get lost. Surrounded by an astonishing landscape, Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection disposes of 23 cozy rooms and a restaurant. The interior design evokes the sea: the decoration follows the zen lines with oriental elements, so that you can find the peace and the harmony to fully enjoy your vacations. Naturally, the charming indoor patio is the place to rest in the comfortable furnishing while the sunlight reaches you from above. Located in the fishing town of Santa María, Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection is not only one step away from the paradisiacal waters, but also in a touristic enclave offering a great gastronomic choice and leisure activities. As the inhabitants of this exceptional island, this is how our staff is: hospitality and naturalness are the essence of the service and the treat we offer you. Spectacular views and a lovely location: this is all you need to enjoy a perfect vacation on a piece of Africa in the middle of the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing