We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not 5star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a loverly stay at this very clean and modern accommodation pleasant staff on the whole but the food was a big letdown as aired by many other guest we spoke to certainly not 5star menu evening meals the worst

Room Tip: Not to near main building as this is where the main entertainment is held
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brazila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear brazila,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

Whilst it is nice to know that the accommodation and the staff service are according to your standards, we are also sad that you were not happy with the food. Preferences vary from person to person, some people like certain foods while other’s do not. However, we appreciate the feedback and constructive suggestions from each one of our guests.

I hope that you will give us the chance to change this perception by visiting us again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    954
    410
    138
    76
See reviews for
850
1,541
28
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Melia Tortuga was good, but the phone cost 25 to 35 Euro per phone call to the UK.
To draw money at their cash machine costs a minimum of 1.1 Euro per transaction, and then they also make a profit on the exchange rate.
Internet is only available at reception at a rate of 3.85 Euro per 100 MB, and the computer room has adult minder blocking everything, even PDF documents.
Their English is limited, and you will get much further with Portugese.
The beach is not for swimming, and Santa Maria beach is much better for swimming.
The bed and mattress is the best I've ever slept on, absolutely superb.
Food is always good and well presented and in abundance.
It's a pity you pay extra for good wine and spirit, as the house wine is not drinkable.
Sales on the Thomson flight are pushed hard, from drinks to jewellery and perfume.
Outward flight was delayed by half an hour, and return flight delayed by 1 ½ hours.
Good experience overall, but we had to scratch for information on basic things.
The drinking water in the rooms is not replenished, and you find yourself continuously carrying a basic commodity like drinking water to the rooms.
Aircon in the bedroom did not work, and the nights can be very hot.
Will I go again ?…….Yes, but I'll be better prepared.

Room Tip: Closer to the Bar Grille or the quiet pool is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1proudscotsman .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 1proudscotsman,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

It is good to know that you have enjoyed your holidays and that some of our services are according to your expectations. However, I have also noticed that there were some aspects of our services which needs to be explained to clear up any misunderstanding that may arise.

In any country that you visit, international calls to certain areas can be quite expensive this is something that depends on telephone company itself. As per the ATM machine, it is not the hotel that charges any of the transaction this is done directly by the bank. As per the exchange rate this also depends on the rate set by the bank. As per the computers, it’s security setting is set to work as a public computers hence some files may be automatically blocked, however, if you need any assistance you can request it and we will only be more than happy to help.

Since Cape Verde is not an English speaking country, English is generally the third or the fourth foreign language of our staff. Many of our staff members speak more than two languages with at least two of them being a European language. Our staff are also in the process of learning and improving their English language skills and this may take some time depending from person to person.

As you may have been informed upon your arrival we do not offer a mini bar service, but since this is an all-inclusive hotel, drinks are readily available at any of our bars for free of charge. We also recommend our guests to immediately report to us regarding any anomaly that they find in their room so that it can be resolved as soon as possible.

I am pleased that you will be returning in the future, we are already looking forward to welcoming you to our resort again , please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance or information that you may need prior to coming.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Principality
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've always believed that the sign of a good, well run business is not one where nothing ever goes wrong, in the real world there is no such place, but one where little hiccups are dealt with efficiently, sympathetically and to the customer's total satisfaction.
We took a two week Thomson package holiday at this hotel and it was absolutely brilliant. Firstly, transfer time is less than 15 mins. Of course it is only a small island. Check in was fast and efficient and the suite we were allocated was just what I had asked for: Double bed (we may be pensioners but we still like a cuddle), Upstairs (no click clack of high heels from above in the middle of the night) away from the entertainment centre - less noisy. Yeah, I know I'm fussy but what you don't ask for you may not get.
On the second night there we got back to our apartment and found water pouring through the ceiling in the second bathroom. The maintenance staff were there in response to a phone call in less than five minutes. The boiler above the shower had burst - no quick fix - we had to transfer to another apartment. We were offered a switch there and then but declined, we did not fancy repacking our cases at nearly midnight. We stayed there for that night although we had no hot water in the morning (we knew that) we did have another bathroom to use.
The following morning we were transferred to a 3 bedroom villa by the beach with its own swimming pool for our exclusive use. This dramatic upgrade was by way of compensation for the inconvenience suffered. We were also told that we could keep it until 5pm on our day of departure all at no extra charge. Two days later a tray of fruit arrived.
Later, it was in the second week when my wife was a bit poorly. Reception arranged for soup and rolls to be delivered to us and the maître d at the beach grill offered to prepare a take away for us. We were also given packets of biscuits. Fortunately my wife soon recovered, but the pampering we had received did not go unnoticed and should not go unrecorded.
This is a splendid hotel. The Operations Manager's name was Marco. He dealt with all the exceptional arrangements personally, although other more junior staff were also excellent in their attitude and competence. Workers at every level, bar staff, waiters, entertainers, gardeners etc etc appear to be happy in their work, they smile a lot and acknowledge you as you walk about.
As for the facilities you can read about them on line none of them are understated in their excellence.
Would we go there again - without hesitation.
Would we recommend the hospitality to our friends - certainly.
If you want a reasonably priced holiday in the sun get on to the Thomson website now and book!

Room Tip: Choose one with a dodgy boiler (ha ha)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank backtofront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear backtofront,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your holiday experience with us and with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor.

After reading your review, it is a pleasure to perceive that you have had an enjoyable holiday despite a setback with your room for which we sincerely apologize once more. However, we are glad that you were satisfied with the solutions and assistance that were offered to you.

We would like to thank you kindly for your kind comments about our operations manager and our staffs, who all do their best each day to ensure that our guests are happy and feel at home with us.

We thank you once again for having recommended our hotel to future guests, we hope that you will give us the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liempde, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Melia Tortuga Beach resort is a great place to relax. We love to escape from our busy lives and just read a book on the beach! Therefore Melia is just perfect.
The people are very friendly, the appartments absolutely gorgeous and clean and the food is good. You can go to the main restaurant or choose from the other 3 a la carte restaurants.
We have been to Melia twice now and will definately come back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudithTerlouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear JudithTerlouw,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your review with us.

It is a great pleasure to perceive that you have had an enjoyable holiday from your previous two visits and that our accommodations, our food, our services and the staff attitude have all contributed to the success of your stay.

We are very happy to know that you will be returning for another visit and we are already looking forward to pleasure of greeting you again very soon.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from our second visit to this hotel. Everything was just as good, if not better than first visit 18 months ago. Staff brilliant in all areas but must give special mention to Rair on Reception and Lino in O Grille - both guys were professional and efficient with lovely personalities. One thing that did disappoint was the closure of the Waterside Restaurant, which was our favourite last time. Although we were told the menus from that outlet would be available in Aqua and O Grille they were limited and overall meant that the choice for lunch and dinner was quite restricted. Having said that the food that was on offer was still of a good standard. We probably won't return for a third time as there are lots of other places in the world to see but if thinking of giving it a try, go for it.

Room Tip: Try and get an upper floor suite for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neesycamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear neesycamore,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to read that on your second visit to the resort your found that the quality of our services has maintained if not better, as this means that we are heading in the right direction. In order to offer our guests an even better service, there is a need to carry our continuous maintenance of our outlets and sometimes this may implicate a temporary closure of the venue.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff, Lino and Rair were delighted to hear from you again. We are sad that you may not be returning to the island for the third time, however, should you change your mind it will be a great pleasure to have you as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a week all inclusive stay. All inclusive is a must as the closest restaurants/supermarkets are located in Santa Maria which is a 10 min drive away (taxi €3). There is a buffet restaurant which had a variety of foods, which we thought were very good, my main gripe was they didn't serve diet coke/coke zero at the restaurant. Bottled water was available from all bars. Aqua restaurant was a choice of 3 set menus served by waiters, again good food. O Grille was located at the beach with beautiful views, snacky food was available at lunch (sandwiches/pasta/burgers) and again a choice of 3 different set menus at dinner with waiter service, only complaint was smoking was allowed inside the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful although a little sparse at busy times. The beach was great, plenty of sun loungers and a life guard on duty. There was never a problem with getting a sun lounger at the beach or pool but it wasn't school holidays when we went. The pools were freezing! Towels were available for €20 deposit and could be changed as often as wanted. The rooms were clean and modern, the first floor rooms had a batter balcony. The kitchen had a fridge and microwave, which was handy as we had a baby. Santa Maria is worth a visit, especially the Thomson tour on a Saturday morning. The hotel operates a free bus service 3 times a day. I didn't use the spa as usual it was way overpriced! Security were present but I felt safe at all times. Wifi was available but was chargeable which was disappointing considering it was a 5 star resort. All in all a great resort/ island and we'll be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank becsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear becsmile,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some time to review our hotel.

From reading your feedback I am pleased to know that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments about our staff who work very hard to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and at home with us. We have coca cola zero available at the bars and I am quite surprised regarding the smoking, as this is the first time that we received such feedback since our restaurants are all non-smoking, we will surely investigate into the matter and make the necessary amendments.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback, we are very happy to know that you will be returning as we are already looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We just returned from a week at the Melia Tortuga this morning. It was great & we really enjoyed it. We were give a 2 bedroom & 2 bathroom apartment close to the main pool which was cleaned daily. Good choice of food & the staff really are excellent (especially Elvis & Marli). For the people who have said that “there is nothing to do” I would advise you first do your research before setting off!! – there IS a lot to do but you need to book excursions & decide what you actually want from a holiday…. this is not Benidorm or the Canaries & the tourist industry is quite new.

We used the gym & attended yoga classes, both were good.

We booked an 8hr quad bike tour (through Sal tours) which took in the entire Island including the salt flats, desert mirage, fishing ports & shark bay. This was E140 for both of us & lasted all day with lunch. If this is a little too energetic for you, why not treat yourself to the “Bali Bed” experience (book a bed on the beach) and relax all day. You can have lunch at the beach bar, take a dip in the sea & sip champagne as you watch the sunset.

At £700 each for all inclusive with flights I think the hotel is excellent value. Yes there may not be 24hr entertainment but this very much depends on what you want from a holiday – “cruise ship” entertainers are not really our thing!!. Take some low value euro notes & coins with you too – they are easier to get than escudos. Although the resort is all inclusive remember that It’s a relatively poor country & tipping is appreciated.

The wine isn't great but so what?.... there is a choice of spirits, cocktails & beer. Some of the food can be bland (they do need to cater for all tastes so this is to be expected) but the fish is good & sauces are available if you ask.

Advise you take insect repellent (there are some mosquitos) lots of high factor suncream because the sun is very hot!!.... if you don’t have children book during school term time if you can as it's cheaper & there are less screaming kids…. Also try to learn a few words of Portugese, although English is widely spoken it’s only polite….

Great hotel & exceptional staff – we will definitely recommend to all our friends & family

Room Tip: Rooms around the main pool are convenient....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear LRmanchester,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your holiday experience with us and with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor.
We always welcome the feedback from our guests as they enable us to gain an insight into their expectations and preferences thus allowing us to provide an even better service in the future.

From reading your review, I can clearly perceive that you have had a nice and enjoyable stay at our resort which gives a sense of satisfaction to us for knowing that you have made the most of your holidays. As you have indeed indicated, tourism is still quite recent in the island and it is a growing industry, and due to the specificity of the location it is recommended that people seek more information about the location prior to visiting so as to avoid wrong expectations.

I am also pleased that you took the opportunity to take a tour around the island and visit all the interesting points. There are indeed a lot of activities to choose from, especially for those who enjoy doing some water sports.

We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the staff and our services as well as the useful information shared with future visitors. We thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family and we hope that you will give us the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing