We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House on the beach”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean View Villa 9

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Katja P
1 review
“Great House on the beach”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Our extended family stayed in Fabrizio’s house January 2018. We were eight people, three kids (age 2,5,8) and 5 adults. There was plenty of space to all of us. House was bigger than I expected by the photos I had seen.

There was everything we needed. It was also easy to communicate with the staff. Thank you Josias! The kettle that was old and leaking, got replaced in no time when I asked about it. Also. Our flight to Sal was hugely delayed, 14 hours. Despite that, there was taxi waiting at the airport, when we finally got there in the middle of the night. We got to the house from the airport as fast as it was possible.

Hotel area is beautiful and well maintained, and so are the pools. We mostly stayed by our own pool, which I doubted to begin with because it is quite small. It was actually just the right size. Pool has 3-4 steps and the rest is up to adult chest level deep. Our eight year old jumped in to the pool probably 260 times during our stay. He was really having a blast! Water was a bit chilly in all the pools all over, water warmed up during the day a little. In the end that didn’t slow down anyone too much.

Weather was good, the wind was blowing hard so you felt comfortable at all times. Wind is typicall at this time of the year. Evenings can be a bit chilly because of the wind. Hoodie was great and long trousers.

Beach is great, big waves. Recommend swimming with kids between breakwater walls on our “own beach”. Little bit left from the house begins Ponta Preta beach. It is amazing. Also recommend walking to or from Santa Maria to the house. Don’t forget the water bottle and sunscreen! It takes about two hours.

We made our own food and went out to eat. We cannot recommend the hotels kitchen since it was expensive and not special. Espargos had the best and cheapest food we had. Santa Maria has many options. Taxi is cheap and easily accessible in front of the reception.

Good tips:
1) Ask the taxi drivers for food store or anything you need. They do their best. Shopping for food (breakfast, lunch etc.) was exotic. There were no big super markets, just small stores and they all had unique prizes.
2) We asked the reseption to get us a taxi for island tour. Own freedom and cheaper that organized tours. Recommend.
3) Buy alcohol tax free from the plane. Cheaper. Beer was good and fairly cheap from stores but other drinks get tax free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monic10
Horgen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite, nice place”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Nice villa and very good situated. Close to the beach and also to the main pool.
7 days, sea, sun and beautiful weather.

Disanvantage: the beach is very nice but you have big waves...better you go by taxi or Hotel Shuttle to Santa Maria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angers
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury and sea
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oliver196...
Rellingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Strandlage & Haus & Garten
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald961
dortmund
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing