We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are nearby go and see the turtles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle SOS - CLOSED

Turtle SOS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From June until December you can find out all about turtles in Cape Verde by visiting us at our turtle hatchery on the beach outside the RIU hotel or at The Turtle House in Santa Maria (next to CV Telecom). During July, August & September we can take you on a guided walk to see one of nature's most spectacular events - a turtle coming ashore to lay her eggs. Then from August to December there are baby turtles being born before your eyes in the hatchery. Adopting a baby turtle or a whole nest is a unique and genuinely Capeverdean souvenir! You will receive a certificate and photos of your baby or babies after they are born. A great gift for friends and family back home. The activities are managed by The Cabo Verde Nature Company and your contributions help to fund protection of turtles throughout the Cabo Verde islands. Hatchery visits are free and are available daily between 10h-12h and 16h-18h. Please check with your hotel or tour rep for more information or visit the Turtle House.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If you are nearby go and see the turtles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed a little way along the beach and headed down for 4pm to see the turtles being excavated and managed to see 4 on the day we were there. The guys are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the turtles and the work they do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rashyroo, Manager at Turtle SOS, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks a lot. Our team love their work and it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    28
    17
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Its a must see attraction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I went to see the turtle hatchery in mid cotober. its a facinating place. they give a talk at about 4.00pm about the nests and turtles, then after they excavate the nests which hatched the previous night. if they have enough turtles they will ask visitors to help them released into the sea. the volunteers who run the hatchery are very knowlegable and enthusiastic..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rashyroo, Manager at Turtle SOS, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks for visiting us Chris, hope you got to see some turtles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Turtle Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were recommended to take a walk along the beach and see the turtle's being excavated! It is a good walk from Santa Maria but well worth it.

The turtles are soooo cute and the guys and girls there are doing an amazing job. You can get involved lots of ways i believe from donating, adopting one, to helping excavate, to going on the night trip to set them free into the sea.

Definately recommend - interesting and soooo cute!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane01England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rashyroo, Manager at Turtle SOS, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks a lot Jane, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We visited Cape Verde in September and we had the most amazing experience ever, during our visit we adopted a turtle hatchling and helped to excavate a nest.
We also went on the turtle walk, very tiring but well worth it, especially as we got to release turtle hatchlings. The work these guys do is incredible and in my opinion this is a must for anyone visiting the island of Sal

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Classy-Chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rashyroo, Manager at Turtle SOS, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks a lot for visiting us, we appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We went on the walk... Very exciting! Unfutunately, we were rained on! We were soaked to the skin but all found the funny side of it. We did find a nest, recently dug but unfortunately no turtle! There was a very tense moment when it looked like the poachers had been. Nevertheless, we were all relieved when the guide found an exit track to the sea. We think that the turtle was put off by the rain and I can't say I blame her! We enjoyed the trip and it was just amazing to see a recently dug nest. Fantastic! It is well worth going regardless of what you see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rashyroo, Manager at Turtle SOS, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks for supporting our work. It just goes to show how vital the walks are for deterring hunters when you have an experience like that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle SOS also viewed

 
Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing