We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farolin

Farolin
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Santa Maria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Our Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went here the night we arrived I had meat skewers and my wife had chicken curry both were very nice, good service and so wonderful to be eating next to the sea and hearing the waves, was romantic, ideal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank julmik g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    264
    81
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent food, good service from attentive cheery staff. Great views across the beach and out to the Atlantic from the outside terrace or in the restuarant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A relaxing environment for leisure or business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had the pleasure be onsite this summer; I visited the location and had a very nice lunch.
My husband and I enjoyed of course the seafood plates and the settings of the restaurant with its ocean view while eating my delicious grilled tuna with vegetables…. Whether you have a meeting in mind, a weekend getaway, a small or large meeting accommodation need or a wedding ceremony, contact the restaurant and they will help you with all your needs, as well as hotel accommodation. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRFVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

You could not ask for a better place to enjoy a meal than at this restaurant in Santa Maria on Sal. The outdoor area has the sea all round it and if you get there early enough you can watch the most dramatic sunset from your table. Inside the decor is reminiscent of a sailing ship of the age of pirates and smuggling. The food is excellent and the restaurant has rightly been named as one if not the best fish restaurant in Cape Verde. If in doubt just ask for the fish of the day and you won't be disappointed or if you prefer meat the fillet mignon is delicious. The staff are brilliant, particularly Imerson, Carlos and Iana (I think that is how it is spelt). There is live music every night too so don't miss it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place, great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We really loved this place. Food is good, we even celebrated a birthday of our friend there. The scenery is wonderful and music makes you to forget about everything besides now and here

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farolin also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Farolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing