We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location - Nice staff”
Review of Sal Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sal Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 13 Santa Maria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Sal beach club is on the east side of the pier in Santa Maria, the part without the big resorts. We really enjoyed this side of the beach. Great views of the beach from the comfortable apartment on the first floor. Although a little dated and in the need for some improvements , it has everything you need. I think the new owner is busy with a make-over on the moment. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is cheaper than most places and there are many good options on the menu, including daily fresh tuna!
The location is great, it is directly on the beach and in the town centre near bars and restaurants. (Subsequently, its noisy especially in the weekends)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CV112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Sal Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Located in the beach front, the place got the right spot to see all the pier. Food quality it's ok to good (mostly fast food). Drinks are good (very nice happy hour). For sports fan they have all the footbol games projected. The pool is quite small. Definitely the best wi fi connection in Sal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Fer2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Great Little place! love the country love the people love the beer love the weather love the sun the sea and the sand! Sal beach club is right on the beach! Its close to the center of town and beer isn't too expensive! Love it :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family and I went to Sal at the end of last year 2012.
We decided quite late and were lucky enough to find a nice apartment in S Maria, not one on the beach but, hey, one cannot have everything.
So I was super pleased when I got a response from one of the Beach Club's managers saying that they had two rooms: they were not sea view but as the hotel was actually on the beach...

And that it was: the hotel is a small and quaint place right on the beautiful beach of S Maria.
What they hadn't told us is that the two rooms were right in front of the restaurant (therefore constantly filled with the kitchen effluvia) and not having curtains it was impossible to open the window for air or light (and I am not exaggerating) because the people in the restaurant would have looked right in.
As a result the place was dark and smelly all the time and the music from the bar/restaurant would keep us up till very late.

That plus:
- no sufficient toweling (only one set for two people)
- no hot water in the boys room
- toilet flushing devise broken (we had to leave the water reservoir lid open to flush it)
- artistic cleaning of the rooms schedule (they came ones in 4 days)
- cockroaches in the boys room (my older one tried to kill one with the spray deodorant with
the result to have a very smelly co-inquiline)

and other small things not worth mentioning made us decide (the boys actually asked for it) to find and alternative arrangement and spend the remaining 10 days somewhere else.

We communicated it to the manager immediately.
He said he did understand our choice and that those rooms were actually usually only rented to kite surfers with their equipment and not to families but then only proposed to offer us the lunches (snacks) consumed up to that point in the restaurant. No refund! (even partial).
As a final: a bottle of champagne that we had bought to drink it at sunset on our last day on the island was drank by somebody else and that, also, never replaced or refunded...

To sum it up and to explain the title of my review: it is a shame because the hotel is placed in one of the nicest spots in S Maria but it completely lacks care as a structure and service.
We are really sorry for the way things went and it was only thanks to our good humor that the whole matter didn't ruin badly our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simbadbar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

In November we stayed already one week in another hotel in Santa Maria. Over there we decided to travel for a week to other islands and had to find a place to stay in Sal for the last two days before our flight back home. When we walked around in Santa Maria we found the Sal Beach Club, located directly at the beach, with a nice beach bar-restaurant in the center of Santa Maria. We made a reservation for a first floor accommodation with outside terrace and sea view for two nights. They confirmed that to us personally when we were there and also by E-Mail! We were really happy that we found that beautiful place. Not cheap but still affordable.
But one week later when we arrived they told us that there is a problem with the bathroom upstairs and we were presented a room without window, ground floor, between toilet and kitchen of the bar. No windows but some blinds and no chance to close them. It was not possible to sleep before the bar closed late night. Early morning they started their noisy coffee machines etc. and the staff of the Beach Club smoked cigarettes and talked loudly just in front of our room. It was like they where talking and smoking in our bedroom! No chance to stay inside any longer. We were very disappointed.
Moreover just next to the beach club a new building is under construction. That’s also noisy in the morning and afternoon but normally no reason for me to complain about.
After the first short night I noticed that upstairs all rooms are fully booked. There were other guests relaxing on every rooms terrace they have and nothing looked like they have a problem with a bathroom!!
They gave me the invoice with full price and when I asked if they are serious with the price for that poor accommodation the manager told me that they discount already for us. When I double checked the bill exactly I found out that they really spend us a beer and a soft drink. Five euros discount on the total bill. Amazing!
Normally I would not stay a single night in that awful place but we arrived late in the evening and had no energy to find anything else after a long trip from Santo Antao via Sao Vicente to Sal that day. It was just for two nights so we decided to survive also the second night there instead of moving to another place.
The second morning I was welcomed by some cockroaches in our bathroom. Disgusting! The worst place we stayed in Cabo Verde.
After two nights this nightmare was over and we left.
Of course I can not recommend that place but have no better alternative in Santa Maria. The huge resort (club) hotels are not what I like to stay in. The other Bars and Restaurants along the beach seem to have also rooms for rent.
All that glitters is not gold.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chango C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Very nice location directly at the beach with oustanding food at a reasonable price.
I have been there serveral times staying for one week in a comfortable huge apartment on the first floor. The apartment is equipped with microwave, fridge and a stove.If you don't like to spent your vacation in an anonymous big hotel together with tour operator tourists the SalBeachClub is the place to be

Room Tip: All apartments in the first floor have a spectacular seaview
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasH187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed at the riu hotel in Cape Verde but we went on a tour and then had a drink at the Sal beach Club.. the best bar ive ever been to hands down. Its right on the beach.. got its own swimming pool open to everyone.. then you've got the bar.. pinic tables.. sofas in the sand.. ( the prices arnt so bad to drink either!) The people that work there can't be nicer, they are so welcoming, if you need anything they will help you out wether its a question or you need a taxi. We went there for a night out to get away from hotel a bit.. explore.. and it was a great night, to feel safe in a country you dont really know was just lovely. They put on good shows too, I would recommend to come here over and over again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelliebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,961 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Llana Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sal Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sal Beach Club

Address: Beachfront, Pier, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria
Price Range: £59 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sal Beach Club is based in the heart of Santa Maria, right on the beach. We offer three rooms (sleeping 2-6 dependent on room) and a brilliant location overlooking the safest and best beach in Sal. Come and stay with us for a perfect beach front location, easy access to watersports including boarding, kitsurf, surf, fly boarding, fishing, diving... all located from Sal Beach Club. Join us and make use of our bar and restaurant offering the best local and English dishes. Homemade in our kitchens the fish fresh from the pier. A must during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sal Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sal Beach Club Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing