We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience you don't want to miss when in Cape Verde - Also very suitable for vegetarians”
Review of Geko Gourmet - CLOSED

Geko Gourmet
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Joanna Kania from Poland; Nicola Squeo from Italy, and David Vazquez Ortega from Spain are the creators of Geko Gourmet, which opened on the 25th of January 2013, just in front of the Hotel Belorizonte. The chef David combines local produce with many flavours from around the world and is responsible for the creative menu to be savoured in the gourmet restaurant. He never stops experimenting and inventing new, delicious creations. Nicola’s extensive knowledge and passion for wine is reflected in the varied choice of wines available to the discerning palate. Geko Gourmet hosts 40 different types of wines chosen personally by Nicola after careful selection with the various wine growers. Geko was created by them with the aim to make every single guests feel extraordinary. Excellent food, an astonishing selection of wines, and the unique atmosphere define this restaurant.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience you don't want to miss when in Cape Verde - Also very suitable for vegetarians”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just heard about this restaurant by chance when talking to some other tourists and decided to visit the place - We hit the jackpot..
I, a (picky) vegetarian, and my company of 6 other people were all satisfied with every course we had which made us come back for another round just 3 days later.

The menu includes both tapas and main courses for you to choose from depending on your mood (fish, meat and vegetarian options).

When we came back for our new years eve dinner the chef had personally prepared a vegetarian set menu for me and came by me before serving every plate just to make sure I ate certain ingredients and was happy with the previous.

All in all, all 7 of us would recommend anyone to go there to enjoy a good meal in a nice and calm environment. If you are a bigger group I recommend you to book in advance, but don't hesitate to try your luck if you haven't (they managed to sort out places for us by shuffling some tables).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jihadsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrangbrook
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Closest Thing to Gourmet Food in Santa Maria”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Foodies SHOULD go here. This place is possibly the only place on Sal that offers European style service and food that is cooked to anything more than basic style and presentation.

Firstly, we were served by waiters in some kind of uniform. Smartly dressed in matching attire; from entering you didn't need to guess who the waiter was based on him carrying plates or a notepad, the waiter was the guy in the posh shirt who met you at the door and looked after you. Other restaurants need to read this, it may be important when your clientele become choosy.

The venue I have to admit is not the most salubrious. We were seated outside in a sort of lean too at the side of the main building. Al fresco is the order of the day in a tropical climate with one day of rain per year so we were comfortable with this. We were seated and immediately provided with bread and oil and shortly after, an amuse bouche compliments of the chef. ( quick check on the GPS to see if we were still in Cape Verde and we were)

Dinner was served in two courses and excellently presented, not quite to Michelin star standard but certainly a departure from the norm in Cape Verde. Sweet followed and was to an equally high standard.

This restaurant is trying to please and has an attitude that their clients are important to them rather than a troublesome burden as is the impression in many other places on the island.

Keep up the good work and hopefully improve it.

Certainly recommended and we will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food, cosy environment.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place was our favourite in Santa Maria. Great prices and nice staff. Try the tuna sandwich for lunch!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank goonerista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go There”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just back from Santa Maria and had dinner here twice and regularly stopped for drinks late afternoon after visiting beach. Menu is excellent as is the wine list and you are unlikely to find anything as good elsewhere on this barren rock of an island. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It can get quite busy during the evening so worth booking if you want a table outside. Definitely worth visiting and you will not be disappointed. And…..free wifi… so you can spend the evening ignoring your dinner partner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excelent internet - dry fish”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We went here for lunch, mainly because of the internet which turned out to be fast and reliable. Unfortunately for this "gourmet" restaurant they managed to fry the fish too much so it ended up fairly dry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaDeNoruega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geko Gourmet also viewed

Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing