We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay in Santa Maria”
other travellers have booked this property
Tropical Resort - Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tropical Resort - Pool
Apartment - Terrace Tropical Resort - Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Tropical Resort - Pool
Apartment - Terrace
Tropical Resort - Pool
Tropical Resort - Gardens
Tropical Resort - Gardens
Tropical Resort - Gardens
Tropical Resort - Gardens
Tropical Resort - Gardens
Tropical Resort - Gardens
Apartment - Bathroom
Apartment - Bed Room 2
Apartment - Master Bedroom
Apartment - Living Room
Apartment - Living Room
Apartment - Kitchen
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Local Shops
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach
Santa Maria - Ponta Preta Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach Pier
Santa Maria - Kite Beach
Santa Maria - Main Beach Jet Ski
Santa Maria - Sailing With Dolphins
Santa Maria - Main Beach Outside Gym
Santa Maria - Kite Beach
Santa Maria - Fruit Market
Santa Maria - Kite Beach
Santa Maria - Ponta Preta Beach Dune Jumping
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Carine-Lo...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in Santa Maria”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We loved every minute of our stay at Tropical Resort.

Philip's place was perfect for us and the location is ideal, close to bars, restaurants, cafés and less than 5 mins from the beach.

The flat is spacious in excellent condition and we liked the fact that it was ground floor with a generous terrace overlooking the beach and the palm trees.

It's a stone throw away from the beach and the cafes.

We can't wait to go back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G
1 review
“Close to the beach but tucked away in a quiet corner”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Within a few minutes walk to town and even less to the fabulous beach this apartment was near everything but retained a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Its a small cluster of apartments and a small hotel (yet to open).
The apartment is well maintained and clean with all you need in the kitchen. The bed was very comforatable and a good nights sleep was achieved every night.
Tropical Resort is only 2 minutes from the casino, local bars and restaurants etc. We were collected from the airport by taxi driver Theresa who was extremely helpful and informative.
Santa Maria is in the process of being developed but the resort is tucked away from any disruption.
I heartily recommend this apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misha d
1 review
“lovely relaxing place”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Me and my husband really liked staying at Philip's place. It was clean,tidy and everything worked the way how it was supposed to. Philip is a great host,one of the best we have ever had!very hands on,any question you might have he will reply within few minutes! also big thumbs up to Lorena (house manager) who waited for us at the apartment (transfers also organised by Philip!!) and kindly took us to the centre and showed us places where to have a nice meal!she also arranged for someone to come to tell us about all the available trips:) if you are after nice relaxing and quiet place dont look anywhere else!:-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaBerl...
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Santa Maria”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lorena (the house manager) picked us up at the airport and drove us to the beautiful tropical resort. The apartment was very clean and Philip answered all question we had during our stay immediately via WhatsApp. The pool is nice and has some shadow places around. The beach is close and easy to reach (even our younger daughter (2 1/2 years) could walk the way). The beach is really beautiful and not many people around. We loved our stay there and would recommend it to everybody. It is quiet as it is not directly in the city Santa Maria but close enough to enjoy all the bars and restaurants as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_J179IM
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best apartments!”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I have never seen before such a good treatment to clients. Nuno Reis (man on reception) found the best and cheap transfer for us, gave us a piece of advice about where to go and see on Sal. It was a pleasure to have a deal with him.
The apartments have a lot of space. It's new and clear with nice furniture. It takes 3-5 minutes to get to the beach.
Saved to my favorites for next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma M
Noisy-le-Sec, France
1 review
“My family enjoyed every minute of our stay in Santa Maria”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We found in Tropical Resort everything we had come for. The flat was very nice and comfortable, all the devices worked perfectly. The area around the pool and the garden are very beautiful and clean. My family enjoyed every minute of our stay in Santa Maria. Philip was contactable at all time, and everything went well!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breiteck
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was my first visit to the island of Sal and therefore my first visit to this apartment. I certainly hope I will get to return.
The apartment is well appointed and has a lovely patio that gets the morning sun and makes a lovely place to enjoy a sunny, relaxing breakfast. Being on the ground floor, it offers easy access to the tropical gardens and the swimming pool.
The bed was extremely comfortable and apartment was very quiet at night, all leading to good sleeping conditions.
The development is attractive and there are bars and shops close by.
Sal offers marvellous beaches, excellent weather and plenty of activities to enjoy, such as quad-biking, kite-surfing, swimming and surfing. There are good restaurants and bars, offering variety to suit all travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort within the apartment
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing