We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest place to learn kitesurfing!”

Mitu & DjO Kiteschool Cabo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kiteschool Mitu & DjO is located on Kitebeach on the island of Sal in Cape Verde. This is one of the best surf spots in the world. Besides our courses, you can also rent gear for kiting! The surfschool staff is ready to welcome you in the languages: English, French, Portugese, Italian, Spanish and Dutch. See you at Kitebeach! "The best surfer out there is the one having the most fun"
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The greatest place to learn kitesurfing!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It is now the second time I have been to Cape Verde and I will keep on going every year! I love this place. Besides Mitu and Djo are two of the coolest guys I've met, and trust me I have been all around the world! :) Go there and you will have the best kitesurfing experiences!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen_Grixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    0
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For tourists affordable great spot 2BE”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Super place for kiters, depending on tide choppy or not, other wise the larger waves are coming in, good coffee, less choice on food. A little shop Will do also iTS job. You need to bring Your own water

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostock, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best access for kiting on Sal”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Located at the kite beach it is the best place to access the water for kite surfing (at the other schools are more squalls).The staff is very nice and they offer good food - especially the choclate cake is recommendable.
There are many kite schools in Sal, but this one is owned by a local kiter and world champion, who you can meet there.
The prices are not the cheapest, but they have the best and recent material. We only had a problem, when losing a fin on the reef close to the beach - unfortunately there is no sign or information about the reef (only if you ask the stuff of couse they will show you). It is not fair to pay the whole price for a new set, when there is only one to replace (and even the screw was inside, so nothing was broken actually) - and they already have many replacement fins. Fortunately we found a compromise and organized brand new fins by ourselfes to safe some money...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gundizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Kite surf beach on Sal Island”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Generally you'll need transport to visit it from Santa Maria, a taxi or aluger can drop you off and you can arrange a time for them to come and collect you, may cost 4 euros each way. Great beach and waves for kitesurfers during the winter months. I counted 50 kiters zig zagging across the waters a few weeks ago.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeVerdeTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Kite School”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This is an excelent place to learn Kiting. My girlfriend and I entered a three-day course, but ended up with squeezing in 2 more hours ( the 4.day) just before our plane was about to leave.

From a beginners perspective:
-The instructors were very helpful, and our instructor Djo was excelent. He got me ridning the kiteboard already the second day:)
- I tought the equiptment was good.
- The wind conditions was perfect for us.

Good luck Kiting!

Btw, they will pick you up at your hotel if you want ( no extra charges), and they also accept creditcards.

Helpful?
1 Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitu & DjO Kiteschool Cabo Verde also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Mitu & DjO Kiteschool Cabo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing