We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally chilling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just spent a week at the Funana, we were 6 in our party oldest 59, youngest 16. Our rooms were in block 4 close to the pool and beach, only few minutes walk (honestly) from the reception, restaurant and bar areas. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and kept very clean on a daily basis, good showers. If you use a hairdryer take your own, the wind is stronger than the one supplied. Personally I would give this complex a 4 star rating not 5 but extremely acceptable in every way. The food is a good standard, we tried the African themed restaurant which was very good. Theres a nightclub which the teens used, the entertainment isn't great but ok. Our days were spent laying by the pool then a short walk to the beach dodging Elvis etc who don't hassle too much. The sea is incredible clear blue and white sands but strong currents so take care. We used both hotel bar areas there was enough not to get bored with for a week. We were very lazy and didn't do any trips but theres plenty to choose from you if you want them. The staff were very helpful,friendly and worked hard but there english isn't brilliant. We had a great holiday and would definately return if the opportunity arose. If your looking for a totally chilling place this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerseybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,695)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 3,697 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were a great size, we had interconnecting rooms and our kids' room was spacious enough for three beds, our double bed was enormous. The double glazed balcony doors meant the room was quiet too so we all slept really well. Everything was clean. The staff were fantastic and the kids club kept the kids thoroughly entertained. The Funana part of the site is right next to the beach, this is a beach with very little tidal range but big waves so more for paddling than swimming. The food at the hotel was great. We are vegetarians but still had plenty of choice though we didn't try the themed restaurants as the menus looked a bit restrictive for vegetarians/kids. The drinks choices were also great, we spent a pleasant afternoon sampling the coctail choices! There is enough to do on the Island but it's really hard to spend your money as there really aren't any souvenirs to buy and the hotel is truly all inclusive. We took a taxi into town E3 each way and another up to the Salt Lakes E15 each way. The Thomsons trips seemed incredibly expensive. It IS windy on Sal so a cardi for the evening is a good idea and watch out for sunburn - everyone managed to get burnt somewhere!

Room Tip: Block 5 is farthest from the main restaurant but nearest to the beach and pool.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Duechristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

thought the hotel was lovely and although very large it didn't feel cramped. Weather was windy for the whole week but you were glad of it and of the clouds when they came along. Previous reviews say there is nothing to do but I think there's plenty to see and do if you want to be bothered. we did the 4x4 trip which was great. You get to see the real Sal, not just the luxury of the hotel and it makes you feel quite humble.

the one big complaint we have is the amount of sunbeds with towels on yet there were probably only 20% actually being used by people at any one time. we used to walk round the pool and couldn't get any beds so would go to the beach. On a couple of the days, people had even reserved sunbeds on the beach, and there were also a few people using sunbeds as wind breakers whilst people were lying on towels on the sand.

the hotel do make a polite request that sunbeds are not reserved but don't actually do anything about it.

I also read lots of reviews complaining about the flight and no meals or in flight entertainment but we had a surprise on our journey home which was a complimentary meal - Sausage and Mash, so maybe the airline have been reading the reviews. they just need to sort out something to watch or at least listen to and it would make the flight a bit better.

apart from my negative comments above, i think this is one of the best all inclusive hotels I've been to and although we may not go back to Sal as I feel we have seen everything there is to see, I would recommend this resort and hotel to anyone looking for some winter sun and chill out time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Archie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Rui Funana is one half of a twin hotel, sharing some facilities.

It is located 2 km from the centre of Santa Maria – taxis are available if you do not prefer the nice walk.

The rooms are decent, but there bathroom is a part of the room. However, the toilet has a door and the shower a curtain.

There Is a nice pool area, and a beach belonging to the hotel. The wind is nice, if you prefer waves. Rental of kiting equipment is available.

It is all inclusive. The main restaurant is the default. Mostly acceptable food and they make amendments daily. If you are opting for more high protein (especially meat) you should opt for one of the four “themed” restaurants: Asian (which actually is nice, and not the usual junk food you find in Chinese restaurants), Cape Verdean (a lot of nice fish dishes, and some meat), steak (well, the name says most, but do not expect tenderloin) or African (well, a lot of piri piri).

In the food and beverage part the one big minus is the awful coffee. At breakfast they (most days) serve a semi decent coffee, but in the machines found everywhere the coffee is barely drinkable. Normally you will find instant coffee which definitely is preferable. The tee is also substandard, the only option is to bring your own tea bags.

There is a activity program, if you are so inclined.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mortenha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Funana for 2 weeks in March, lovely big complex which is joined onto the Garopa. Well spread out, so plenty of flat walking, difficult to tell which hotel area you are in. No differentiation between the pools or restaurants for either hotel, guests can use any. Rooms were quite spacious, clean with plenty of storage space, but looked a little tired in places e.g. some cracked tiles and walls. Food was great, plentiful, lots of choice and variety with 4 speciality restaurants (which were also self service). The staff were very friendly and polite most spoke enough English to be understood. Entertainment team worked really hard, always cheerful did some marvellous acrobatic/ kick boxing.
The beach was lovely soft sand, clean and miles long with lots of sunbeds. Very windy during our stay so often got sand blasted. The sea was rough making it difficult to get in and out of the water, hence lifeguards watching all the time. Not an ideal sea for young children, good for wind surfers! Toilets on the beach would be an advantage. Cooler at night with the wind so you need a jacket or cardigan.
Reps were good, went on an interesting walkabout with ours into Santa Maria, which is about 20 minutes walk away. Not a very picturesque island, very dry and barren with rainfall a rarity, so sightseeing choice limited.
Be warned the plane journey is classed as short haul so no leg room or entertainment.

Room Tip: Block 1 near reception and main restaurants, block 5 nearest beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Great hotel everything that you could want ,good food there was always something that you liked.Bedrooms clean,hotel clean staff very good,pool with plenty of space for everyone.
Beach ok but very windy and not good for childen as sea has very strong currents.
Do not go here if you like the night life and to go to lots places,there is nothing to do there at all
But if you just want to relaxe it is great ,will be back next year

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Funana from March 13th for two weeks.
There were four of us who simply like to relax by the pool or on the beach.
If you are a sightseer or like to keep travelling around, forget it. It's a quiet island.
We knew before we went that it was a remote island & was out in the Atlantic which makes it windy all the time.
The Sun is deceptively hot through the wind & you can sit out in the Sun all day without shade if you wish (with appropriate sun cream of coarse)
Almost everyone had a cardigan or jumper around their shoulders in the evening as that wind can give off a chill.
Pool beds are aplenty & you could always get one.
The pool was very cold, although some brave souls swam in it every day.
The beach was fine & if you like beach walking, excellent
The service at the pool bar & pool restaurant was excellent as there was always plenty of staff to cope. They were also very cheerful & helpful.
We like tipping as a gesture but it made no difference to the service you got if you tipped or not, which was nice.
The rooms were adequate, for a nice change our shower was superb (not your normally low powered thing with the shower rose hanging off or revolving).
Only downside was the fact that the shower room was completely open to the bedroom/living room in an open plan format so as you step out of the shower you are as good as in the bedroom, which is ok for couples but could be embarrassing for shy people or just friends going together on holiday.
There is nowhere private to get dressed, unless you went in the toilet within the bathroom that had a door on it.
We were in block number one (which was great for being near reception & restaurant) & I don't know if all rooms were the same.
Ask for block 5 if you want to be near the beach or the pool.
Read on here beforehand about the long haul on a small plane etc. but we found it perfectly ok and the transition through the airport and on to the hotel didn't take too long.
It's a short trip from airport to hotel which is another thing that we like.
I have left the food description till last as if anyone comes on here again saying the food is poor then they really need to be paying a lot of money and go elsewhere.
The food is absolutely excellent.
The choices are fantastic, be it at breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Just read on here that someone who was there at the same time as us saying the food could have been hotter, where did you take your plate to eat it? in the garden in that wind !!
The food was always hot & mostly you could stand & watch them cooking it or carving it.
The coffee machine next to the reception bar was the best machine coffee we have ever had.
If you are only there for a week get booked up early for The Mandalay restaurant if you like Chinese type food, we went twice it was that good.
Would we go again? without doubt.
But don’t forget your cardigan.
If like us, you do forget them, the women should do what our 2 did with us.
Instruct us to go into Santa Maria & buy one, to which we happily obliged of course.

Room Tip: Ask for block 1 if you want to be near to reception, restaurants & entertainment. Block 5 for b...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crobr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,961 reviews
1.3 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Funana
ClubHotel Riu Funana
#5 of 20 in Santa Maria
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde

Address: Cabocan Lote A2, A3, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: £186 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Situated on the island of Sal in the Cape Verde Islands * Main building and 2-story annexes * Situated on the beach front together with the ClubHotel Riu Funana * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 1.5 Km to Santa Maria * 15 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Funana Santa Maria
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing