We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were dubious after reading some negative reviews so werent sure what to expect. We stayed from 15-29th may. Had a great time. Transfer is only 15 mins which was great. We were greeted with some fizz and check in was quick and easy. Our room was nice-bed was huge with camp type bed for daughter who is 7 years old. 37" TV in room..at first we thought there were only 2 English speaking channels but you can go through the settings to change most channels into English which was nice at times although there was a lot of violence and horror when flicking through . The staff are lovely always polite and friendly. Whole hotel is very clean..staff are constantly cleaning. Food was really good with lots of changes through the 2 weeks we stayed. Pools are chilly but clean and big . Ok if brave enough to jump in! Get the shoulders under! Beach is really nice but can get windy and sand blasts you and sea is rough most days. Beach party every Friday which was fun. Entertainment team are excellent, they put so much into their shows and they are great with kids. We used Blinkys Tours to do an Island tour...visiting a local shop for souvenirs and tasting local spirits. Visited the eye and the salt lake had lunch provided and also paddled with the lemon sharks. We thoroughly recommend Blinky who is from UK and lovely. The price was €25 euros each..tour operators charge 48. She has a Facebook page . She also does other days out on quads and 4×4 a few other trips. Coffee and tea are available 24/7 and bars are too. Drinks machines for coke etc is in reception/ bar area . would take own coffee though as not great . Room only has polystyrene cup left on first day so take one from reception area. Milk can be got from there too and sugar etc. Fridge in room . Shops in hotel aren't cheap...sweets and snacks are expensive . Take plenty of suncream as that's pricey as is paracetamol etc. Lots of people were caught out by weather and got very burned when it was overcast so slap on the cream even if the sun isn't out. High factor needed too. Lovely gifts in shops ..again not cheap. We took a taxi into Santa Maria for €3 , the beach is stunning and calmer than hotel one. We didn't stay too long as we were pestered by locals selling their wares. All in all a great holiday. So glad we went.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    1,338
    421
    138
    73
See reviews for
835
1,889
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back after staying at the Funana to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and It is not the first time we have stayed at a Riu and it was everything you would expect. We arrive to 2 beautiful swans made of sheets with some fuzz and 2 glasses it was a great start to a great holiday. It is one big complex but has as feeling of being half empty, always plenty of beds, never much of a wait for anything. We were in block 3 which seemed central to everything. The rooms are open plan, there is tea and coffee in the rooms but only polystyrene cups and powdered milk so wee took cups and milk from reception. Although there is a TV there is only sky news international and BBC world news in English. The wifi is free in reception but was a little flakey. The staff are great very friendly. We did a tour of the island with Dylan and Orla from the beach which was a great day out.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 3 are central to the beach, the pool reception and the entertainment whilst still bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is huge. The two Riu hotels come together to make one enormous hotel with so many people.
The all inclusive buffet was better than some that I have been to, but really not 5 star material. Quantity NOT quality. Even the themed restaurants were mediocre.
The evening entertainment at times was dire.
The pool are was good, no fighting for sunbeds!
WiFi is a rip off. Walk down the road to an English cafe where it is free of charge.
Great for families I suppose, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

we stayed for 2 weeks between 7th and 21st of may, our first experience of an all inclusive holiday so we have nothing to compare the catering with, there was plenty of choice at every meal but it was a little repetitive by the end of 2 weeks, having said that considering how many guests they need to cater for, i would say overall they did a great job!, all food is served on a help yourself basis , so you do get control over choice and portion control.The hotel itself is spread out over a large site, 5 blocks in all, each only 2 floors high, the grounds are well kept, and tidy.We stayed in block 5 close to the pools and beach, perfect for us, the room itself is quite basic, as mentioned in previous reviews door in loo only, rest open plan, but very clean.Tea and coffee provided, but my advice would be take your own!, we took cups from dining room as only polystyrene ones provided in room, we also took a jug of milk back each day and kept in our fridge!Lovely large flat screen TV, BUT unfortunately only 2 channels in English(news channels), most channels in German, French or Portuguese! Lovely pool area, no problem getting a lounger, the same applies to the beach, clean beach towels available every day.Breezy most days but no worse than canary isles.All the staff without exception were very helpful and friendly. I must mention both the Entertainments and Activities teams, some of the most hard working people we saw, always something going on. Cape Verde is not commercialized so don't expect lots of bars or clubs, it has a more low key vibe.i would recommend going on a 4x4 island trip, we went with Dilan tours( on Beach) costs 25 euros each, excellent tour well worth the money. All in all we had a lovely time 2 weeks went really quickly.

Room Tip: Blocks 4&5 near beach and pool, furthest away from main building of hotel therefore quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lummers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

As always with the Riu's the complex is quite large, we were in the middle with the restaurants/entertainment on one side and pool/beach on the other but it wasn't a problem, in fact the walk probably did us good! Can't fault it, our toilet wouldn't flush on arrival but was fixed within a couple of hours, loved the fact I could get a cup of coffee 24hrs and bottles of water to take out or take to the room. Food was good as was the service and there was some good nights entertainment. Hotel was great but this is a holiday for those who just like lying around, apart from a walk into Santa Maria and a trip on a 4x4 around the island there is nothing to do, we had a nice relaxing week but think two weeks would be too long.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

One of the nicest places I have ever been. Clean tidy well presented and never felt so safe in my life. People are so friendly from the minute you get off the plane to the minute you leave. The hotel is beautiful and beach is out of this world. All inclusive really means all inclusive 24/7! Food is brilliant in every restaurant, 4 themed restaurants (African, Asian, grill and fish) which are included in all inclusive, shouldn't be missed. Loved it so much we've booked to go back next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kayla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel not 5 star more like a 3 star. Buffet even in the a la carte restaurants and the food was never hot in any of the restaurants staff unfriendly rooms clean but doors banging all day and night tea and coffee making facilities in room but only polystyrene cups that had been used. My wife left her phone on the table in the bar and that was never seen again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 34Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Funana
ClubHotel Riu Funana
#6 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Address: Cabocan Lote A2, A3, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Situated on the island of Sal in the Cape Verde Islands * Main building and 2-story annexes * Situated on the beach front together with the ClubHotel Riu Funana * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 1.5 Km to Santa Maria * 15 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Funana Santa Maria
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing